FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

New Android One Device Dead On Arrival

Today, Google announced the second generation of Android One devices, with the new Lava Pixel … more

Mobile Hotspot modded to skip provisioning check (VZW)

270 posts
Thanks Meter: 716
 
By WACOMalt, Senior Member on 24th September 2013, 05:33 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi all. I have obtained a modded version of the Mobile Hotspot provisioning for Verizon. This should let you use hotspot without paying VZW for the feature that is free to any non-VZW rom users..

TO CLEAR UP ANY CONFUSION: I am NOT the original developer of this mod. I was directly contacted by the modder who wished to remain anonymous due to the potentially grey legal area of a mod such as this.
Suffice to say that I am not stealing credit, and that I am posting it specifically to act as a shield to the original dev, as per their request. If I need to give a name to avoid flak, then I'll just remove the post rather than break my promise.

UPDATE: The mods are OK with this posrt for now, unless anything happens. So for now it's staying up.

Anywho. Download the file, backup and remove HotspotProvision.apk and HotspotProvision.odex from /system/app/ And then drag in this copy of the apk. Put it's permissions to rw-r--r-- and reboot.

You should now be able to set up your mobile hotspot.
I am posting this from my tethered computer

HotspotProvision.apk (98 KB)

Note that I DID NOT CREATE THIS.
If this for some reason is not allowed on here, please let me know and/or delete the post.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-09-24-00-17-49.jpg
Views:	11218
Size:	20.1 KB
ID:	2278805  
Last edited by WACOMalt; 27th September 2013 at 09:42 PM.
The Following 82 Users Say Thank You to WACOMalt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
24th September 2013, 06:03 AM |#2  
timsterzzz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Works like a charm, thanks.

---------- Post added at 06:03 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:54 AM ----------

I used root explorer. Renamed files to hotspotprovision.old and hotspotprovisiono.old. Copied in the the apk file, set permissions. About to go on a road trip and this was much needed.
The Following User Says Thank You to timsterzzz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th September 2013, 06:21 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Hooray!
24th September 2013, 06:23 AM |#4  
Namtaru's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
Followed OP directions to a T

When I click on Mobile Hotspot I get an error.







EDIT: Ignore me, I had the Verizon Mobile Hotspot apk frozen
Last edited by Namtaru; 24th September 2013 at 06:47 AM.
24th September 2013, 06:25 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 716
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Namtaru

Followed OP directions to a T

When I click on Mobile Hotspot I get an error.

Did you make sure to remove the original apk AND odex?

did you change the permissions?

are you on the OTA? (so was I)

Im not sure why this wouldn't work for you.
24th September 2013, 06:30 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WACOMalt

Did you make sure to remove the original apk AND odex?

did you change the permissions?

are you on the OTA? (so was I)

Im not sure why this wouldn't work for you.

I do not have the OTA and it worked just fine for me, for reference.
24th September 2013, 06:34 AM |#7  
Damasterjj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
do i need root or superuser?
24th September 2013, 06:41 AM |#8  
timsterzzz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damasterjj

do i need root or superuser?

You need both, because you have to modify system files.
The Following User Says Thank You to timsterzzz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th September 2013, 06:55 AM |#9  
Damasterjj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
will VZ know I am using the default app?
24th September 2013, 07:05 AM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 716
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damasterjj

will VZ know I am using the default app?

highly doubted. Worst case scenario is it wont work and you get a charge for the tethering fee. But that isn't the case. If you're worried, wait for AOSP of some flavor with built in tethering
24th September 2013, 07:20 AM |#11  
cheami's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 152
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Namtaru

Followed OP directions to a T

When I click on Mobile Hotspot I get an error.

EDIT: Ignore me, I had the Verizon Mobile Hotspot apk frozen

Ummmm, I uninstalled Version Mobile Hotspot. Any idea on how to get it back?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
hotspot, mobile hotspot, provisioning, tether, verizon
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes