Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[FIX] Installed TWRP and now you're stuck after OTA?

OP thecubed

20th September 2013, 01:12 PM   |  #1  
thecubed's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 8,757
 
996 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Howdy all!

Did you install TWRP and then take the OTA, now you can't get your phone to boot normally, but you do see TWRP?

Here's the easy fix:

If you have ADB access, plug in your phone and run this:

Code:
adb shell
dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota of=/sdcard/fota-backup.img
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
Then you should be able to successfully reboot your phone via the TWRP menu option, or via a simple reboot command in adb.

If you DONT have ADB access (because of an early build of TWRP), you can simply use TWRP's awesome "terminal command" option to run the following:

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
You'll have to type that whole thing out, and be VERY careful with spaces and punctuation. One wrong letter and you could nuke your phone.

After that finishes, you can reboot and continue on your happy way!

Let me know if this helps anyone!

As usual, I'm on #lg-g2 in Freenode as IOMonster, if I'm around I'll be happy to help wherever I can.
The Following 324 Users Say Thank You to thecubed For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2013, 01:32 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 593
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Thank you! I'll update my guides now you made some folks very happy today.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk 4
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to WACOMalt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2013, 02:00 PM   |  #3  
jbreaz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU this worked perfectly using the method without adb. YES YES YES
The Following User Says Thank You to jbreaz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2013, 02:18 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 593
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbreaz

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU this worked perfectly using the method without adb. YES YES YES

Phew, you were one of the guys I was worried about who were unlucky enough to be stuck in boot loop WITHOUT adb. Glad he got you working again!
20th September 2013, 02:25 PM   |  #5  
jbreaz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by WACOMalt

Phew, you were one of the guys I was worried about who were unlucky enough to be stuck in boot loop WITHOUT adb. Glad he got you working again!

I am too LOL Thanks for all your help
20th September 2013, 02:27 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 593
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
I had nothing to do with it, all thanks go to thecubed/IOMonster

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk 4
20th September 2013, 02:56 PM   |  #7  
jspradling7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 42
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbreaz

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU this worked perfectly using the method without adb. YES YES YES

Cool!
Glad to see you have yours working. I left mine at home today and brought the S4 instead so I'll fix my G2 tonight. Thanks for the help everyone!
20th September 2013, 03:12 PM   |  #8  
jbreaz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspradling7

Cool!
Glad to see you have yours working. I left mine at home today and brought the S4 instead so I'll fix my G2 tonight. Thanks for the help everyone!

Yeah that's what I did yesterday as well used my s4 glad I didn't sell it yet
20th September 2013, 03:38 PM   |  #9  
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed

Howdy all!

Did you install TWRP and then take the OTA, now you can't get your phone to boot normally, but you do see TWRP?

Here's the easy fix:

If you have ADB access, plug in your phone and run this:

Code:
adb shell
dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota of=/sdcard/fota-backup.img
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
Then you should be able to successfully reboot your phone via the TWRP menu option, or via a simple reboot command in adb.

If you DONT have ADB access (because of an early build of TWRP), you can simply use TWRP's awesome "terminal command" option to run the following:

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
You'll have to type that whole thing out, and be VERY careful with spaces and punctuation. One wrong letter and you could nuke your phone.

After that finishes, you can reboot and continue on your happy way!

Let me know if this helps anyone!

As usual, I'm on #lg-g2 in Freenode as IOMonster, if I'm around I'll be happy to help wherever I can.

I could swear I said just nuke the FOTA partition sometime yesterday as usual awesome job.
The Following User Says Thank You to djkinetic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2013, 03:48 PM   |  #10  
jasonsf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tucson, AZ
Thanks Meter: 84
 
555 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed

Howdy all!

Did you install TWRP and then take the OTA, now you can't get your phone to boot normally, but you do see TWRP?

Here's the easy fix:

If you have ADB access, plug in your phone and run this:

Code:
adb shell
dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota of=/sdcard/fota-backup.img
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
Then you should be able to successfully reboot your phone via the TWRP menu option, or via a simple reboot command in adb.

If you DONT have ADB access (because of an early build of TWRP), you can simply use TWRP's awesome "terminal command" option to run the following:

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
You'll have to type that whole thing out, and be VERY careful with spaces and punctuation. One wrong letter and you could nuke your phone.

After that finishes, you can reboot and continue on your happy way!

Let me know if this helps anyone!

As usual, I'm on #lg-g2 in Freenode as IOMonster, if I'm around I'll be happy to help wherever I can.

Thank you!! Where do I send the beer money?

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jasonsf For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes