FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[UPDATE-3][ROM][4.2] KitKat for Optimus One

697 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,107
 
Post Reply Email Thread

KitKat for Optimus One P500!
I am not kidding. KitKat is optimized for devices with 512mb of RAM.

But wait! This is not Android 4.4. This is Android 4.2.2 (CM10.1.5 with HALO))) ) with KitKat experience!
Almost like KitKat.

Features:
  • Android 4.4 KitKat experience
  • CM10.1.5 with HALO)))
  • KitKat Play Store
  • KitKat Play Services
  • KitKat Home (trimmed)
  • KitKat Google Now (trimmed)
  • etc, etc...

Whats Working:
  • Everything in CM10.1.5
  • HALO)))
  • Google apps
  • Everything else

Bugs:
  • WiFi Battery drain (kernel 3+ problem)
  • Google Now sometimes force closes on search
  • Google Now Voice Search gives FC (will be fixed soon )
  • PlatLogo gives a FC. Will be fixed in next update.
  • All ARMv7 features (Gesture typing in stock keyboard, Voice recognition, PhotoSphere, etc..

Screenhots:
Google Now:


Home:



Tips:
  • To enable Google now in home screen, go to home, settings and turn on Google Now
  • To get better UI and UX, change the density from 160 to 145.
  • To see Android version as 4.4 in About phone, change the Android version in build.prop to 4.4.
  • To get better Ui and UX with updated Android version, do both the steps.
*To get back original values, revert the changes.

Downloads:

Base ROM
Installation:
  • Download the Zip and place it in your SD card
  • Reboot into recovery
  • Wipe everything (Not necessary for CM10.1.5 or 10.1.6 but recommended)
  • Then flash the zip in your SD card
  • After it is completed, reboot it (First boot can take a bit of time, as long as 10 mins. So have patience)
  • Enjoy!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-05-13-22-06.png
Views:	44531
Size:	43.9 KB
ID:	2374407   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-05-13-22-14.png
Views:	44156
Size:	25.8 KB
ID:	2374408   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-05-13-31-59.png
Views:	43969
Size:	43.5 KB
ID:	2374409   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-05-13-32-09.png
Views:	43792
Size:	25.9 KB
ID:	2374410   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-05-13-32-15.png
Views:	43599
Size:	20.4 KB
ID:	2374411   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-05-13-32-31.png
Views:	43467
Size:	59.5 KB
ID:	2374412   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-05-13-32-49.png
Views:	43136
Size:	22.3 KB
ID:	2374413   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-05-17-55-45.png
Views:	43119
Size:	59.6 KB
ID:	2374414   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-06-11-43-24.png
Views:	42975
Size:	48.6 KB
ID:	2374418   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-05-18-52-10.png
Views:	43238
Size:	144.1 KB
ID:	2374419   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-05-13-44-32.png
Views:	43157
Size:	181.6 KB
ID:	2374429   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-05-13-44-45.png
Views:	43036
Size:	81.9 KB
ID:	2374431   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-06-11-10-57.png
Views:	43576
Size:	248.6 KB
ID:	2374432  
The Following 45 Users Say Thank You to rharshit For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rharshit Ad-Free
 
 
6th November 2013, 11:15 AM |#2  
rharshit's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 1,107
 
More
Updates, Changelogs and Patches
Updates:
Don't need to flash the whole ROM again. Just flash the latest Update though recovery.
  • Update 1
  • Update 2
  • Update 3
    (Some users have reported a bootloop after installing this update. Be sure to make a nandroid backup before installing this update.)
    EDIT: Refer this.

Changelog:
  • Update 1
    • Added gradient statusbar
    • Added gradient Navigation Bar
    • Partially ported KitKat Platform Logo
  • Update 2
    • Fixed Platform Logo issue (Used to Force Close)
  • Update 3
    • Added KitKat clock
    • Changed some visuals
    • Added many tweaks and scripts for smoother and lag-free experiance
    • build.prop tweaks for performance and quality
      (NOTE: Density and android version will revert back to orignal.)

Coming up next:
  • KitKat gradient Statusbar(In Update 1)
  • Google Now fix
  • KitKat camera (trimmed)

Sent from a device running KitKat
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to rharshit For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rharshit Ad-Free
6th November 2013, 12:38 PM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
This phone still under developement why not 10.1.6 of CM?
6th November 2013, 01:33 PM |#4  
rharshit's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 1,107
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carmeloseven

This phone still under developement why not 10.1.6 of CM?

CM 10.1.6 is already out. Check this.
But it doesn't have HALO))). So i chose CM10.1.5
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rharshit For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rharshit Ad-Free
6th November 2013, 11:41 PM |#5  
itouchables's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
A working google now...soo downloading this

sent fro my rooted kindle fire hd 7 with twerp and kinology rom installed
7th November 2013, 01:29 AM |#6  
itouchables's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by itouchables

A working google now...soo downloading this

sent fro my rooted kindle fire hd 7 with twerp and kinology rom installed

lags alot and google now doesn't really work........but thanks for trying man
7th November 2013, 09:31 AM |#7  
rharshit's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 1,107
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by itouchables

lags alot and google now doesn't really work........but thanks for trying man

It lags in the start. But stable afterwards. And for Google now, what isnt working?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rharshit For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rharshit Ad-Free
7th November 2013, 09:16 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,154
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhar****

It lags in the start. But stable afterwards. And for Google now, what isnt working?

Downloading this to see what you did! How do you intend to "fix" GoogleSearch?

I have Velvet installed on my cm-10.2 (user app). It would FC almost immediately using the libgoogle_recognizer_jni_1.so from the thread. This is closed-source armv7 stuff so sort of cuts us out.

EDITED POST: What I thought was happening was simply wrong: Not the 4.4 Velvet. With what I did have, the following still valid:

That armv7 precompiled close source stuff kills us (if Google is to support "older" devices, it needs to make armv6 precompiled jni's available or make it all open source so we can do them!). However, when I was experimenting with my current configuration, somehow, Google Search's speech input came up. "Initializing en-US." (I have that srec but NOT symlinked in), and then ... it took my voice and used it. Just once, but it did do it! Not an illusion. So maybe this can be fixed up.

EDIT: Conspicous by it absense is the "PrebuiltGMSCore." I did install that, user upgrade to my previous gmscore. Needed by Play and the thread claims that its "prebuilt" version is required by Google Now.
8th November 2013, 01:53 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Ext2 partition with cronmod causes boot loop, but nice integration of Google now

nvm. my partitions were messed up
The Following User Says Thank You to Kfire21 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Kfire21 Ad-Free
8th November 2013, 04:35 AM |#10  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 897
 
More
Google Search FC Fix
Hey heres how to fix google search forces closes! Long press the home screen, select Settings. Select Voice. Select Language to change the default. Change to another language, I choose English – UK. Hit Home. Do a Google Search. Repeat the first three steps. Change back to English – US.

Enjoy
8th November 2013, 09:06 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,154
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arDroid.99

Hey heres how to fix google search forces closes! Long press the home screen, select Settings. Select Voice. Select Language to change the default. Change to another language, I choose English – UK. Hit Home. Do a Google Search. Repeat the first three steps. Change back to English – US.

Enjoy

This has been bandied about on the thread, sometimes successful, sometimes not.

In our case, I doubt you will see any benefit. I tried it. First off, there is no offline recognition currently working on our device. No off-line options in settings (if one can get that far), no language kits, nothing.

At our stage, Google Search FC trying to initialize/access off-line voice recognition which is armv7 compiled. Bingo. Edit: The Rashed's old modded version apparently neutralized that call. Clicking mic would, of course, FC.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes