FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

[FIX] Installed TWRP and now you're stuck after OTA?

1,021 posts
Thanks Meter: 9,934
 
By thecubed, Recognized Developer on 20th September 2013, 12:12 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Howdy all!

Did you install TWRP and then take the OTA, now you can't get your phone to boot normally, but you do see TWRP?

Here's the easy fix:

If you have ADB access, plug in your phone and run this:

Code:
adb shell
dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota of=/sdcard/fota-backup.img
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
Then you should be able to successfully reboot your phone via the TWRP menu option, or via a simple reboot command in adb.

If you DONT have ADB access (because of an early build of TWRP), you can simply use TWRP's awesome "terminal command" option to run the following:

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
You'll have to type that whole thing out, and be VERY careful with spaces and punctuation. One wrong letter and you could nuke your phone.

After that finishes, you can reboot and continue on your happy way!

Let me know if this helps anyone!

As usual, I'm on #lg-g2 in Freenode as IOMonster, if I'm around I'll be happy to help wherever I can.
The Following 356 Users Say Thank You to thecubed For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
20th September 2013, 12:32 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 716
 
More
Thank you! I'll update my guides now you made some folks very happy today.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk 4
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to WACOMalt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2013, 01:00 PM |#3  
jbreaz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU this worked perfectly using the method without adb. YES YES YES
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jbreaz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2013, 01:18 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 716
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbreaz

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU this worked perfectly using the method without adb. YES YES YES

Phew, you were one of the guys I was worried about who were unlucky enough to be stuck in boot loop WITHOUT adb. Glad he got you working again!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to WACOMalt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2013, 01:25 PM |#5  
jbreaz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WACOMalt

Phew, you were one of the guys I was worried about who were unlucky enough to be stuck in boot loop WITHOUT adb. Glad he got you working again!

I am too LOL Thanks for all your help
The Following User Says Thank You to jbreaz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2013, 01:27 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 716
 
More
I had nothing to do with it, all thanks go to thecubed/IOMonster

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk 4
20th September 2013, 01:56 PM |#7  
jspradling7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbreaz

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU this worked perfectly using the method without adb. YES YES YES

Cool!
Glad to see you have yours working. I left mine at home today and brought the S4 instead so I'll fix my G2 tonight. Thanks for the help everyone!
20th September 2013, 02:12 PM |#8  
jbreaz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspradling7

Cool!
Glad to see you have yours working. I left mine at home today and brought the S4 instead so I'll fix my G2 tonight. Thanks for the help everyone!

Yeah that's what I did yesterday as well used my s4 glad I didn't sell it yet
20th September 2013, 02:38 PM |#9  
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed

Howdy all!

Did you install TWRP and then take the OTA, now you can't get your phone to boot normally, but you do see TWRP?

Here's the easy fix:

If you have ADB access, plug in your phone and run this:

Code:
adb shell
dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota of=/sdcard/fota-backup.img
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
Then you should be able to successfully reboot your phone via the TWRP menu option, or via a simple reboot command in adb.

If you DONT have ADB access (because of an early build of TWRP), you can simply use TWRP's awesome "terminal command" option to run the following:

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
You'll have to type that whole thing out, and be VERY careful with spaces and punctuation. One wrong letter and you could nuke your phone.

After that finishes, you can reboot and continue on your happy way!

Let me know if this helps anyone!

As usual, I'm on #lg-g2 in Freenode as IOMonster, if I'm around I'll be happy to help wherever I can.

I could swear I said just nuke the FOTA partition sometime yesterday as usual awesome job.
The Following User Says Thank You to djkinetic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2013, 02:48 PM |#10  
jasonsf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tucson, AZ
Thanks Meter: 89
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed

Howdy all!

Did you install TWRP and then take the OTA, now you can't get your phone to boot normally, but you do see TWRP?

Here's the easy fix:

If you have ADB access, plug in your phone and run this:

Code:
adb shell
dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota of=/sdcard/fota-backup.img
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
Then you should be able to successfully reboot your phone via the TWRP menu option, or via a simple reboot command in adb.

If you DONT have ADB access (because of an early build of TWRP), you can simply use TWRP's awesome "terminal command" option to run the following:

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
You'll have to type that whole thing out, and be VERY careful with spaces and punctuation. One wrong letter and you could nuke your phone.

After that finishes, you can reboot and continue on your happy way!

Let me know if this helps anyone!

As usual, I'm on #lg-g2 in Freenode as IOMonster, if I'm around I'll be happy to help wherever I can.

Thank you!! Where do I send the beer money?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jasonsf For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2013, 03:45 PM |#11  
Walter21026's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, texas
Thanks Meter: 114
 
More
when i hit terminal command it goes to the folder browser is that supposed to happen? how do i bring up the terminal from here? my sideload isnt working like it did once earlier thats why im asking

Edit: My adb sideload def isnt working now if someone can clue me in on how to get to the terminal command in recovery im still seeing the folder browser after I touch the terminal button in recovery

---------- Post added at 09:45 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:16 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walter21026

when i hit terminal command it goes to the folder browser is that supposed to happen? how do i bring up the terminal from here? my sideload isnt working like it did once earlier thats why im asking

Edit: My adb sideload def isnt working now if someone can clue me in on how to get to the terminal command in recovery im still seeing the folder browser after I touch the terminal button in recovery

Nevermind I found it, not used terminal before in recovery, phone back up and running
Last edited by Walter21026; 20th September 2013 at 03:39 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes