Post Reply

[Q] Rooting ZTE Majesty

22nd November 2013, 04:22 PM   |  #31  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
zte
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZonEnder90

I'm still fresh to rooting and modding, but I wanted to ask, since the phone can be temporarily rooted only. When you have full access would down grading to 4.0 work, and if so would that make rooting it any easier? Or does it depend on the phone? I've tried most of the options shown here on the forum and like all of you nothing. Is there any point in trying to down grade? Is there any software that needs to be removed? Sorry if I'm wrong or asking too many questions.

thats a good question im really pretty new to the rooting process..but ya know that might not be a bad idea, so are you saying i should use CWM to downgrade the software? im really not positive and dont want to brick my phone in the process, so maybe we need a new thread??
22nd November 2013, 09:09 PM   |  #32  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Post ZTE Majesty/Savvy Rooting
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelology

thats a good question im really pretty new to the rooting process..but ya know that might not be a bad idea, so are you saying i should use CWM to downgrade the software? im really not positive and dont want to brick my phone in the process, so maybe we need a new thread??

If possible, I'm hoping someone else with more experience sees this and can offer advice. But I just got the ZTE Savvy, I had an LG Optimus Logic and OMG that thing took forever but SRSRoot worked for that but it was Ginger Bread. I haven't tried anything with Jelly Bean. But is 4.0 easier to work with? If it down grades wouldn't it lose the security features it had in 4.1.2? Cause it you flash/run 4.0 it should boot as 4.0 and not re-boot into 4.1.2, I'm just tossing ideas at this point, if I had a back up phone I'd play with it more so then I am now. But so far I've had nothing work.
23rd November 2013, 01:13 AM   |  #33  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Zte majesty
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZonEnder90

If possible, I'm hoping someone else with more experience sees this and can offer advice. But I just got the ZTE Savvy, I had an LG Optimus Logic and OMG that thing took forever but SRSRoot worked for that but it was Ginger Bread. I haven't tried anything with Jelly Bean. But is 4.0 easier to work with? If it down grades wouldn't it lose the security features it had in 4.1.2? Cause it you flash/run 4.0 it should boot as 4.0 and not re-boot into 4.1.2, I'm just tossing ideas at this point, if I had a back up phone I'd play with it more so then I am now. But so far I've had nothing work.

I understand what youre saying, but i think id prefer to keep jelly bean on the phone root it and unlock some other features, so im still playing with it downloaded all the files and digging through them currently, trying to find booleans that i can change for an easy fix or viewing applications that are running to determine which one is preventing a permanent root, Im sure it wouldnt be an issue to install ginger bread on the device, I'm strill trying to figure out how the actual dalvik software works in conjunction with the operating system. i feel like a NOOB!! Hopefully you were able to at least root it with the impactor i uploaded, if not this is the exact steps.

1.power off phone
2. power on while holding the center of the volume button, until you see the password lock screen with safe mode at the bottom.
3.. on your pc make sure impactor is not open before you plug in the android to the pc.
4. plug usb to pc( debugging should be disabled for adb to work)
5 open up impactor.exe
6.click start( if you dont see any boxes pop up everything went ok, if you get errors, reboot the phone into safemode again.follow steps 1 -6)
7.power off phone
8. without booting into safe mode perform steps 3 - 6
9 check root( again if you dont see any boxes pop up after its done its good to go for about 30 mins.until supersu is uninstalled by the wiper app integrated into jelly bean.


**UPDATE PERMANENT ROOT IN SAFE MODE LOL***
Last edited by thelology; 23rd November 2013 at 03:12 AM. Reason: update
The Following User Says Thank You to thelology For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd November 2013, 08:30 PM   |  #34  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
ZTE Majesty
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelology

I understand what youre saying, but i think id prefer to keep jelly bean on the phone root it and unlock some other features, so im still playing with it downloaded all the files and digging through them currently, trying to find booleans that i can change for an easy fix or viewing applications that are running to determine which one is preventing a permanent root, Im sure it wouldnt be an issue to install ginger bread on the device, I'm strill trying to figure out how the actual dalvik software works in conjunction with the operating system. i feel like a NOOB!! Hopefully you were able to at least root it with the impactor i uploaded, if not this is the exact steps.

1.power off phone
2. power on while holding the center of the volume button, until you see the password lock screen with safe mode at the bottom.
3.. on your pc make sure impactor is not open before you plug in the android to the pc.
4. plug usb to pc( debugging should be disabled for adb to work)
5 open up impactor.exe
6.click start( if you dont see any boxes pop up everything went ok, if you get errors, reboot the phone into safemode again.follow steps 1 -6)
7.power off phone
8. without booting into safe mode perform steps 3 - 6
9 check root( again if you dont see any boxes pop up after its done its good to go for about 30 mins.until supersu is uninstalled by the wiper app integrated into jelly bean.


**UPDATE PERMANENT ROOT IN SAFE MODE LOL***

heres an updated cydia impactor 0.9.14 with the new superuser 3.1.3 works pretty good, I had to load it on my own server the upload on here is giving me issues so here it is GEEKQUO.COM, just copy and paste that in the browser. So far its lasted longer than the last, still trying to figure out permanent, im also thinking on making an apk that uses cydia impactor directly from the sd card, a portable version would be perfect in the meantime, until a permanent root process is found, just incase youre out and about.

P.S I didnt even originally try this one in safe mode, just booted up and installed, of course if you have an issue just follow the directions above.
1st December 2013, 06:38 AM   |  #35  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelology

heres an updated cydia impactor 0.9.14 with the new superuser 3.1.3 works pretty good, I had to load it on my own server the upload on here is giving me issues so here it is GEEKQUO.COM, just copy and paste that in the browser. So far its lasted longer than the last, still trying to figure out permanent, im also thinking on making an apk that uses cydia impactor directly from the sd card, a portable version would be perfect in the meantime, until a permanent root process is found, just incase youre out and about.

P.S I didnt even originally try this one in safe mode, just booted up and installed, of course if you have an issue just follow the directions above.

UPDATE** Got rid of the majesty, downgraded to the galaxy centura, permanent root Poot method http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2348559 !! Good luck i started reading about Elf and relro and threw majesty to the android gods!!
2nd December 2013, 01:50 PM   |  #36  
Junior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I too got rid of my ZTE Majesty.
Walmart black Friday got the Samsung Galaxy S3 VERIZON edition and rooted it and I am good to go.
I would not have spent $399 on one for Straight Talk but for the $299....well I weighed how good the ZTE performed for me on the road and I always kept coming to the conclusion that if my MetroPCS Galaxy S3 would have worked on 4G (T-mo) or even 3G while roaming on Sprint (I get 1X and voice/text only) I would not have spent the money BUT I like my S3 and wanted the same while on the road. So 3G is not so bad on Straight Talk with unlimited voice/text and 2.5GB data, it will be better than the ZTE in my opinion.
So in the end I am out the $160 I paid to Straight Talk for it but much happier with another SG3.
I have a Samsung SCH-S738C and the ZTE Majesty to get rid of. So if someone is interested PM me. Both for 2 c-notes. Come as a package deal.
philmiami
20th December 2013, 12:19 AM   |  #37  
Junior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
ZTE z750c Savvy
I was wondering if you would know, since you have discovered how to root your ZTE device, how to root the ZTE Savvy a.k.a. ZTE z750c. If could show or tell me i would appriciate it very much. thank you
11th January 2014, 01:23 PM   |  #38  
Junior Member
Flag Evansville, IN
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Following up by a month or so on the thread, I just attempted oneclickroot's software to see if it had been updated as of late but it still does not work. I assume, since it seems to be a phone that most people wouldn't buy, it won't be kept up on as much as others. However I'd love to see root on this phone if nothing more than to remove the bloatware and allow this phone to function at a decent speed.

Bump.
11th January 2014, 11:12 PM   |  #39  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverasx

Following up by a month or so on the thread, I just attempted oneclickroot's software to see if it had been updated as of late but it still does not work. I assume, since it seems to be a phone that most people wouldn't buy, it won't be kept up on as much as others. However I'd love to see root on this phone if nothing more than to remove the bloatware and allow this phone to function at a decent speed.

Bump.

I don't know if you guys know this but I was playing with the temp root and I did find out you can edit the settings.db in /data/data i forget the rest of the path but it seems the you can edit the SQLITE databases and the changes stick after reboot though i kinda wonna know how you can fastboot with the zte majesty ive been looking all over for details because it seems the bootloader is locked ;(
17th January 2014, 06:50 PM   |  #40  
JJ5150's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Still waiting
need a solution plz. bump
Last edited by JJ5150; 17th January 2014 at 07:37 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank