FORUMS

Xiaomi Sold 34.7 Million Phones In 6 Months

2015 has been a phenomenal year for Xiaomi so far. With a stellar rise in 2014, 2015 saw … more

Sprint Reacts To Jab From T-Mobile

America’s cellular network space has always been a battle of the big four: Verizon, AT&T, … more

Floating Apps with Rovers – XDA App Review

There are a lot of great launchers to help customize your phone. Some Launchers allow … more

What Features Do You Look for in a Gallery App?

With so many different options to choose from, finding the right Gallery app may be a … more

Rom update guide?

8 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By insaneclown23, Junior Member on 17th December 2005, 12:34 PM
Thread Deleted Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello everyone im new to the forum, i have a t mobile vario, i have managed to unlock it curtusy of lokiwiz unlock 0.2a. i have a few questions if someone could help me on

1. on the unlocker software there is a option of CID unlocking, what is this?

2. is there any differences between the different variations of the wizard, 02 mini, tmobile vario, kjam, qtek.... which has the better firmware??

3. can i put either kjam or qtek firmware on my vario?

Many thanks peeps :lol:
 
 
17th December 2005, 01:33 PM |#2  
tdodd's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London/Essex
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Speaking as an MDA Vario owner who has reflashed with the k-jam ROM (and now can't go back!) I would say the only benefit of changing ROM is to enable 802.11g network access, which T-Mobile disabled in software.

There appear to be no other benefits. On the downside there are features that come with the Vario that do not work with the k-jam ROM. e.g. the email setup wizard does not work. Hardly a showstopper but an example. There is also an error message on resetting about elatepushservices.exe not found or not signed. Again, it doesn't seem to cause a problem but why klutz your machine up without a good reason to do so? The version numbers of everything that comes with the Vario also seem to be higher than the k-jam ROM, which I'm guessing is a good thing.

Unless you simply must have 802.11g connectivity, as well as 802.11b, my recommendation would be to leave well alone. It will also make warranty support much easier.
17th December 2005, 04:15 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
birmingham
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
oh ok so is that the only major difference then. i find my vario isn't that stable. my device currently reads

rom version 1.3.2.2 enu
rom date 9/25/05
radio version 01.04.10
protocol version 4.0.13.17
extrom version 1.3.2.102

did u use ftp://ftp.clubimate.com/ for your firmware?
17th December 2005, 05:28 PM |#4  
tdodd's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London/Essex
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by insaneclown23

oh ok so is that the only major difference then. i find my vario isn't that stable. my device currently reads

rom version 1.3.2.2 enu
rom date 9/25/05
radio version 01.04.10
protocol version 4.0.13.17
extrom version 1.3.2.102

did u use ftp://ftp.clubimate.com/ for your firmware?

I did use the clubimate ftp ROM and my equivalent figures, with the Vario extended ROM remaining, are....

rom version 1.1.9.3
rom date 9/16/05
radio version 01.01.10
protocol version 4.0.13.16
extrom version 1.3.2.102

so all my version numbers are lower than yours excep the extended ROM, which I saved from my Vario.

I don't recall the Vario ROM being less stable than the k-jam but you need to be very careful what software you install as there is a lot of stuff that is not 100% WM5 compatible. It might install and it might run but it might also crash or destabilise your machine. I have only installed the T-Nobile supplied GPRS monitor, Total Commander, TomTom 5.21 and a couple of GPS utilities and that's it.

As soon as you start throwing in today plugins and other system utilities that are less than 100% WM5 compatible you are asking for trouble, IMHO.
17th December 2005, 05:46 PM |#5  
JayRayMee.NL's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Zoetermeer
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hi there,

I just looked on the FTP, but is there any Dutch K-Jam/Qtek 9100 ROM available for the MDA Vario?

Thanks!!

Jeremy.
17th December 2005, 06:30 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag München
Thanks Meter: 4
 
Donate to Me
More
on the ftp i can see:

RUU_Prodigy_1030710_110_10410_Qtek_NLD_Ship.exe

-> uploads/htc wizard

this is right for you
17th December 2005, 06:48 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayRayMee.NL

Hi there,

I just looked on the FTP, but is there any Dutch K-Jam/Qtek 9100 ROM available for the MDA Vario?

Thanks!!

Jeremy.

Just check the XDA-Dev. FTP site.
There you can find the Dutch rom which greddy pointed out.

ftp.xda-developers.com
user = xda
pass = xda
17th December 2005, 06:56 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
birmingham
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
hmmm by the looks of it i might hold out until theres some newer rom updates with significant improvements. at the mo it looks like theres only a few tweeks and i dont wana risk bricking my vario.

t mobile released updates for the mda compact and mda II http://t-mobile.iris-global.com/mdas.html

maybe they'll release some for the vario???
18th December 2005, 02:56 PM |#9  
bill_viper's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kalamata
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
For us we own an english version of Qtek 9100 in which site we'll find the future ROM Updates?
18th December 2005, 03:16 PM |#10  
OP Junior Member
birmingham
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
have you tried xda developers ftp site? ftp://xda-developers.com/ or dont qtek have a support area?
Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes