Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to Root LG G2 on a Mac

OP cc1995

26th November 2013, 05:11 AM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by in_dmand

Haven't used adb before, but I'm no noob to rooting /flashing. I got adb installed and working on my computer now (running Ubuntu). After I launch adb in the terminal, then I just type these commands? (copy paste?)

Im wondering also I entered all the commands and pushed superuser apk but then what do I do next?
5th December 2013, 12:58 PM   |  #22  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by elcapitano21

I'm getting two error messages. The first is a line 2 error on the g2 security. The second is 'operation not permitted' for a mount command. Anyone have any solutions?

Also receiving an error on:
Code:
./adb shell "mount -o remound,rw /system
I'll update my post if I work my way around it.
Last edited by ATHM50; 5th December 2013 at 01:04 PM.
23rd December 2013, 09:33 AM   |  #23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATHM50

Also receiving an error on:

Code:
./adb shell "mount -o remound,rw /system
I'll update my post if I work my way around it.

Any updates? I'm getting an error at adb shell "mount -o remound,rw /system saying Operation Not Permitted
5th January 2014, 03:01 AM   |  #24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by isavji

Any updates? I'm getting an error at adb shell "mount -o remound,rw /system saying Operation Not Permitted

Maybe remound --> remount ?
The Following User Says Thank You to lvtran3 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th January 2014, 03:44 PM   |  #25  
Member
Lafayette
Thanks Meter: 40
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Did you unplug, toggle USB debugging off and then on, and then plug it back in?
The Following User Says Thank You to mjdupuis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th January 2014, 04:16 PM   |  #26  
D8nkE's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Marblehead
Thanks Meter: 21
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I just rooted mine with my Mac. I ran the script, but it errored, but was able to root following the manual method. Link to my post in Rooting thread
2nd April 2014, 04:39 AM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjdupuis

WARNING! This is just what worked for me, and it's just the adb commands from thecubed's program. All credit goes to him, I didn't do any of this, just took the info from it.

Here's the thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2448887

Download it, unzip it, and then take a moment to go back and thank him if you didn't do that.

You are not actually using his program, just the files and commands. Everything is done using Terminal and the Finder. You must have ADB working, look elsewhere for instructions on setting that up.

The files used here are the Verizon versions of the files, which I used for my phone. They are also specific to the OTA'd Verizon software, "11A" so there are different files if you haven't installed the OTA. These commands are correct, but the files being pushed aren't all the same between different carrier models and do not work with any other carrier. All the right stuff for other carriers is contained in thecubed's program.

The bold sections are files you need to send over adb, you can manually enter the file pathway or drag the files from finder into terminal after the adb commands (and before you type the destinations).

One more warning; if this is your first time using adb or terminal, I don't recommend this as your first try. It's super easy to screw something up in terminal.



Your phone must have developer options enabled and usb debugging on. plug in your phone via usb and select "Internet" and then "Ethernet."

adb push ytiruces_1a_vzw /sdcard/ytiruces_1a

Unplug usb, disable USB debugging and then re-enable it. Plug USB back in.

adb shell "mount -o remount,rw /system"

adb push su /system/xbin/su

adb shell "chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su;chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su;sync;mount -o remount,ro /system"

adb install superuser.apk

exit

I know I'm a little late, but thanks so much for your help! I was trying to root my Sprint G2 on the recent ZVA rom to the ZVC but I needed root since my recovery was acting up.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes