Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

G2 stock browser supports Adobe Flash Player

OP mp2ning

15th September 2013, 06:53 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Aguadilla
Thanks Meter: 22
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
The G2 (AT&T) stock Browser supports Adobe Flash Player. Just go to Adobe's Archived Flash Player versions and download the latest version under Android 4.0. It didn't work on the Galaxy S4 4.2.2 stock browser so I thought it was worth mentioning.

Remember this works only on the stock Browser. It does NOT work in Chrome. Chrome does NOT support Flash!



And make sure that the option Enable plug-ins is set to Always on in the Browser Settings.

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to mp2ning For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2013, 06:58 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Very nice. I'm jealous. The Verizon version only has Chrome, no stock browser.
15th September 2013, 07:09 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Aguadilla
Thanks Meter: 22
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eleazar123

Very nice. I'm jealous. The Verizon version only has Chrome, no stock browser.

Verizon and their stuff....

I love Chrome but sometimes I just NEED to see websites that include Flash content and its awesome to have the option to see them if needed.
15th September 2013, 08:37 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
If you're on Verizon you can still get the AOSP Browser and add Flash. I just did it, but I'm rooted and I don't know if it would work on non-rooted phones or not.

Install the [ROOT]AOSP Browser Installer from the Play Store. Ignore the warnings and have it install the AOSP Browser. Then go into your App maager and remove [ROOT]AOSP Browser Installer just to clean things up. You'll now have the stock browser that works fine.

Then just follow the instructions in the OP to install Flash. Works great.

-Joe
Last edited by csimo; 15th September 2013 at 08:44 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to csimo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th September 2013, 12:34 AM   |  #5  
jayochs's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central NJ
Thanks Meter: 2,839
 
8,309 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by csimo

If you're on Verizon you can still get the AOSP Browser and add Flash. I just did it, but I'm rooted and I don't know if it would work on non-rooted phones or not.

Install the [ROOT]AOSP Browser Installer from the Play Store. Ignore the warnings and have it install the AOSP Browser. Then go into your App maager and remove [ROOT]AOSP Browser Installer just to clean things up. You'll now have the stock browser that works fine.

Then just follow the instructions in the OP to install Flash. Works great.

-Joe

awesome! thanks man. is the LG browser pretty much the same as aosp? just installed this.
16th September 2013, 12:37 AM   |  #6  
TechSilver13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 309
 
1,137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
I like Firefox plus flash

Sent from my LG-D800 using Tapatalk 4
16th September 2013, 01:10 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayochs

awesome! thanks man. is the LG browser pretty much the same as aosp? just installed this.

On my Verzion G2 there is no LG browser... just Chrome (which won't use Flash). Other versions of the G2 use the AOSP browser. You can have multiple browsers on the same device... no problem.
19th September 2013, 03:37 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by csimo

On my Verzion G2 there is no LG browser... just Chrome (which won't use Flash). Other versions of the G2 use the AOSP browser. You can have multiple browsers on the same device... no problem.

Does Capture Plus work with this browser?
19th September 2013, 05:47 PM   |  #9  
pouxonu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Also, I've been using Dolphin Browser and it seems to support all my flash needs as well give it a try.
30th September 2013, 07:57 PM   |  #10  
shaq1907's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,011
 
1,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Does International version support flash?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes