Post Reply

[how to] remove your "tampered" banner

OP scotty1223

10th October 2013, 10:42 AM   |  #1  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,361
 
2,296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
this thread is for m7. it will not work on m8. please check the general section of your device forums if you do NOT have m7

if you have recently s-off'ed using a java card,or some other exploit that did not remove your tampered banner from the bootloader screen,then this thread is for you.

you do NOT need to downgrade your hboot. this simple adb command works without any scary hboot downgrades.

*you must be s off.
*you must have superuser installed(see this thread if you need help installing superuser)

read this:
this will not work if your s on

the usual disclaimers:
i have tested this my my m7_ul t mobile variant,but use this info at your own risk. if it melts your phone into a little pile of aluminum goo,its not my fault.

credits
-beaups for giving me the echo comand,so yall didnt need to dump,edit with a hex editor,and copy back
-andybones for testing it on m7_wlv

IF you are an advanced user with adb/fastboot set up and some basic knowlede of the cmd window,you can skip to #2
1)set up adb


-download this file
-install drivers: if you have htc sync installed,you should allready have drivers. if not,you can install htc sync,or install these modified htc drivers from revolutionary (driver mirror)
-unzip your miniadb_v1031.zip file. this is native funtionality in windows 7. you otherwise may need a utility such as "7-zip" to extract,or unzip it. place the unzipped folder onto the root of your C drive on your PC. root means the top level,not inside any folders. so just copy and paste,or drag and drop the folder onto C with everything else that is there. you may want to rename it to "miniadb_m7" since youll be putting some device specific files in here.
-open a command window. on windows 7,click the start bubble in the lower left and type "command" in the search box. xp i believe is similar or the same. doing this should open a small black command window.
-change to your miniadb_m7 directory. type the following at the prompt in your cmd window:

cd c:\miniadb_m7

your command promt should change to "c:miniadb_m7>" provided you: 1)unzipped the miniadb_v1031 zip file,and 2)put the folder on your c drive,and 3)entered the name of the folder correctly ("miniadb_m7" in this case)

-now make sure usb debugging is checked in developer options(you will need to turn it on first),and plug your phone into your PC with a usb cable
-make sure your phone is being recognized- type:

adb devices

if your drivers are installed correctly,this should return your phones serial number. you should hear the "found device" noises when you plug your phone in. if it starts installing drivers,wait for it to finish before typing the adb devices command.

if you get your serial number back,then enter this command:
adb reboot bootloader

this should take your phone to the "fastboot" screen,wich is white with colored letters. this is one mode of your bootloaders interactive modes. at the top youll see fastboot devices as confirmation youre in fastboot.

now enter:
fastboot devices
again,this should return your phones serial number. you should hear the "found device" noises when you plug your phone in. if it starts installing drivers,wait for it to finish before typing the adb devices command.

if you get your serial number back,you can enter the following to boot back to the phones OS:
fastboot reboot

and now,youve installed adb/fastboot and tested youre phones drivers. if at either spot,you have trouble and dont get your serial number back,there is some sort of connection issue. use these steps to troubleshoot:
Quote:

troubleshooting connectivity issues:
-try a reboot of the PC
-try different usb cables and ports
-dont use a usb hub
-dont use usb 3.0
-make sure nothing capable of comunicating with the phone is enabled and running. htc sync,pdanet,easy tether,and even itunes have all been known to cause issues.
-windows 8 has been known to have issues. try a windows 7 or older machine

failing the above,
-i use these drivers for fastboot and adb(donwload and run as admin): http://downloads.unrevoked.com/HTCDriver3.0.0.007.exe (mirror)

failing that,try manually updating the drivers in the following manner:
-put the phone in fastboot mode(select fastboot from the hboot menu)
-open device manager on the PC
-plug in phone,watch for it to pop up in device manager.
-update drivers with device manager,pointing the wizard to the extracted
driver download folder from above

note that you can check the connectivity of the phone,and make sure drivers are working by in the following manner:
-open cmd window. change to directory containing adb/fastboot utilities

-adb with the phone in the booted OS,usb debug enabled,enter:
adb devices in a cmd window

-fastboot with phone in fastboot,enter:
fastboot devices in cmd window

in either case,a properly connected phone with working drivers installed should report back the phones serial number.



this process,in your cmd window,should look something like this:
Code:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Scott>cd c:\miniadb_m7

c:\miniadb_m7>adb devices
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached
FAxxxxxxxxxx    device


c:\miniadb_m7>adb reboot bootloader

c:\miniadb_m7>fastboot devices
FAxxxxxxxxxx    fastboot

c:\miniadb_m7>fastboot reboot
rebooting...

finished. total time: 0.037s

c:\miniadb_m7>


2)reset your "tampered flag"

enter the following:

adb devices

adb shell

su (if needed to get a # prompt)

echo -ne '\x00' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p7 bs=1 seek=4265988
(i would very strongly recomend you copy/paste this)

exit
(exit a second time if you need to to get back to a normal > prompt)

adb reboot bootloader

verify tamered is gone





other useful threads:
how to lock/unlock your bootloader without htcdev(s-off required)

if this does not work for you
*first reread this thread in its entirety. make sure you have met the prerequisites,and double check your code and make sure you have not forgotten a step,or screwed something up trying to type it (especially if using a terminal emulator),and check that you have not gotten any errors.

if youre still confident you did things correctly,you need to PM me:
1)the results of: fastboot getvar all
2)a link to an uploaded p7.

you get fastboot getvar all by:
-place phone in fastboot
-enter in fastboot getvar all right click,click mark,highlight in white,hit enter or right click to copy

you dump p7 by:

adb shell

su (if needed to get a #)

dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p7 of=/sdcard/mmcblk0p7

transfer the file on internal storage to your pc and upload it

im not trying to be a dick,but its not helpful to post "didnt work" if you screwed something up,or if your not willing to help find a solution. especially if others have found it to work on their same variant.

important:
from now on,i will need a copy of your cmd window as well if we want to get to the bottom of whats happening. some folks seem to be simply writing extra bytes,wich is screwing up the flag location. please make sure this shows an entire session,not just a last part where it looks correct. we cant figure it out if you only show part of what you did.
Last edited by scotty1223; 1st May 2014 at 12:26 PM.
The Following 103 Users Say Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th October 2013, 10:44 AM   |  #2  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,361
 
2,296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
mine
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th October 2013, 11:02 AM   |  #3  
zaphodbeeb's Avatar
Senior Member
Betelgeuse
Thanks Meter: 47
 
294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
or you can use revone
10th October 2013, 11:10 AM   |  #4  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,361
 
2,296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaphodbeeb

or you can use revone

it is my understanding that revone does not work on hboots greater than 1.44,so you need to downgrade hboot to have that option.

use whatever means you wish,this is another way to skin the cat.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th October 2013, 11:38 AM   |  #5  
zaphodbeeb's Avatar
Senior Member
Betelgeuse
Thanks Meter: 47
 
294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty1223

it is my understanding that revone does not work on hboots greater than 1.44,so you need to downgrade hboot to have that option.

use whatever means you wish,this is another way to skin the cat.

I can use revone to do this also on 1.54 without a problem. This method is much easier however, and leaves no tracks. Any chance of a script to do this. More Kudos 2 u.
Last edited by zaphodbeeb; 12th October 2013 at 10:52 AM.
17th October 2013, 01:22 PM   |  #6  
russel5's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Yekaterinburg
Thanks Meter: 156
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
is it possible to do the same with the "Locked" "Relocked" ?
17th October 2013, 01:33 PM   |  #7  
theq86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nuremberg
Thanks Meter: 732
 
918 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by russel5

is it possible to do the same with the "Locked" "Relocked" ?

It should, since the lock state is also part of the misc partition. it is just a different offset.

Can someone who has unlocked or relocked state provide me with a dump of mmcblk0p7 ?
Last edited by theq86; 17th October 2013 at 01:36 PM.
17th October 2013, 01:34 PM   |  #8  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,361
 
2,296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by russel5

is it possible to do the same with the "Locked" "Relocked" ?

Yes. There is a thread for that here , and in the verizon and sprint forums

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk
Last edited by scotty1223; 17th October 2013 at 01:49 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th October 2013, 01:45 PM   |  #9  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,361
 
2,296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by theq86

It should, since the lock state is also part of the misc partition. it is just a different offset.

Can someone who has unlocked or relocked state provide me with a dump of mmcblk0p7 ?

The lock flag is in p3, not p7. Again, there is a thread for that already

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th October 2013, 03:57 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
wooow its cool

I will do it when i get s-off


Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty1223

Yes. There is a thread for that here , and in the verizon and sprint forums

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk

can you give me the link for this thread pleace ?
Last edited by killer18; 17th October 2013 at 04:41 PM.

The Following User Says Thank You to killer18 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
htc one, tampered flag
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One General by ThreadRank