5,597,261 Members 40,007 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[how to] remove your "tampered" banner

Tip us?
 
scotty1223
Old
(Last edited by scotty1223; 26th October 2013 at 12:25 AM.)
#1  
scotty1223's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1898
Posts: 2,093
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default [how to] remove your "tampered" banner

if you have recently s-off'ed using a java card,or some other exploit that did not remove your tampered banner from the bootloader screen,then this thread is for you.

you do NOT need to downgrade your hboot. this simple adb command works without any scary hboot downgrades.

*you must be s off.
*you must have superuser installed(see this thread if you need help installing superuser)

read this:
this will not work if your s on

the usual disclaimers:
i have tested this my my m7_ul t mobile variant,but use this info at your own risk. if it melts your phone into a little pile of aluminum goo,its not my fault.

credits
-beaups for giving me the echo comand,so yall didnt need to dump,edit with a hex editor,and copy back
-andybones for testing it on m7_wlv

IF you are an advanced user with adb/fastboot set up and some basic knowlede of the cmd window,you can skip to #2
1)set up adb

 

-download this file
-install drivers: if you have htc sync installed,you should allready have drivers. if not,you can install htc sync,or install these modified htc drivers from revolutionary (driver mirror)
-unzip your miniadb_v1031.zip file. this is native funtionality in windows 7. you otherwise may need a utility such as "7-zip" to extract,or unzip it. place the unzipped folder onto the root of your C drive on your PC. root means the top level,not inside any folders. so just copy and paste,or drag and drop the folder onto C with everything else that is there. you may want to rename it to "miniadb_m7" since youll be putting some device specific files in here.
-open a command window. on windows 7,click the start bubble in the lower left and type "command" in the search box. xp i believe is similar or the same. doing this should open a small black command window.
-change to your miniadb_m7 directory. type the following at the prompt in your cmd window:

cd c:\miniadb_m7

your command promt should change to "c:miniadb_m7>" provided you: 1)unzipped the miniadb_v1031 zip file,and 2)put the folder on your c drive,and 3)entered the name of the folder correctly ("miniadb_m7" in this case)

-now make sure usb debugging is checked in developer options(you will need to turn it on first),and plug your phone into your PC with a usb cable
-make sure your phone is being recognized- type:

adb devices

if your drivers are installed correctly,this should return your phones serial number. you should hear the "found device" noises when you plug your phone in. if it starts installing drivers,wait for it to finish before typing the adb devices command.

if you get your serial number back,then enter this command:
adb reboot bootloader

this should take your phone to the "fastboot" screen,wich is white with colored letters. this is one mode of your bootloaders interactive modes. at the top youll see fastboot devices as confirmation youre in fastboot.

now enter:
fastboot devices
again,this should return your phones serial number. you should hear the "found device" noises when you plug your phone in. if it starts installing drivers,wait for it to finish before typing the adb devices command.

if you get your serial number back,you can enter the following to boot back to the phones OS:
fastboot reboot

and now,youve installed adb/fastboot and tested youre phones drivers. if at either spot,you have trouble and dont get your serial number back,there is some sort of connection issue. use these steps to troubleshoot:
 
Quote:
troubleshooting connectivity issues:
-try a reboot of the PC
-try different usb cables and ports
-dont use a usb hub
-dont use usb 3.0
-make sure nothing capable of comunicating with the phone is enabled and running. htc sync,pdanet,easy tether,and even itunes have all been known to cause issues.
-windows 8 has been known to have issues. try a windows 7 or older machine

failing the above,
-i use these drivers for fastboot and adb(donwload and run as admin): http://downloads.unrevoked.com/HTCDriver3.0.0.007.exe (mirror)

failing that,try manually updating the drivers in the following manner:
-put the phone in fastboot mode(select fastboot from the hboot menu)
-open device manager on the PC
-plug in phone,watch for it to pop up in device manager.
-update drivers with device manager,pointing the wizard to the extracted
driver download folder from above

note that you can check the connectivity of the phone,and make sure drivers are working by in the following manner:
-open cmd window. change to directory containing adb/fastboot utilities

-adb with the phone in the booted OS,usb debug enabled,enter:
adb devices in a cmd window

-fastboot with phone in fastboot,enter:
fastboot devices in cmd window

in either case,a properly connected phone with working drivers installed should report back the phones serial number.


this process,in your cmd window,should look something like this:
Code:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Scott>cd c:\miniadb_m7

c:\miniadb_m7>adb devices
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached
FAxxxxxxxxxx    device


c:\miniadb_m7>adb reboot bootloader

c:\miniadb_m7>fastboot devices
FAxxxxxxxxxx    fastboot

c:\miniadb_m7>fastboot reboot
rebooting...

finished. total time: 0.037s

c:\miniadb_m7>


2)reset your "tampered flag"

enter the following:

adb devices

adb shell

su (if needed to get a # prompt)

echo -ne '\x00' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p7 bs=1 seek=4265988
(i would very strongly recomend you copy/paste this)

exit
(exit a second time if you need to to get back to a normal > prompt)

adb reboot bootloader

verify tamered is gone





other useful threads:
how to lock/unlock your bootloader without htcdev(s-off required)
The Delivery Guy
If someone has helped you,please click the THANKS button on that post.
Please post questions so others can benefit from the answers(<-this means do not PM me questions)
donate to my device fund
The Following 82 Users Say Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
scotty1223
Old
#2  
scotty1223's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1898
Posts: 2,093
Join Date: Jan 2011
mine
The Delivery Guy
If someone has helped you,please click the THANKS button on that post.
Please post questions so others can benefit from the answers(<-this means do not PM me questions)
donate to my device fund
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
zaphodbeeb
Old
#3  
zaphodbeeb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 278
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Betelgeuse
or you can use revone
regards

Zaphodbeeb

 
scotty1223
Old
#4  
scotty1223's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1898
Posts: 2,093
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaphodbeeb View Post
or you can use revone
it is my understanding that revone does not work on hboots greater than 1.44,so you need to downgrade hboot to have that option.

use whatever means you wish,this is another way to skin the cat.
The Delivery Guy
If someone has helped you,please click the THANKS button on that post.
Please post questions so others can benefit from the answers(<-this means do not PM me questions)
donate to my device fund
The Following User Says Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
zaphodbeeb
Old
(Last edited by zaphodbeeb; 12th October 2013 at 10:52 AM.)
#5  
zaphodbeeb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 278
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Betelgeuse
Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty1223 View Post
it is my understanding that revone does not work on hboots greater than 1.44,so you need to downgrade hboot to have that option.

use whatever means you wish,this is another way to skin the cat.
I can use revone to do this also on 1.54 without a problem. This method is much easier however, and leaves no tracks. Any chance of a script to do this. More Kudos 2 u.
regards

Zaphodbeeb

 
russel5
Old
#6  
russel5's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 128
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Yekaterinburg
is it possible to do the same with the "Locked" "Relocked" ?
DEVICE: HTC One Silver
ROM: Stock 4.4.2
S-OFF
Root
 
theq86
Old
(Last edited by theq86; 17th October 2013 at 01:36 PM.)
#7  
theq86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 708
Posts: 917
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nuremberg

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by russel5 View Post
is it possible to do the same with the "Locked" "Relocked" ?
It should, since the lock state is also part of the misc partition. it is just a different offset.

Can someone who has unlocked or relocked state provide me with a dump of mmcblk0p7 ?
Please Search the forums and ask your questions there. I'm no personal supporter.
HTC One (m7_ul)
 
scotty1223
Old
(Last edited by scotty1223; 17th October 2013 at 01:49 PM.)
#8  
scotty1223's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1898
Posts: 2,093
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by russel5 View Post
is it possible to do the same with the "Locked" "Relocked" ?
Yes. There is a thread for that here , and in the verizon and sprint forums

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk
The Delivery Guy
If someone has helped you,please click the THANKS button on that post.
Please post questions so others can benefit from the answers(<-this means do not PM me questions)
donate to my device fund
The Following User Says Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
scotty1223
Old
#9  
scotty1223's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1898
Posts: 2,093
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by theq86 View Post
It should, since the lock state is also part of the misc partition. it is just a different offset.

Can someone who has unlocked or relocked state provide me with a dump of mmcblk0p7 ?
The lock flag is in p3, not p7. Again, there is a thread for that already

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk
The Delivery Guy
If someone has helped you,please click the THANKS button on that post.
Please post questions so others can benefit from the answers(<-this means do not PM me questions)
donate to my device fund
The Following User Says Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
killer18
Old
(Last edited by killer18; 17th October 2013 at 04:41 PM.)
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 22
Join Date: Oct 2013
wooow its cool

I will do it when i get s-off


Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty1223 View Post
Yes. There is a thread for that here , and in the verizon and sprint forums

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk
can you give me the link for this thread pleace ?

The Following User Says Thank You to killer18 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes