5,594,221 Members 45,958 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Turning GPRS off after a session

Tip us?
 
mikeiw
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Default Turning GPRS off after a session

Being the tight wad that I am, I wanted to know how I turn off the GPRS after a session on my K-JAM. I've noticed that after I've been on internet explorer for example, the little G icon with the opposing arrows stays there, where the big [G] icon normally is.

I'm concerned that this might cost me money, and/or battery life by leaving it on, but I can't seem to find an option where I can terminate the GPRS..

1st post, so please excuse my ignorance - never used GPRS before. :wink:
There is no escape - Give us your brains.
 
wardy
Old
#2  
wardy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 432
Join Date: Jun 2005
Just keep your finger on the red end key when you have finished browsing.
Regards
Wardy

HTC One S
 
wardy
Old
#3  
wardy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 432
Join Date: Jun 2005
Just keep your finger pressed on the red end key when you have finished browsing.
Regards
Wardy

HTC One S
 
mikeiw
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Excellent - such a good tip, you posted it twice

I shall try that next time I'm browsing. Taa
There is no escape - Give us your brains.
 
ccsnet
Old
#5  
ccsnet's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 288
Join Date: Aug 2005
Mine seems to re-enable - any way to disable completly ?

Terran
 
mikeiw
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
It's probably re-enabling because something's requesting an internet connection. I get that when I lose connection to my WLAN at home. It drops the WLAN and then dials up GPRS. I suppose the only way of stopping this happening would be to delete the connection from your settings. Not something you should approach light-heartedly however....
There is no escape - Give us your brains.
 
ccsnet
Old
#7  
ccsnet's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 288
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeiw
It's probably re-enabling because something's requesting an internet connection. I get that when I lose connection to my WLAN at home. It drops the WLAN and then dials up GPRS. I suppose the only way of stopping this happening would be to delete the connection from your settings. Not something you should approach light-heartedly however....
Thats exactly it....

Not a bug but a design pain...

Terran
 
mikeiw
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
...especially when you're on a pay-as-you-go basis for GPRS
There is no escape - Give us your brains.
 
ccsnet
Old
#9  
ccsnet's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 288
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeiw
It's probably re-enabling because something's requesting an internet connection. I get that when I lose connection to my WLAN at home. It drops the WLAN and then dials up GPRS. I suppose the only way of stopping this happening would be to delete the connection from your settings. Not something you should approach light-heartedly however....
What about re-assiging the default GPRS connection - that was some thing else I was looking for ?

Terran
 
ccsnet
Old
#10  
ccsnet's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 288
Join Date: Aug 2005
Just done this.. under start / settings / connections / connections - changed mine to dial com1 with the number 1 instead of GPRS... should work for the mo - quick change.

Although not neat it works - I just hope a better solution is found.

Terran

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...