Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more

Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more

Try Some Android Lollipop Applications on Your Device

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been officially announced and lucky users of Google Nexus 5 … more

AutoCon Manages Your Connections to Perserve Battery Life

As we’ve talked about in the past, battery life is still somewhat of a sore … more
Post Reply

[Q] using AT&T provided unlock code...

OP esmith13

11th November 2013, 12:23 AM   |  #11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by esmith13

After fighting with AT&T on the phone for almost a month due to (in my opinion) unfair policy changes, I got them to provide me with unlock codes for my and my wife's phones. I want to make use of them asap and put this matter to rest. Unfortunately, the AT&T instructions say to use the codes i have to insert a non-AT&T sim card to force the phone to prompt me for code entry. At this time I do not have a non-AT&T sim. Is there any way to get to the unlock pin screen without having a "foreign" sim card on hand?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Would you mind sharing how you got them to unlock your phone, I have been trying for a while now without any success.
11th November 2013, 10:59 PM   |  #12  
0p3nsrc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 162
 
430 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
When I had my old smartphone, I called att and told them I'd be visiting my sister in London, and that I'd want to use prepaid SIM cards, as it would be cheaper than international rates. They had no problem unlocking it (galaxy s).

Sent from my TARDIS
12th November 2013, 05:19 AM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Flag Laguna Beach
Thanks Meter: 40
 
364 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0p3nsrc

When I had my old smartphone, I called att and told them I'd be visiting my sister in London, and that I'd want to use prepaid SIM cards, as it would be cheaper than international rates.

^ This. Has yet to fail me.
12th November 2013, 01:00 PM   |  #14  
ChongoDroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 2,401
 
4,973 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Lol it doesn't "mess up" your phone. *sigh* stop scaring the kiddies

5T4Y FR05TY
12th November 2013, 03:00 PM   |  #15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Usually no prompt means the phone isn't actually locked. There's a ton of instances when a network simply missed a handset and failed to lock it. For anyone I'd say test your phone first. Make sure it is locked before going through the process of unlocking it.

Also, this works on a number of older Samsung's, not too sure if it'll work on newer models, but you can type a command that targets the network lock, which is #0111*code# - you simply replace "code" with the code AT&T or anyone else gives you and it should unlock the phone. Someone might be able to confirm this as possible or not for the newer Samsung's?
12th November 2013, 04:59 PM   |  #16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
I tried the traveling story. That does not work anymore. CS, including supervisor refused.
15th November 2013, 03:17 AM   |  #17  
I have a AT&T Galaxy S4 SGH-i337 on MF3 and Region Lock Away unlocked the Region & SIM. I tested it with a T-Mobile SIM. The OP of Region Lock DOES NOT CLAIM it will work with the SGH-i337 but I have unlocked a S3(SGH-i747) a S4(SGH-i337) and a Galaxy TAB 2 (SGH-i497) it was worth the few bucks.

Region Lock Away

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using xda app-developers app
17th November 2013, 10:01 PM   |  #18  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceTwig

I have a AT&T Galaxy S4 SGH-i337 on MF3 and Region Lock Away unlocked the Region & SIM. I tested it with a T-Mobile SIM. The OP of Region Lock DOES NOT CLAIM it will work with the SGH-i337 but I have unlocked a S3(SGH-i747) a S4(SGH-i337) and a Galaxy TAB 2 (SGH-i497) it was worth the few bucks.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using xda app-developers app

I can also verify that this works with the AT&T Samsung Galaxy S4 i337 on MF3.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
at&t, unlock
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes