Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,734,036 Members 51,825 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Root] TwerkMyMoto 1.0 (no unlock root)

Tip us?
 
jcase
Old
#1  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 6745
Posts: 3,552
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Root] TwerkMyMoto 1.0 (no unlock root)

Root exploit for Motorola Razr I (x86)

Source code:
https://github.com/CunningLogic/TwerkMyMoto

To use:
adb push su /data/local/tmp/
adb push rootme.sh /data/local/tmp/
adb push TwerkMyMoto.jar /data/local/tmp/
adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh
adb shell /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh
adb reboot
adb shell /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh


This includes SuperSu 1.65 su binary, the updated binary does not work on this device, no idea why (i don't have the device)
Attached Files
File Type: zip TwerkMyMoto-1.0.zip - [Click for QR Code] (88.5 KB, 3933 views)
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
My Bitcoin address : 1Newifz6yETTmbziCsZZstmHHPH6ejNr75
The Following 51 Users Say Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dagoban
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 163
Join Date: Nov 2012
Thanks a lot @jcase for this.

Again folks, this means no more BL unlock is needed to get root on our phones!
Works great on my phone (EU version)
The Following User Says Thank You to dagoban For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
FelipeBHZ
Old
(Last edited by FelipeBHZ; 24th November 2013 at 09:49 PM.) Reason: Already tested.
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 67
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Belo Horizonte
Update (24th Nov 2013): IT'S Working! Tested on a Razr i (Brazilian) with Stock Retail SML29 ROM.

Tested root on Terminal Emulator.

------------------------------------------
The Following User Says Thank You to FelipeBHZ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
laurorual
Old
#4  
laurorual's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 265
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Salvador
thats awesome news! is there any way to lock my bootloader again?
PRESS THE THANKS BUTTON IF I HELPED YOU
MY DEVICES:
 

Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9 GT-P7300:
- Rom: Stock ICS ROM
- Kernel: Stock Kernel

Samsung Galaxy SIII Mini i8190L:
- Rom: CyanogenMod 11.0
 
dagoban
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 163
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by laurorual View Post
thats awesome news! is there any way to lock my bootloader again?
This is not going to unlock your bootloader, only giving you root access that can easily be reverted in case you need to send it back to Moto for repair. That's why this is so awesome!
 
laurorual
Old
#6  
laurorual's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 265
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Salvador
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagoban View Post
This is not going to unlock your bootloader, only giving you root access that can easily be reverted in case you need to send it back to Moto for repair. That's why this is so awesome!
I know that
But I have unlocked my phone to root with the old method and i want to lock it back

Enviado de meu XT890 usando Tapatalk
PRESS THE THANKS BUTTON IF I HELPED YOU
MY DEVICES:
 

Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9 GT-P7300:
- Rom: Stock ICS ROM
- Kernel: Stock Kernel

Samsung Galaxy SIII Mini i8190L:
- Rom: CyanogenMod 11.0
 
grampsharry
Old
#7  
grampsharry's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 48
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by laurorual View Post
I know that
But I have unlocked my phone to root with the old method and i want to lock it back

Enviado de meu XT890 usando Tapatalk
this is a method by HSD Pilot

Relock your Bootloader

You'll need an complete JB (4.1.2) Fastboot File of your Region for doing that!

Copy the content of the [XT890] Re-lock Bootloader.zip into the extracted Fastboot File Folder

Relock your Bootloader - see last thread

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2398347

---------- Post added at 07:20 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:18 AM ----------

So will I need to unlock bootloader to install a recovery?
The Following User Says Thank You to grampsharry For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
laurorual
Old
#8  
laurorual's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 265
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Salvador
Quote:
Originally Posted by grampsharry View Post
this is a method by HSD Pilot

Relock your Bootloader

You'll need an complete JB (4.1.2) Fastboot File of your Region for doing that!

Copy the content of the [XT890] Re-lock Bootloader.zip into the extracted Fastboot File Folder

Relock your Bootloader - see last thread

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2398347

---------- Post added at 07:20 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:18 AM ----------

So will I need to unlock bootloader to install a recovery?
If i lock my bootloader again, it will wipe my internal storage, right? Will I loose my current root? And more important, will that message saying that bootloader was unlocked be gone? If not, i have no reasons to re-lock it

Enviado de meu XT890 usando Tapatalk
PRESS THE THANKS BUTTON IF I HELPED YOU
MY DEVICES:
 

Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9 GT-P7300:
- Rom: Stock ICS ROM
- Kernel: Stock Kernel

Samsung Galaxy SIII Mini i8190L:
- Rom: CyanogenMod 11.0
 
jeppo
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Mar 2006
Amazing!!! It works without unlocking the bootloader!
However, I had to replace the su binary with an older one (provided in the other rooting thread) and I'm currently using Superuser instead of SuperSu.
Your su was correctly copied to xbin but it was not working

Now I have removed unwanted system apps and installed Greenify without loosing the warranty. Win win!!!

Sent from my XT890
 
ciberbeb
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 84
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toulouse
My bootloader is still locked, can I use this and then install a custom recovery or unlocking is still needed for a custom recovery?
Thanks

Thread Tools
Display Modes