Post Reply

Hard brick? Soft brick? I need help

28th November 2013, 04:29 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Please treat a newb gently...

I rooted my phone earlier tonight, followed all the instructions here, and everything went well. I flashed cwm recovery (I was most comfortable with it from an old phone.)

The first thing I did was back up my stock configuration for future use.

I then rebooted and started removing some bloatware. (The real reason I wanted to root.) I got a little overanxious and removed one app I decided I wanted back, so I rebooted to recovery and restored my backup with no problem.

Then, my phone wouldn't boot up out of recovery. So, I removed the battery and tried a simple boot - no luck. To make a long story short, I've booted to recovery multiple times. I've wiped and restored multiple times. No matter what I do though, the phone will not boot to anything but recovery.

Help!
28th November 2013, 04:34 AM   |  #2  
ProtheusIRC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Thomasville
Thanks Meter: 55
 
393 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Sounds a bit like the bootloader didn't unlock.

[/url]
28th November 2013, 04:36 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
How can I fix it?
28th November 2013, 05:44 AM   |  #4  
Macrodroid's Avatar
Senior Member
BLACK CANYON CITY - Hell's DoorStep!
Thanks Meter: 648
 
1,415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by butch50

How can I fix it?

Ezunlock 1.2... Do you still have root?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda premium
28th November 2013, 10:54 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Correct me if I'm wrong, but Ezunlock requires me to boot to the ROM. I can only boot to cwm recovery.

And yes, I rooted before trying to unlock the bootloader.
Last edited by butch50; 28th November 2013 at 11:25 AM. Reason: Posted without all the correct info.
28th November 2013, 04:12 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Sounds to me like you need to odin back to stock and start over. Guessing you didn't get the bootloader unlocked.
1st December 2013, 11:57 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackwolf77

Sounds to me like you need to odin back to stock and start over. Guessing you didn't get the bootloader unlocked.

I've been away from a computer for a couple of days, but that's what I did. Worked like a charm, thanks.
1st December 2013, 10:42 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Followed [GUIDE] Root for Jelly Bean 4.1.1 or 4.1.2, cannot mount sdcard to get .tar
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackwolf77

Sounds to me like you need to odin back to stock and start over. Guessing you didn't get the bootloader unlocked.

I followed the directions exactly on this excellent xda site's "[GUIDE] Root for Jelly Bean 4.1.1 or 4.1.2" with all the correctly downloaded and installed files but when I get to "Step 4 - Rooting Your Device and Unlocking Your Bootloader Quote: Using your custom recovery flash the download you chose above from Step 1 (#3)"
I go to "install zip from sdcard" and I select it, and go to "choose zip from sdcard" I get "E: Can't mount / sdcard/".
So what does one do to "odin back to stock and start over"? Are the sequences of the steps in that guide in correct order? Thanks.
2nd December 2013, 04:28 AM   |  #9  
shimp208's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1,567
 
2,249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by boldred

I followed the directions exactly on this excellent xda site's "[GUIDE] Root for Jelly Bean 4.1.1 or 4.1.2" with all the correctly downloaded and installed files but when I get to "Step 4 - Rooting Your Device and Unlocking Your Bootloader Quote: Using your custom recovery flash the download you chose above from Step 1 (#3)"
I go to "install zip from sdcard" and I select it, and go to "choose zip from sdcard" I get "E: Can't mount / sdcard/".
So what does one do to "odin back to stock and start over"? Are the sequences of the steps in that guide in correct order? Thanks.

To clarify after you flashed the bootchain through Odin did you then proceed to the step to flash a custom recovery? If you did, at the end of the custom recovery step did you wind up in recovery and do you have the SuperSU .zip on your phone? Keep in mind those instructions in that thread and the recovery image should work but are outdated. If things still don't work for you I would Odin back to stock to give yourself a fresh slate and then check out beanstown106's 1-click CASUAL package that will painlessly root, unlock your bootloader, and flash custom recovery for you.
The Following User Says Thank You to shimp208 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd December 2013, 03:17 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackwolf77

Sounds to me like you need to odin back to stock and start over. Guessing you didn't get the bootloader unlocked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shimp208

To clarify after you flashed the bootchain through Odin did you then proceed to the step to flash a custom recovery? If you did, at the end of the custom recovery step did you wind up in recovery and do you have the SuperSU .zip on your phone? Keep in mind those instructions in that thread and the recovery image should work but are outdated. If things still don't work for you I would Odin back to stock to give yourself a fresh slate and then check out beanstown106's 1-click CASUAL package that will painlessly root, unlock your bootloader, and flash custom recovery for you.

Thank you for your reply.
Yes, I did have the SuperSU zip on the sdcard in the phone but I got the error message and continue to do so even after formatting two different sdcards, using the CWM that was installed. The sdcards won't mount in the phone. I can still use the phone (it's one week-old now) but the "custom" screen now appears when turning it on. I'd just like to get the stuff off of the phone that I put on there during this botched process. Apparently, after reading about this situation, this problem appears to be that the CWM corrupts itself and has to be uninstalled, re-installed, uninstalled and etc. until it finally correctly does it what it was supposed to do. This seems too risky now. This is an expensive phone and I thought that I had selected the best option for rooting, unlocking the bootloader and installing a ROM after searching for a week, so I was prepared for problems. I've rooted/unrooted devices before. But I wasn't prepared for this kind of error at this level. I still may try it using TWRP Recovery 2.4.3.0 rather than the ClockworkMod Touch Recovery 6.0.2.3. But, first, I need to know how to get back "to stock" -- the way it was before I tried this. The firmware of my phone is VRBMF1 and I do have a "d2vzw_VRBMF1_firmware.zip". I would deeply appreciate tips on how to use Odin to undo the changes made to my phone and restore it back to where it was before I tried this.
Thank you for your reply.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank