Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] using AT&T provided unlock code...

OP esmith13

11th November 2013, 01:23 AM   |  #11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by esmith13

After fighting with AT&T on the phone for almost a month due to (in my opinion) unfair policy changes, I got them to provide me with unlock codes for my and my wife's phones. I want to make use of them asap and put this matter to rest. Unfortunately, the AT&T instructions say to use the codes i have to insert a non-AT&T sim card to force the phone to prompt me for code entry. At this time I do not have a non-AT&T sim. Is there any way to get to the unlock pin screen without having a "foreign" sim card on hand?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Would you mind sharing how you got them to unlock your phone, I have been trying for a while now without any success.
11th November 2013, 11:59 PM   |  #12  
0p3nsrc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 166
 
438 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
When I had my old smartphone, I called att and told them I'd be visiting my sister in London, and that I'd want to use prepaid SIM cards, as it would be cheaper than international rates. They had no problem unlocking it (galaxy s).

Sent from my TARDIS
12th November 2013, 06:19 AM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Flag Laguna Beach
Thanks Meter: 42
 
374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0p3nsrc

When I had my old smartphone, I called att and told them I'd be visiting my sister in London, and that I'd want to use prepaid SIM cards, as it would be cheaper than international rates.

^ This. Has yet to fail me.
12th November 2013, 02:00 PM   |  #14  
ChongoDroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 2,444
 
5,060 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Lol it doesn't "mess up" your phone. *sigh* stop scaring the kiddies

5T4Y FR05TY
12th November 2013, 04:00 PM   |  #15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Usually no prompt means the phone isn't actually locked. There's a ton of instances when a network simply missed a handset and failed to lock it. For anyone I'd say test your phone first. Make sure it is locked before going through the process of unlocking it.

Also, this works on a number of older Samsung's, not too sure if it'll work on newer models, but you can type a command that targets the network lock, which is #0111*code# - you simply replace "code" with the code AT&T or anyone else gives you and it should unlock the phone. Someone might be able to confirm this as possible or not for the newer Samsung's?
12th November 2013, 05:59 PM   |  #16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
I tried the traveling story. That does not work anymore. CS, including supervisor refused.
15th November 2013, 04:17 AM   |  #17  
I have a AT&T Galaxy S4 SGH-i337 on MF3 and Region Lock Away unlocked the Region & SIM. I tested it with a T-Mobile SIM. The OP of Region Lock DOES NOT CLAIM it will work with the SGH-i337 but I have unlocked a S3(SGH-i747) a S4(SGH-i337) and a Galaxy TAB 2 (SGH-i497) it was worth the few bucks.

Region Lock Away

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using xda app-developers app
17th November 2013, 11:01 PM   |  #18  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceTwig

I have a AT&T Galaxy S4 SGH-i337 on MF3 and Region Lock Away unlocked the Region & SIM. I tested it with a T-Mobile SIM. The OP of Region Lock DOES NOT CLAIM it will work with the SGH-i337 but I have unlocked a S3(SGH-i747) a S4(SGH-i337) and a Galaxy TAB 2 (SGH-i497) it was worth the few bucks.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using xda app-developers app

I can also verify that this works with the AT&T Samsung Galaxy S4 i337 on MF3.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
at&t, unlock
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes