Post Reply

Linux on Universal (Update #4)

OP pasztorl

19th March 2008, 12:50 PM   |  #1951  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Lightbulb Re: Sluggish keyboard after suspend
The sluggish keyboard problem is caused by the KPKDI (key debounce) register getting reset to the default 100ms when the machine is suspended. WM must set it to a lower value.

If the keyboard is annoying anyone else, grab devmem2 from http://wiki.neilandtheresa.co.uk/Tit...ion=AttachFile and run:

devmem2 0x41500048 byte 0x20

Caution: devmem2 writes directly to RAM, and can break stuff.

I'd like to patch the kernel, but I'm having some problems with the handhelds.org CVS source (/dev/ttyS0 doesn't work - am I doing something wrong?). goxboxlive: would you be able to share your kernel source?
Last edited by datathief; 19th March 2008 at 03:31 PM. Reason: Use 0x20, not 0x0.
19th March 2008, 02:24 PM   |  #1952  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
1,434 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by datathief

The sluggish keyboard problem is caused by the KPKDI (key debounce) register getting reset to the default 100ms when the machine is suspended.

Hmm. i'll check the wince value. We need to modify the pxa27x_keyboard driver to support
DKIN anyway.

Quote:

I'd like to patch the kernel, but I'm having some problems with the handhelds.org CVS source (/dev/ttyS0 doesn't work - am I doing something wrong?).

Look at the 'dmesg' output after trying 'cat /dev/ttyS0'. If you'd like to patch something,
post the patch here, or use #htc-linux at freenode.
19th March 2008, 03:31 PM   |  #1953  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Thumbs up Re: Sluggish keyboard after suspend
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr2

Hmm. i'll check the wince value. We need to modify the pxa27x_keyboard driver to support
DKIN anyway.

The value set by WM is 0x20 (32 milliseconds).

Quote:
Originally Posted by cr2

Look at the 'dmesg' output after trying 'cat /dev/ttyS0'. If you'd like to patch something,
post the patch here, or use #htc-linux at freenode.

I'll check dmesg tonight. Using devmem2 is fine for now, and I don't have any other reason to build my own kernel at the moment.

Code:
--- pxa27x_keyboard.c.orig
+++ pxa27x_keyboard.c
@@ -92,6 +92,8 @@ init_kpc(struct platform_device *dev)
        kpc |= KPC_MIE;         /* matrix keypad interrupt enabled */
 
        KPC = kpc;
+
+       KPKDI = 0x20;           /* keypad debounce interval (32ms) */
 }
19th March 2008, 04:08 PM   |  #1954  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
1,434 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by datathief


Code:
+
+       KPKDI = 0x20;           /* keypad debounce interval (32ms) */
 }

Yes, we should probably save and restore KPKDI over suspend like it's done in
http://svn.openezx.org/branches/kern.../pxa-kbd.patch
19th March 2008, 08:57 PM   |  #1955  
Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 14
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
@goxboxlive:
when should we expect a new release here http://www.linuxtogo.org/~htcpxa/htc...sal/index.html ?
Thanks
21st March 2008, 01:44 AM   |  #1956  
Senior Member
Flag Oslo
Thanks Meter: 14
 
443 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cagnulein

@goxboxlive:
when should we expect a new release here http://www.linuxtogo.org/~htcpxa/htc...sal/index.html ?
Thanks

When Trolltech fix their rotation bug. When, it's not up to me.
22nd March 2008, 03:50 PM   |  #1957  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
1,434 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by datathief

I don't have any other reason to build my own kernel at the moment.

I have updated the handhelds.org CVS to save and restor the KPKDI values over suspend/resume
26th March 2008, 09:33 PM   |  #1958  
domi007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 44
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
NON-WWE support?
Hi EB!
I've a simple question:
I read in the Readme from the openmoko .cab file, that this cab file is only for WWE devices.
Is it an old readme, or it is true, and I have to change my original WM5 GERMAN ROM to a WWE ROM?
PLeasE answer me, I want to keep my original ROM!
THX!
DOMy
27th March 2008, 08:30 PM   |  #1959  
domi007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 44
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by domi007

Hi EB!
I've a simple question:
I read in the Readme from the openmoko .cab file, that this cab file is only for WWE devices.
Is it an old readme, or it is true, and I have to change my original WM5 GERMAN ROM to a WWE ROM?
PLeasE answer me, I want to keep my original ROM!
THX!
DOMy

I solved it:
With WinCE CAB MANAGER I edited the English path (Program Files) to the German one (Programme).
It is fully functional.

DOMy
28th March 2008, 09:18 PM   |  #1960  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by goxboxlive

When Trolltech fix their rotation bug. When, it's not up to me.

what is the Task id of the bug?, I can't find it in the Task Tracker from Trolltech.

Thanks

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes