5,595,339 Members 48,390 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

SIM restrictions on unlocked European Note3

Tip us?
 
htc6500uk
Old
(Last edited by htc6500uk; 11th October 2013 at 07:53 PM.) Reason: Updated info
#1  
htc6500uk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 335
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West Midlands - UK
Default SIM restrictions on unlocked European Note3

Latest News - Oct 9th 2013 - Clove, who specialise in sim-free/unlocked phones have suggested
that the Russian unlocking service at:
http://puman.ru/?selectlanguage=English
may be a solution for those concerned about the regional lock.
More info in the Clove blog at:
http://blog.clove.co.uk/2013/09/25/s...m-limitations/


Whether or not the Note 3 Verizon (US) "Developer Edition" will be regionally locked remains to be seen,
At least the bootloader will, according to reports, be unlocked.
More skimpy details at the Samsung/Verizon page at: http://www.samsung.com/us/mobile/cel...SM-N900VMKEVZW

More Recent News - Oct 6th 2013 - Chainfire appears to have created an app to
get round region locking for the Galaxy Note 3 SM-N9005 (MI7 firmware) and rooted
You can buy Chainfire a beer (1.99) by downloading the app from the Play Store at:
http://pkg.to/eu.chainfire.regionlockaway

There is also a thread started by Chainfire at: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=46187852 where meanies(!) can download it free.


Recent News (01:30 Oct 3rd 2013)
Android Authority: Galaxy Note 3 region lock is an issue after all, Android 4.4 update may lock older Galaxy handsets http://goo.gl/KjgVwc


Previous news (1st Oct 2013)

A significant number of users still claim they can't use "out of region" sims despite having first used a sim for the region the Note 3 was intended for which is the way Samsung have said is the way to 'unlock' the regional sim lock.

A number of users in this thread who found their Note3 was still region locked despite following the Samsung advice have successfully unlocked their Note3 regional lock using a Russian unlocking web site at http://puman.ru/ Although I am the OP of this thread, I do not have an out of region Sim to test this out myself - so no guarantees but read the posts!

Pics say it all. The Note 3 "unlocked" models are still locked to regions like DVD's and thus not very attractive to globetrotters or international purchasers who are being asked to pay 600 or so for a crippled device.

The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to htc6500uk For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
beasty54
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 64
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by htc6500uk View Post
Pic says it all. Will not work with USA, Australia etc. sim cards either of course.

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk 4
That better not be the case, mine will be delivered today and i'm in the U.S. next week. If it doesn't work out there like my Note 2 does, it's going straight back.
The Following User Says Thank You to beasty54 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
htc6500uk
Old
#3  
htc6500uk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 335
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West Midlands - UK
It will only accept European sim cards. As long as your UK mobile opeator has a roaming arrangement with a US carrier, you will still be able to use the phone but you won't have the option of using a sim card from Verizon, Sprint etc.

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk 4
The Following User Says Thank You to htc6500uk For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tarekkkkk
Old
#4  
tarekkkkk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 452
Join Date: Mar 2010
I thought i was right to cancell my order from negrielectronics and order from clove.co.uk and it just feels stupid to be informed about this today.

I cancelled my order from clove and they sent an email for refund... no more ordering from uk or europe.
visit my Gaming website : LebGamers

visit my Tech website : LebTechs
 
beasty54
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 64
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by htc6500uk View Post
It will only accept European sim cards. As long as your UK mobile opeator has a roaming arrangement with a US carrier, you will still be able to use the phone but you won't have the option of using a sim card from Verizon, Sprint etc.

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk 4
i'm using a sim from https://www.ulyssemobile.com/UK/index.php once i get into the states so i guess i better find out if its going to work.
 
Koguchi9
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 95
Join Date: Feb 2012
Such a surprise restriction..... I'm waiting for the bad news from handtec.

I wonder what will happen to the Australian sites selling imported note 3's.
 
htc6500uk
Old
#7  
htc6500uk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 335
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West Midlands - UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by beasty54 View Post
i'm using a sim from https://www.ulyssemobile.com/UK/index.php once i get into the states so i guess i better find out if its going to work.
Will be interested to hear how you get on. Please report back!

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk 4
 
leewae
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Oct 2010
I am waiting for Handtec to fully refund me, already requested for a refund, this is really foolish of Samsung....
Guess I have to wait for australian stock.
 
htc6500uk
Old
#9  
htc6500uk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 335
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West Midlands - UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koguchi9 View Post
Such a surprise restriction..... I'm waiting for the bad news from handtec.

I wonder what will happen to the Australian sites selling imported note 3's.
I daresay there will be frustrated customers. I havr not heard of such a restriction on a "sim-free" "unlocked" device before. All we used to have to worry aboit were the radio GSM/3G/4G/LTE bands.

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk 4
The Following User Says Thank You to htc6500uk For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
beasty54
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 64
Join Date: Jun 2007
I think this is an absolute disgrace to be honest, why have an unlocked, tri-band phone that wont work when you go on holiday unless you pay the absolutely disgusting roaming prices that UK networks charge?? I'm so annoyed about this, who the hell are Samsung to decide that i cant put a U.S. sim in a phone I've paid over 600 for

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to beasty54 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes