Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,254 Members 36,307 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FIX] Installed TWRP and now you're stuck after OTA?

Tip us?
 
thecubed
Old
#1  
thecubed's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5,392
Posts: 907
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [FIX] Installed TWRP and now you're stuck after OTA?

Howdy all!

Did you install TWRP and then take the OTA, now you can't get your phone to boot normally, but you do see TWRP?

Here's the easy fix:

If you have ADB access, plug in your phone and run this:

Code:
adb shell
dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota of=/sdcard/fota-backup.img
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
Then you should be able to successfully reboot your phone via the TWRP menu option, or via a simple reboot command in adb.

If you DONT have ADB access (because of an early build of TWRP), you can simply use TWRP's awesome "terminal command" option to run the following:

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
You'll have to type that whole thing out, and be VERY careful with spaces and punctuation. One wrong letter and you could nuke your phone.

After that finishes, you can reboot and continue on your happy way!

Let me know if this helps anyone!

As usual, I'm on #lg-g2 in Freenode as IOMonster, if I'm around I'll be happy to help wherever I can.
The Following 283 Users Say Thank You to thecubed For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
WACOMalt
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 562
Posts: 192
Join Date: Jul 2009
Thank you! I'll update my guides now you made some folks very happy today.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk 4
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to WACOMalt For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jbreaz
Old
#3  
jbreaz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 64
Join Date: Oct 2009
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU this worked perfectly using the method without adb. YES YES YES
The Following User Says Thank You to jbreaz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
WACOMalt
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 562
Posts: 192
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbreaz View Post
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU this worked perfectly using the method without adb. YES YES YES
Phew, you were one of the guys I was worried about who were unlucky enough to be stuck in boot loop WITHOUT adb. Glad he got you working again!
 
jbreaz
Old
#5  
jbreaz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 64
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by WACOMalt View Post
Phew, you were one of the guys I was worried about who were unlucky enough to be stuck in boot loop WITHOUT adb. Glad he got you working again!
I am too LOL Thanks for all your help
 
WACOMalt
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 562
Posts: 192
Join Date: Jul 2009
I had nothing to do with it, all thanks go to thecubed/IOMonster

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk 4
 
jspradling7
Old
#7  
jspradling7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 164
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbreaz View Post
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU this worked perfectly using the method without adb. YES YES YES
Cool!
Glad to see you have yours working. I left mine at home today and brought the S4 instead so I'll fix my G2 tonight. Thanks for the help everyone!
 
jbreaz
Old
#8  
jbreaz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 64
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspradling7 View Post
Cool!
Glad to see you have yours working. I left mine at home today and brought the S4 instead so I'll fix my G2 tonight. Thanks for the help everyone!
Yeah that's what I did yesterday as well used my s4 glad I didn't sell it yet
 
djkinetic
Old
#9  
djkinetic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,025
Posts: 2,788
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed View Post
Howdy all!

Did you install TWRP and then take the OTA, now you can't get your phone to boot normally, but you do see TWRP?

Here's the easy fix:

If you have ADB access, plug in your phone and run this:

Code:
adb shell
dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota of=/sdcard/fota-backup.img
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
Then you should be able to successfully reboot your phone via the TWRP menu option, or via a simple reboot command in adb.

If you DONT have ADB access (because of an early build of TWRP), you can simply use TWRP's awesome "terminal command" option to run the following:

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
You'll have to type that whole thing out, and be VERY careful with spaces and punctuation. One wrong letter and you could nuke your phone.

After that finishes, you can reboot and continue on your happy way!

Let me know if this helps anyone!

As usual, I'm on #lg-g2 in Freenode as IOMonster, if I'm around I'll be happy to help wherever I can.
I could swear I said just nuke the FOTA partition sometime yesterday as usual awesome job.
Current Devices:

One Plus One Sandstone Black 64GB
LG G3 D851 SIM Unlocked (ATT) 32GB
HTC One M8 32GB Gunmetal Grey
LG G-Pad 8.3 GPE
Google Nexus 7 16 GB (2013)

Google Chromecast

Add me to your Google+ Circle: https://plus.google.com/106721746210047548500/posts
 
jasonsf
Old
#10  
jasonsf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 528
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed View Post
Howdy all!

Did you install TWRP and then take the OTA, now you can't get your phone to boot normally, but you do see TWRP?

Here's the easy fix:

If you have ADB access, plug in your phone and run this:

Code:
adb shell
dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota of=/sdcard/fota-backup.img
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
Then you should be able to successfully reboot your phone via the TWRP menu option, or via a simple reboot command in adb.

If you DONT have ADB access (because of an early build of TWRP), you can simply use TWRP's awesome "terminal command" option to run the following:

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
You'll have to type that whole thing out, and be VERY careful with spaces and punctuation. One wrong letter and you could nuke your phone.

After that finishes, you can reboot and continue on your happy way!

Let me know if this helps anyone!

As usual, I'm on #lg-g2 in Freenode as IOMonster, if I'm around I'll be happy to help wherever I can.
Thank you!! Where do I send the beer money?
Verizon LG G2

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jasonsf For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes