TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more
Post Reply

Should I try MS Voice Command on Jasjar ?

OP Numb

25th September 2005, 12:51 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
Hi, over a year ago I bought a copy of MS Voice Command on my XDA2. I struggled to get it to work effeciently/consistently enough, and I felt I couldn't quite get the right accent ops:

Anyway, I kinda like the software but it was hit and miss if it picked it up.

Now the jasjar comes with a voice recognition software, preloaded, which I think works very well, using voice tags.

I do not believe though it will call out appointment details though or reminders etc, which I know MS VC will.

I note from the MS website that u can upgrade for free, so I was wondering if peeps think it is a worthwhile app to load. Is the newer version any better than the old version.

I value all comments about using MS Voice Command on jasjar.

Cheers, Numb
25th September 2005, 01:02 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
Running it on my jasjar. You can hack it to start recognising when you hit your BT headset button (search for posts by me and you'll find the instructions).

You need V1.5 to work properly and you will have to muck about a bit as the installer doesn't seem to like AS4.

Great piece of software though.
25th September 2005, 02:47 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Devizes, UK
Thanks Meter: 2
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2004
V1.5 is a big improvement on V1.0. The version notes actually mention improvements that were made specifically for PPC PE devices. I have found it now to be 95% accurate, whereas with V1.0, i would generally have to repeat commands most of the time. Good luck with it!

Regards

Chris
25th September 2005, 08:48 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
re
well I have messed around with this for nearly 2.5 hours trying to load v1.5 on the jasjar with no success. I either don't have 1.0 installed or an older version is installed on the phone. Now am really frustrated.

Flipping heck how frstrating

Cheers, Numb
25th September 2005, 09:15 PM   |  #5  
mikeycollins13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2
 
416 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2003
More
It causes mucho bugs
I would definietly avoid it, it will kill your skype, and slow the machine down. wait for wm5 fixes
25th September 2005, 09:22 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
re
well as I can't even load it I think I will have to wait for the WM5 version. Knowing my luck though MS will probably charge for this upgrade. I just feel that if VC was working well on the device, it would be perfect :lol: :lol:

Cheers, Numb
11th October 2005, 08:45 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
I was able to install MS Voice Command 1.5 by first running the installer, then grabbing the CAB file from the program files directory on the PC, copying it over to the JJ, then executing the CAB on the JJ. Still working on getting it to work over BT.

Good luck!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes