Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,802,856 Members 41,596 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM] Kumakan - Modified Stock

Tip us?
 
kuma82
Old
(Last edited by kuma82; 9th September 2014 at 03:23 PM.) Reason: v10f update patch
#1  
kuma82's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 902
Posts: 1,743
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [ROM] Kumakan - Modified Stock


This Rom is for P769 (T-Mobile & Wind) & LGMS769 (MetroPCS) models.

DOWNLOADS

Quote:
KUMAKAN V3.4

CHANGELOG
Quote:

V3.4
List of changes made
:
  • Fixed Google-Text-T0-Speech bug in Maps
  • Integrated most System app updates
  • Fixed bug in aroma installer
V3.3
List of changes made
:
  • Removed Google+
  • Fixed bug in Maps
  • Tweaked Swap Script
  • Added a script "theme" to modify SystemUI on the fly [type "theme" in terminal for instructions] needs root access
  • Changed boot/shutdown animations, default lockscreen and default wallpaper
V3.2
List of changes made
:
V3.1
List of changes made
:
  • System Apps are ODEX (except 1)
  • Moved Viper4Android back to System App for better performance
  • Improved firstboot.sh script
  • Patched services.jar
V3
List of changes made
:
  • Switched to V21D [WIND] Kernel
  • Upgraded System to LGMS769 10F
  • Enter 2nd-init recovery by typing "recovery" (as # "su") in Terminal
  • Improved overclocking command [enter "max" in Terminal as #]
  • Removed Internal_SD to gain more space for Apps[2nd-Init Rom only]
  • Allow adb push to system [2nd-Init Rom only]
  • Added several selections of LB Recoveries
  • Added several keyboards to choose from {Visit Shaftamle Thread for a lot more!}
  • Improved Init.d loading
  • some System Apps are de-odex
  • Removed Chaos Revenge transition animation
  • Updated ViPER4Android to Beautiful V2.3.3.0 [app moved to data]
  • Updated Xposed Module & future updates are easier to install [app moved to data]
  • Updated GravityBox & future updates are easier to install [app moved to data]
  • Updated YouTube Adaway & future updates are easier to install [app moved to data]
  • UI icons changed to G3 (more changes to come)
  • Added several build.prop tweaks to improve speed and batter life (not sure if I really see a difference in battery life, lol)

V1 & V2
List of changes made
:

Credits:
  • @AntonX - for removing Internal_SD setup
  • @mateo1111 - for his black statusbar zips and sharing his knowledge
  • @artas182x - for porting whirleyes overclocking module, and for porting 2nd-Init to L9
  • @rovo89 - for creating Xposed Module
  • @C3C076 - for creating GravityBox, the modules that does it all
  • @wanam - for creating his YouTube Ad Blocking module
  • @Shaftamle - for allowing me to use his Google Themed Keyboards
  • @Polloos - for taking the time to create several 2nd-Init Recoveries
  • @viper520 and zhuhang - for ViPER4Android FX
  • @zeppelinrox - for patching services.jar
  • @joehanh88 - for his toggles [KumaKan v1&2]
  • @jancsessz - for list of 4.1.2 build.prop tweaks
  • @Lgeob - for Center Clock UI
  • @Miguel-rocha - for G3 Status Bar Toggles
  • @ricky310711 - for base aroma setup
  • @amarullz - for creating Aroma Installer
  • TWRP Devs - for creating Team Win Recovery Project
  • CWM Devs - for creating a ton of stuff
  • @Phil3759 - for creating his customized PhilZ CWM
  • LG Developers & Carrier Devs- for ROM
  • Several Others - for posting and sharing information



PLEASE READ SECOND POST
Attached Files
File Type: zip MetroPCS-V10E-Radio.zip - [Click for QR Code] (5.46 MB, 1296 views)
The Following 37 Users Say Thank You to kuma82 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kuma82
Old
(Last edited by kuma82; 21st January 2014 at 01:48 PM.)
#2  
kuma82's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 902
Posts: 1,743
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston

 
DONATE TO ME
Instructions
 

How to install
 
1. You will need root, busybox & artas182x locked bootloader CWM (2nd init recovery).2. Make a backup of your current system & data, detailed instructions by @cmahendra, see 2nd & 3rd post. (Note: Make backups on External Sdcard)
3. Download, locate and install my rom like any other flash-able zip. Note: MEGA has an app in the market ;D
The most important thing to remember is don't select reboot recovery (in advance options). Your phone will (may) perform a factory reset and wipe your Internal Sd & data partition!!! You have been Warned!!!
Old Method
 
3. Download my Cwm backup and extract (un-zip) the "backup" folder to your external SD (micro SD) "clockworkmod" folder or Internal SD (not recommended). Note: If you don't have a "clockworkmod" folder in your external Sd, make one. You should have one if you made a cwm backup.
The folders need to be like this /clockworkmod/backup/KUMA82-2013-10-03/
4.
a. Restore my CWM Backup and reboot.
(Note: The first boot will take a long time, about 4mins)

Or
b. Restore my CWM Backup and select "advance restore from external sdcard" and restore you data partition.
(Note: only perform this option if your backup is from a jellybean rom. In addition, wipe dalvik cache & cache before booting up your system.)
The most important thing to remember is don't select reboot recovery (in advance options). Your phone will (may) perform a factory reset and wipe your Internal Sd & data partition!!! You have been Warned!!!



How to overclock CPU to 1200mhz
 

Open terminal emulator and type:
Code:
 
su (give root access) 
./etc/overclock
If your CPU is stable at 1200 and you want it set at every boot, perform this command
Code:
su
mount -o remount /system
cp /etc/overclock /etc/init.d/
chmod -R 777 /etc/init.d
PLEASE MAKE SURE YOUR CPU IS STABLE BEFORE SETTING IT AT EVERY BOOT

How to enable ViPER4Android
 
First off, mad props to ViPER520 (Creator of V4A) & @zhuhang (xda maintainer) Please visit the thread & show your respect. ViPER4Android Audio Effects
To get the most out of this app please visit that thread and read the first 4 post by @zhuhang. In addition, checkout the Impulse Response Sample thread.
1. Open ViPER4Android FX apk, give root access and enable FX Compatible Mode.



Questions & Knowledge
 
What does this swap (Internal/External) script do?
 

The script makes your fake Internal SD card become your External SD card and vice versa.
I call it a fake Internal SD because the more stuff you place in that folder (/data/media) the less space you have for apps. Most phones have a real Internal SD, and it's not a part of the data partition.

Knowledge
It's like this, your phone's hard drive is cut up into different sections and each have a different size. The two main partitions (storage sections) are system and data.
Your data partition is about 1.8g in size and is located at "/data/". This place is where all your settings, user apps (/data/app), and other stuff are stored. When you do a factory reset, all of this stuff gets erased.

Inside the data, is a folder named "media". Media is your Internal SD card. The Media folder contains a very important folder name "Android" (/data/media/Android), this folder contains app setting (the stuff you can access without root) & is the storage place for large games.
Now you can't do much about the small storage, the best thing to do is not save anything on it (data/media), like music, files & stuff.
So with the swap script active, we are making the "micro SD" become the new storage place for the Android folder.
Note: the script does not actually transfer everything you currently have saved in /data/media. You have to move that manually. The script/system will make a new Android folder on your "micro SD".
In addtion, change camera and video recorder storage location to internal memory.


It would be real nice if we could move /data all to the micro SD, but we can't because of a lot of technical reasons.


I hope you have a better understanding about what this swap script is doing, and how the system operates.


Why do all my pictures/videos I take come out corrupt?
 
Your pictures/videos are not corrupt, they just don't have the correct permissions. Once you reboot you will find your pictures/videos inside /storage/external_SD (I would take them out of there).
Change the Storage settings for the camera & video to "Internal memory"


How do I remove the swap script?
 
I admit the swap script isn't perfect, and I don't blame you for wanting to remove it.
The easiest method (IMO) is to use a root browser and remove 69swap from the init.d folder.

If you don't understand what I just said , perform the following in a terminal.
Code:
su
mount -o remount,rw /system 
rm /etc/init.d/69swap
and reboot.

More instructions Coming Soon:
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to kuma82 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kevev
Old
#3  
kevev's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 225
Posts: 1,167
Join Date: May 2006
Thank You!
The Following User Says Thank You to kevev For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
LaDY Vengeance
Old
#4  
LaDY Vengeance's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 407
Posts: 971
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Philadelphia
I wish I was as smart as you! This is so awesome!

Sent from my LG-P769 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to LaDY Vengeance For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ilxaot
Old
#5  
Ilxaot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 550
Posts: 1,079
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Parrish
Glad to see people taking initiative!(:
Take a moment to read this.
Romans 1:22 ~ Professing to be wise, they in turn became fools.
Humility is not thinking less of yourself, it is thinking of yourself less.
Veritas Aequitas

My Google+
A glad member of the Anti-Apple regime ^-^
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
how do i move the apps to the sd card? i have been trying but its not working.
 
Ilxaot
Old
#7  
Ilxaot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 550
Posts: 1,079
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Parrish
Hey man, I was having a similar idea to this. Would I be able to make my own ROM backup with my own base/mods?
Take a moment to read this.
Romans 1:22 ~ Professing to be wise, they in turn became fools.
Humility is not thinking less of yourself, it is thinking of yourself less.
Veritas Aequitas

My Google+
A glad member of the Anti-Apple regime ^-^
 
kuma82
Old
#8  
kuma82's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 902
Posts: 1,743
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245 View Post
how do i move the apps to the sd card? i have been trying but its not working.
I need more details to work with. What app are you trying to move? Does it give you an error, or you can't select the "move 2 sdcard" tab?
Remember, not all downloaded apps can be moved.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ilxaot View Post
Hey man, I was having a similar idea to this. Would I be able to make my own ROM backup with my own base/mods?
Why wouldn't you
Just make sure it's boot-able after a factory reset and everything is working properly.
The Following User Says Thank You to kuma82 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ilxaot
Old
#9  
Ilxaot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 550
Posts: 1,079
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Parrish
Quote:
Why wouldn't you
Just make sure it's boot-able after a factory reset and everything is working properly.
Alright thanks! I just wanted to make sure. I've always had the idea of a "Galactic ROM" feel for one of these. I think I'll make it tonight(: How do I upload it? Just package in a compressed format and upload, then tell them to use restore function?

OH! And do I need to delete my contacts/messages/etc. first? Because it'd be highly embarrassing to post my girlfriend and I's messages for people to download. XD
Take a moment to read this.
Romans 1:22 ~ Professing to be wise, they in turn became fools.
Humility is not thinking less of yourself, it is thinking of yourself less.
Veritas Aequitas

My Google+
A glad member of the Anti-Apple regime ^-^
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
(Last edited by pitbullmommy45245; 5th October 2013 at 05:02 AM.)
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuma82 View Post
I need more details to work with. What app are you trying to move? Does it give you an error, or you can't select the "move 2 sdcard" tab?
Remember, not all downloaded apps can be moved.
oh i didn't know that. i tried downloading apps and i keep getting the not enough storage error.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes