Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Vodafone live and jasjar

OP chrissyboy6969

5th October 2005, 09:20 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
I have a normal sony 3g phone and i can access all the vodafone live content with streaming video etc, how can i set my jasjar up so it can access the same content and stream video etc from vodafone

Cheers
Chris
17th December 2005, 02:25 PM   |  #2  
ratcom's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nottingham, England
Thanks Meter: 193
 
1,371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
More
you need PV player installed (find it thought a search on this forum) plus the direct url which im still trying to find myself.
18th December 2005, 07:53 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2005
First off, you need to connect to Vodafone live! using the wap connection details rather than the usual "internet" APN.

Set this up using the "Work" connection. Go "start", "settings", "connections" then click on the "connections" icon. Go to "My Work Connection". Click on "manage my connections" then click on "Vodafone wap" which should have wap.vodafone.co.uk under the number column (I am assuming you have installed the Vodafone CAB which automatically puts in this connection). Move across to the tab which says "Proxy settings". Tick the box which says this network connects to the Internet. Tick the box which says This network uses a proxy server. Click on Advanced, then tap on HTTP . Enter 212.183.137.12 in the Server box and enter 8799 in the Port box. Click ok. Right, that is first part done.

Second part requires editing registry. PEASE BACK UP your registry before proceeding. For Vodafone Live! WAP page to think you are a 3G mobile, you have to fool it into believing you are an 'approved' handset. For internet explorer, the registry key to change is:
[HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Int ernet Settings\5.0\User Agent\]
Change (Default) from Mozilla/4.0 to 'Nokia6630' and clear all the other values such as compatible, Desc, Platform, UA-language, Version.

You may need to reboot after making these changes.

Once you've changed these settings, connect to Vodafone Live! (make sure you are in UMTS coverage) and goto: http://live.vodafone.co.uk

Now you should see Vodafone live come up in full view with images and extras. Sky TV is available but I still have problem getting it to link properly into the PVplayer. At the moment I have to copy the link and then open PV player and paste it for it to play. use the Pocket Plus Internet plugin to do this with ease. Sometimes some of the channels are not working properly, so go to Channel 4 and test that first. Hope this helps.
18th December 2005, 11:16 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2004
admsi
might seem strange i follow your instructions right the way through but then everytime i get to the live page it trys to download a file called my docusmts/If i try to rename or save elsewhere or even save as that name it says file in use by other program and wont let me do it.
Any ideas

Peter
19th December 2005, 12:15 AM   |  #5  
ratcom's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nottingham, England
Thanks Meter: 193
 
1,371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
More
Would it not be easier just to make a note of the urls (link address) then connect your universal to the wap gateway (as directed by admisi) then enter the shortcut into pv player? This way would save you messing with pie? BTW I tried the instructions out myself however all I managed to do is make my pie crash (had to hard reset to fix things)
19th December 2005, 12:17 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2004
Hi Ratcom,
Just sent you a pm making some progress now got live working etc etc
19th December 2005, 12:23 AM   |  #7  
ratcom's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nottingham, England
Thanks Meter: 193
 
1,371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by webcash

Hi Ratcom,
Just sent you a pm making some progress now got live working etc etc

PM repied ! Good luck and dont forget them url's
19th December 2005, 01:32 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2005
Thought the same myself about the URLs and even saved them all as favourites in PV Player. But, you guessed it, they keep changing, so URL doesn't stay valid. Pain in the backside.
19th December 2005, 11:59 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
Pvplayer
I am Trying to setup Vodafone Live on my XDA Exec according to the Instructions of this Forum.
Unfortunatley I cant find a copy of PVPlayer. does anybod know how to get it. ITs available on there site for a nokia for a very reasonable price, however I cant find it anywhere for Pocket Pc.
Any Ideas?
19th December 2005, 01:18 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
London
Thanks Meter: 3
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2003
Hi
Here it is
Attached Files
File Type: cab pvplayer_eng_aac_1_.2577.cab - [Click for QR Code] (1.93 MB, 2803 views)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes