Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,535 Members 39,940 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Return To Stock LOCKED and S-ON

Tip us?
 
bmt626
Old
(Last edited by bmt626; 8th November 2013 at 05:32 PM.) Reason: clearing up confusion
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 103
Join Date: Jul 2009
Post Return To Stock LOCKED and S-ON

Please note you must be bootloader unlocked and S-OFF for this to work

you are doing this at your own risk dont blame me if something goes wrong i have tested this twice one on CM and once on Stock
that being said



This guide will help you return to stock un-rooted, locked, and s-on in the event you ever need to use the warranty
You will need the decrypted RUU from here
[url]http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2437436[/url

the md5 for the RUU is
Code:
Select Code
c16801fff4ed8db4f32526dc5a51efcc
you will also need fastboot and adb setup
place the ruu in the folder where your fastboot and adb files are and rename it to Rom.zip
make sure it is Rom.zip not rom.zip RoM.zip, rom.zip.zip or any other combination I didn’t list 
Next have your phone booted into the os / rom of choice doesn’t matter I have done this from both CM and Stock/Rooted.
Turn on adb (note if running cm make sure adb has root access)
Open up adb prompt and type
Code:
Select Code
adb shell

su (if needed)

echo -ne '\x00\x00\x00\x00' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=1 seek=33796

exit

adb reboot bootloader
*verify locked

*** thanks to scotty1223 for this ***** original post here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...1&postcount=31

I recommend copy and paste for the command so you don’t mistype something
This will lock your bootloader and make it show LOCKED not RELOCKED
While still in the bootloader type

Code:
Select Code
Fastboot oem rebootRUU
Once in ruu mode *blackscreen with HTC text* its time to flash the decrypted ruu make sure you have placed the rom in the folder and named it Rom.zip
Run following command

Code:
Select Code
Fastboot flash zip Rom.zip
It appears some people are confused on the following. You must confirm your device successfully flashes the ruu before contiuning
It could work the first time or could error out multiple times typically it fails the first time then completes the 2nd bu not a promise also make sure you have checked the md5 hash


You will most likely get the following error

FAILED (remote: 90 hboot pre-update! please flush image again immediately)

Don’t worry this is normal (typically fails the first time) (also it could boot you out of ruu mode when it does) just make sure your phone still shows its in ruu mode
If it is not just retype
Code:
Select Code
fastboot oem rebootRUU
Then re-run the command

Code:
Select Code
Fastboot flash zip Rom.zip
Once it finishes the phone will stay in ruu mode simply type

Code:
Select Code
Fastboot reboot-bootloader
At this point you are stock unrooted and bootloader locked but still s-off to change this type

Code:
Select Code
fastboot oem writesecureflag 3
you should get a message back saying

“(bootloader) writesecureflag: partitions signature pass
OKAY [ 1.666s]
finished. total time: 1.666s”
now type
fastboot reboot-bootloader
and verify you are now S-ON andtype
Code:
Select Code
fastboot reboot
and your phone will load to stock
note this will be stock version m7wlv_1.10.605.8 so you will need to take the ota to update to 605.10

hope this helps
The Following 52 Users Say Thank You to bmt626 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Frankie1588
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 567
Join Date: Sep 2011
Thanks for this!
Current Devices:
HTC One M8 (Verizon): ViperOne
Nexus 7 (1st Gen): VanirAOSP

Previous Devices:
HTC One M7 (Sold)
Motorola Droid Bionic
 
godhamba
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 192
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default Fantastic Post

Thanks so much for this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankie1588 View Post
Thanks for this!
 
bmt626
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 103
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by godhamba View Post
Thanks so much for this.
hope it helps i did it twice before making the post to make sure dont wanna lead anyone down wrong direction
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bmt626 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tpierce67
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmt626 View Post
hope it helps i did it twice before making the post to make sure dont wanna lead anyone down wrong direction
I need HELP! I read the BIG RED PRINT about being bootloader unlocked but I still foolishly locked the bootloader prior to running this......I'm still S-Off but it will not flash the RUU. And now it is in a boot loop into recovery. I've tried running the lock unlock ADB scipt but I can't seem to get the device to connect in ADB mode.....fastboot works fine.

Hopefully I don't have a nice looking paper weight.

and BTW the reason i locked the BL is because I was reading other info on the web ( Youtube ) and got in a hurry.....LET THIS BE A REMINDER.
 
bmt626
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 103
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpierce67 View Post
I need HELP! I read the BIG RED PRINT about being bootloader unlocked but I still foolishly locked the bootloader prior to running this......I'm still S-Off but it will not flash the RUU. And now it is in a boot loop into recovery. I've tried running the lock unlock ADB scipt but I can't seem to get the device to connect in ADB mode.....fastboot works fine.

Hopefully I don't have a nice looking paper weight.

and BTW the reason i locked the BL is because I was reading other info on the web ( Youtube ) and got in a hurry.....LET THIS BE A REMINDER.
You do need to lock the bootloader at one point in my guide

What command did you run to lock the boot loader

Adb only works when booted in to a os

My advice is boot into bootloader then flash a custom recovery and flash cm from cm run unlock command in adb and try again following my directions

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk now Free
 
tpierce67
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2010
Thanks for the assit. I ran fastoot oem lock as the first step. I saw a couple of vids on youtube with those instructions. I will try your suggestions and see what happens. I left the phone at work cause I have iMac at home and I figured it was a paper weight at this point. Hopefully I will have better luck tomorrow.
 
bmt626
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 103
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpierce67 View Post
Thanks for the assit. I ran fastoot oem lock as the first step. I saw a couple of vids on youtube with those instructions. I will try your suggestions and see what happens. I left the phone at work cause I have iMac at home and I figured it was a paper weight at this point. Hopefully I will have better luck tomorrow.
just run this command from an

Code:
Select Code
 adb shell
su
echo -ne "HTCU" | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=1 seek=33796
that should make it read unlocked again i ran fastboot oem lock when i was first testing and that command got me back
 
bmt626
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 103
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpierce67 View Post
Thanks for the assit. I ran fastoot oem lock as the first step. I saw a couple of vids on youtube with those instructions. I will try your suggestions and see what happens. I left the phone at work cause I have iMac at home and I figured it was a paper weight at this point. Hopefully I will have better luck tomorrow.
let me know if you have issues ill be happy to help out
 
tpierce67
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2010
This is what i get when i try to flash a customer reovery

C:\Fastboot>fastboot flash recovery ope
sending 'recovery' (8504 KB)...
OKAY [ 1.156s]
writing 'recovery'...
(bootloader) signature checking...
FAILED (remote: signature verify fail)
finished. total time: 1.987s

I need to find a way to unlock the bootloader. I'm stuck in bootloader mode.

---------- Post added at 02:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:07 PM ----------

my bootloader screen reads

tampered
relocked
security warning
M7_WLV PVT SHIP S-ON RH

I'm not sure what happened since yesterday but I left my office it still read S-Off. I tried to install Rummrunner but since I can't enable USB debugging it won't flash.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes