Unofficial Android 4.4 Lands on Three Mediatek Devices

For the last few years, devices with MTK systems-on-chip haven’t received much … more

MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[TOOL] Verizon HTC One Splash Image Creator

OP IceDragon59

8th October 2013, 03:03 PM   |  #1  
IceDragon59's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 212
 
458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
With all the splash screen discussion and threads popping up, I decided it was time to make a tool which could help users create and flash their own splash screens.

Verizon HTC One Splash Image Creator

This simple Windows command-line tool allows the creation of splash images, which are automatically converted to zip files and placed in the 'flash' folder, ready to be flashed, which can be flashed by the second option. It also allows the backing-up of your current splash image, as well as extracting the image from custom '.img' files.



Instructions:
  • S-OFF is required for this to function!
  • Everything needed is included aside from the image you want to be a splash screen, and the on-screen directions are quite straight-forward.
  • Unzip it to a location you can easily find and run 'splash.bat'. If necessary, run it as Administrator.
  • Make sure you maintain the folder structure as it is in the zip.


DISCLAIMER:
This tool consists of several files, most of which I didn't create. Specifically, it includes the most up-to-date ADB and Fastboot files, along with the FFMPEG free software licensed under GPL, as well as 7-Zip, also licensed under GPL. I am not making money from this tool, therefore everything should be copacetic. All I'm doing is collecting them in one place, making it significantly easier to perform its specific function.

I can not be held responsible for your use of this tool. Flashing custom images generally can't brick your device, but if it does, the fault lies with you, the user. I am not liable. Use this tool at your own risk. This is for the Verizon HTC One only!



Screenshots:






Known Issues:
  • When creating a splash image, sometimes it asks you to specify whether the destination is a file or directory. It's a directory. I have overwrite and quiet mode on, so it shouldn't pop up and ask that. It only does it about 2 out of 30 times.
  • When flashing the splash zip, it sometimes tells me that fastboot flash isn't a valid command, despite it working without changing anything since the last time I ran it. I also tested it about 30 times, and it also only gave me that error twice. It immediately reboots and works again right after that without any modification.



Potential Limitations:
  • I have only been able to test this on the 1.10.605.8 software release. I don't know if you need to change the text in the android-info.txt file in the '/tools/' folder to the updated version or not. I would appreciate it if someone would test that for me who is currently on the new update.



Changelog:
Code:
v1.01 - Bux fix regarding folder structure.
v1.0 - Initial release.


Download:
http://d-h.st/OTD


Please let me know if you discover any bugs, or if you think you know why I have the two I have now. Also, let me know if it works on the .10 software update.
Last edited by IceDragon59; 8th October 2013 at 09:54 PM.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to IceDragon59 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th October 2013, 03:07 PM   |  #2  
IceDragon59's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 212
 
458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
RESERVED
8th October 2013, 07:07 PM   |  #3  
sebastianraven's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Laguna Beach
Thanks Meter: 79
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
This isn't working for me. Its saying that '/tools/adb.exe' does not exist.
8th October 2013, 08:56 PM   |  #4  
IceDragon59's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 212
 
458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebastianraven

This isn't working for me. Its saying that '/tools/adb.exe' does not exist.

Are you maintaining the folder structure as it is in the zip?

EDIT:
I did leave a bug in there regarding folder structure. I was operating from C:\ during testing, and left "C:" in there as part of the test for whether the needed files existed. If you were operating on a drive letter besides C:, it would throw that error. I removed that drive letter requirement. Please download version 1.01 and try it again from any drive letter you like.
Last edited by IceDragon59; 8th October 2013 at 09:31 PM.
9th October 2013, 12:29 AM   |  #5  
sebastianraven's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Laguna Beach
Thanks Meter: 79
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceDragon59

Are you maintaining the folder structure as it is in the zip?

EDIT:
I did leave a bug in there regarding folder structure. I was operating from C:\ during testing, and left "C:" in there as part of the test for whether the needed files existed. If you were operating on a drive letter besides C:, it would throw that error. I removed that drive letter requirement. Please download version 1.01 and try it again from any drive letter you like.

Ok. Here's what I did:

Redownloaded the zip.

Unzipped and moved it to my C: drive to make this as simple as possible.

Ran as Administrator

Selected #2.

Got the same error.
9th October 2013, 06:19 AM   |  #6  
IceDragon59's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 212
 
458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebastianraven

Ok. Here's what I did:

Redownloaded the zip.

Unzipped and moved it to my C: drive to make this as simple as possible.

Ran as Administrator

Selected #2.

Got the same error.

That's very odd. Are you placing a picture in the 'image' folder, using option #1 and converting it to the flashable zip, then trying to flash it? If there's no zip to flash, it throws an error, even though that's the wrong error.
11th October 2013, 04:58 PM   |  #7  
ak074's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 107
 
311 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceDragon59

Potential Limitations:

  • I have only been able to test this on the 1.10.605.8 software release. I don't know if you need to change the text in the android-info.txt file in the '/tools/' folder to the updated version or not. I would appreciate it if someone would test that for me who is currently on the new update.

Please let me know if you discover any bugs, or if you think you know why I have the two I have now. Also, let me know if it works on the .10 software update.

if this creates the .img to be flashed via hboot, then the android-info.txt will need to be changed to reflect the current version of the phone.
11th October 2013, 06:18 PM   |  #8  
andybones's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Upstate NY
Thanks Meter: 9,444
 
9,670 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ak074

if this creates the .img to be flashed via hboot, then the android-info.txt will need to be changed to reflect the current version of the phone.

I know there is a way to fix it but yea it's better to be safe than sorry
on rezound I accidentally flashed a leaked one, so i couldn't flash any of these, we eventually figured out a way to fix it thankfully but it was a lesson learned
13th October 2013, 08:47 AM   |  #9  
mrka's Avatar
Member
Flag St. Louis
Thanks Meter: 7
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Good job man!
Worked great for me.
Thanks!
21st December 2013, 03:31 AM   |  #10  
Pete450's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 460
 
218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
I would like to start using this tool, but I am using santods modded no-text hboot from the latest OTA...
What should the android-info.txt file have? do i just change the mainver?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes