5,598,938 Members 30,651 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Very low available free RAM on GN 3 ... something to worry ?

Tip us?
 
Mackovich
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 67
Join Date: Sep 2012
Exclamation Very low available free RAM on GN 3 ... something to worry ?

Hello there.

As someone coming from a very laggy-slow-multitasker Galaxy S3, I am really looking forward to the possibilities the 3Gb of RAM of the GN III can bring to me in my every day lfe.

I mean, I would love being able to switch to multiple apps fastly without having to reload them each time because the system had to kill them due to low memory (nice work, OOM ^^).
And this upgraded multi-windows feature with mutliple apps instances is really looking awesome.


So, here's the thing.
According to that thread on GN II average available free ram : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1923380 people can enjoy up to 800-1Gb of free RAM which is great but at that time I could not and would not afford to purchase this device, the SGS III being quite new.

And as of today, I read a thread confirming the Samsung Exynos 5420 in the SM-N900 version.
But what almost killed me, so to speak, is the available free RAM on this screenshot (see attachment) : 14% out of 2700Mb, which is less than 400Mb. THE HELL ?? What am I supposed to do whith that few ...?


So what do you guys think ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Available Free RAM on GN 3.jpg
Views:	2087
Size:	30.9 KB
ID:	2268018  
 
sohebq
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 504
Posts: 2,787
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: RAWALPINDI
Free RAM is a waste ram, enough said. Only my note 2, the free ram stays at 200mb free on average, never ever faced any lag.
 
Mackovich
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 67
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sohebq View Post
Free RAM is a waste ram, enough said. Only my note 2, the free ram stays at 200mb free on average, never ever faced any lag.
As I should have expected, I'm being answered with the "free RAM waste" speech.

Let me tell you that this is completely true. BUT the problem here is the free RAM you have at YOUR disposal on boot.

How much will Samsung leave you to play with ?

If the system and the home launcher utilize all the memory so that you have only 400Mb left (as in this screenshot) what can you do with that less ??????
I get about 250Mb left on boot with my SGS III and it is NOT ENOUGH to do some multitasking.



So I will not leave free RAM, I will use it to my heart's content to do MULTI-TASKING with the apps I want to USE and switch between AT WILL without having to RELAUNCHING them. That's all
Therefore if I have only 400Mb left, then this device won't satisfy me. I'll be better on a Nexus 4 I saw with CM and over 1.30Gb free RAM to play with ! ^^
 
sohebq
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 504
Posts: 2,787
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: RAWALPINDI
THis 400mb ram left is not on boot man, it could be after several apps opened so when you open a new app, the task manager adjust itself by clearing old apps from memory to find space for new.
 
BarryH_GEG
Old
#5  
BarryH_GEG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3778
Posts: 8,207
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spokane, Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mackovich View Post
So what do you guys think ?
Here's my N2 which I've never had a multitasking issue with. In fact, the number of apps it can keep alive in the background has always impressed me.

With 116 installed apps and dozens of Samsung's apps doing whatever it is they do I have 200MB of "free" RAM.



When I kill all active processes I have 850MB free.



Mali in the N2 reserves 250MB of RAM for itself. Adreno 320 reserves 500MB of RAM for itself in devices using it. Adreno 330 in the N3 will reserve at least that much, maybe more. I'm guessing that between Adreno's needs and the RAM some of their new apps (two concurrent instances of the same app, enhanced multitasking, updated S Note with Action Memo) need Samsung wisely included 3GB of RAM on the N3 to prevent the very scenario you're afraid of.

You do realize that open apps are counted in the "used RAM" the picture you posted shows? So that device that was being tested could have had a dozen apps open in the background for all we know. And a dozen apps open with free RAM still available would be good, not bad as you're indicating.

P.S. - The part you're missing about the "free RAM" speech is that the idea of having free RAM is kind of stupid. If an app can perform better with more RAM and the OS sees RAM available it'll allocate additional RAM to that app. If more apps join the party the first apps RAM will be reduced to provide a proportionate amount of RAM to other apps running. In other words there's absolutely no reason to have free RAM on an Android device; at least when apps are running.
 
rl421403
Old
#6  
rl421403's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 115
Posts: 522
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jaipur
Actually it's well explained that why we should not worry about ram anymore. good read.

http://www.androidcentral.com/ram-wh...-shouldnt-care
The Following User Says Thank You to rl421403 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mackovich
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 67
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sohebq View Post
THis 400mb ram left is not on boot man, it could be after several apps opened so when you open a new app, the task manager adjust itself by clearing old apps from memory to find space for new.

True enough.
If this device was running many apps in background while performing this CPU-Z scan (on the screenshot), then, I would not be worried at all. So I really hope that was the case.

What matters the most to me, is how much ram is allocated to the user, so that when I install my apps I can launch them and switch between them to my leisure without having to relaunch them.

Therefore I do expect to see very low available RAM, but only because of my doing : launching many apps, the apps I use every day. That's my all point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryH_GEG View Post
Here's my N2 which I've never had a multitasking issue with. In fact, the number of apps it can keep alive in the background has always impressed me.

With 116 installed apps and dozens of Samsung's apps doing whatever it is they do I have 200MB of "free" RAM.



When I kill all active processes I have 850MB free.



Mali in the N2 reserves 250MB of RAM for itself. Adreno 320 reserves 500MB of RAM for itself in devices using it. Adreno 330 in the N3 will reserve at least that much, maybe more. I'm guessing that between Adreno's needs and the RAM some of their new apps (two concurrent instances of the same app, enhanced multitasking, updated S Note with Action Memo) need Samsung wisely included 3GB of RAM on the N3 to prevent the very scenario you're afraid of.

You do realize that open apps are counted in the "used RAM" the picture you posted shows? So that device that was being tested could have had a dozen apps open in the background for all we know. And a dozen apps open with free RAM still available would be good, not bad as you're indicating.

P.S. - The part you're missing about the "free RAM" speech is that the idea of having free RAM is kind of stupid. If an app can perform better with more RAM and the OS sees RAM available it'll allocate additional RAM to that app. If more apps join the party the first apps RAM will be reduced to provide a proportionate amount of RAM to other apps running. In other words there's absolutely no reason to have free RAM on an Android device; at least when apps are running.
Very interesting. Now I know where the GPU takes the RAM it needs.
And the part where an app is being less allocated in RAM is strange. I never really saw an app releasing RAM without being killed.


But anyway, with my current 1Gb SGS III, I cannot to do a lot of multitasking and I would really love to have at least 1-to 1.5Gb of free RAM on my GN III that I recently pre-ordered.
 
BarryH_GEG
Old
#8  
BarryH_GEG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3778
Posts: 8,207
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spokane, Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mackovich View Post
But anyway, with my current 1Gb SGS III, I cannot to do a lot of multitasking and I would really love to have at least 1-to 1.5Gb of free RAM on my GN III that I recently pre-ordered.
1GB on the Exynos SGS3 was probably too little. As Samsung adds sensors and features that are persistent they reserve RAM for themselves and don't release it when other apps need it. So with Mali taking up 250MB the Exynos SGS3 had 750MB of RAM that was usable not counting what Samsung's apps permanently reserved for themselves. The S4 SGS3 had 2GB of RAM because Adreno used more RAM than Mali. It ended up performing better at multitasking because there was only 130MB of that extra RAM dedicated to Adreno so there was lots more available for apps. HTC used 1MB of RAM in the S4 based One XL and it was a multitasking disaster because Adreno ate up 330MB of it and Sense itself is no featherweight.
 
CLARiiON
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 153
Posts: 307
Join Date: Apr 2013
Free RAM in GN3 via @NZtechfreak



Adreno GPU taking about 600MB of RAM!
 
Mackovich
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 67
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryH_GEG View Post
1GB on the Exynos SGS3 was probably too little. As Samsung adds sensors and features that are persistent they reserve RAM for themselves and don't release it when other apps need it. So with Mali taking up 250MB the Exynos SGS3 had 750MB of RAM that was usable not counting what Samsung's apps permanently reserved for themselves. The S4 SGS3 had 2GB of RAM because Adreno used more RAM than Mali. It ended up performing better at multitasking because there was only 130MB of that extra RAM dedicated to Adreno so there was lots more available for apps. HTC used 1MB of RAM in the S4 based One XL and it was a multitasking disaster because Adreno ate up 330MB of it and Sense itself is no featherweight.
That's very detailed and interesting! I had no knowledge of this while looking for ways to enhance my SGS III multitasking experience. Now everything seems much clearer. Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CLARiiON View Post
Free RAM in GN3 via @NZtechfreak



Adreno GPU taking about 600MB of RAM!
Ah ! Finally some good news! Is this free RAM upon boot and/or when clearing memory?
If so, then it would be expected that there won't be close to 2Gb of free RAM, since I expect that TW home launcher will use a lot of RAM with all new features such as AirCommand. Don't you think?

Anyway thanks for that screenshot!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Samsung EFS Tool Updated to V5, Brings Universal Device Support

You may recall that we’ve talked about XDA Recognized Contributor … more

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more

Sony Z Ultra Google Play Edition Receives Bluetooth Certification for Android 4.4.3

You may recall that a few days ago, Sprint jumped the gun … more

Easily Configure Xposed Module Projects in Eclipse

XDA Recognized Developer rovo89‘s innovative and versatile Xposed Framework allows … more