Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,248 Members 39,195 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Fix for Titanium Backup restoring with data

Tip us?
 
danieljamie
Old
(Last edited by danieljamie; 29th September 2013 at 05:49 PM.)
#1  
danieljamie's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 159
Posts: 558
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default Fix for Titanium Backup restoring with data

This fix solves force close issues with restoring apps with data in Titanium Backup.

This operation recursively fixes all SElinux file markers in /data/data, which are spoiled by titanium during data restore. (Quote from vodkinagdan)

User vodkinagdan found this solution:

Simply execute this from the terminal emulator:

su
restorecon -R -v /data/data

This has to be done after every restore (or batch of restores).

I take no credit for this but it works!

vodkinagdan has sent fix to Titanium Track.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 SM-N9005

Previous Devices
Samsung Galaxy S3 GT-I9300
Sony Ericsson Xperia Play (R800i)
The Following 55 Users Say Thank You to danieljamie For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
flochy
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 41
Join Date: Jan 2009
Confirmed, it saved me from days of frustration !
 
yatbond
Old
#3  
yatbond's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 243
Join Date: Apr 2007
Sorry. What is terminal emulator? How do you get there?

Thanks

Sent from my LG-F320K using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to yatbond For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
vodkinagdan
Old
(Last edited by vodkinagdan; 29th September 2013 at 06:04 PM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 230
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Moscow
Quote:
Originally Posted by flochy View Post
Confirmed, it saved me from days of frustration !
I can also suggest everyone to create sh file with these commands and store somewhere in sdcard. Just in case if we will have to wait for the fix from titanium team for a while.
P.S. Terminal emulator is an app, which you can get from Play Market. It serves to execute shell and busybox commands on android device.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to vodkinagdan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
toofimoofi
Old
#5  
toofimoofi's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 84
Join Date: Sep 2013
works like a charm. too bad Ive already reinstalled the apps and deleted my titanium backup files.. lol
 
danieljamie
Old
#6  
danieljamie's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 159
Posts: 558
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofimoofi View Post
works like a charm. too bad Ive already reinstalled the apps and deleted my titanium backup files.. lol
Never delete them! Ever!

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 SM-N9005

Previous Devices
Samsung Galaxy S3 GT-I9300
Sony Ericsson Xperia Play (R800i)
 
PokerPlayer
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 73
Join Date: May 2012
Do you execute this command after or before restore?

Skickat från min SM-N9005
 
danieljamie
Old
#8  
danieljamie's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 159
Posts: 558
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by PokerPlayer View Post
Do you execute this command after or before restore?

Skickat från min SM-N9005
After restores.You can restore many then run command once.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 SM-N9005

Previous Devices
Samsung Galaxy S3 GT-I9300
Sony Ericsson Xperia Play (R800i)
 
starfighter1106
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 78
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Greve
Hi, could someone please help me, i'm not really sure what i'm doing wrong here?

- Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-09-29 21.20.01.jpg
Views:	2882
Size:	29.3 KB
ID:	2291594  
Phones:
Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Samsung Galaxy S3
HTC Desire HD
 
Unb0rn
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Volgograd
This tool resets SELinux security contexts. Maybe you need to have busybox installed(if it's one of its' binaries/applets?)

The Following User Says Thank You to Unb0rn For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes