Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more
Post Reply

[Q] Enabling other languages?

OP JanHavlicek

1st December 2013, 12:42 PM   |  #1  
JanHavlicek's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Prague, Czech Republic
Thanks Meter: 3
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2004
More
Hi,
I'm currently waiting for my Moto G, it should come in next few days. So I want to ask you - is it possible to enable the other languages, which is normally available on the other Android devices? I mean european languages like Czech, Slovak, Bulgarian and so on...

I've found some general guide for that there, but I'm not sure, if that will work - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2281254

Could you please try it or tell me the options? The fastest solution is usually to flash some other ROM with full language support by default, but this device is so new, that the custom ROMs currently don't exist.

Thank you for your help
2nd December 2013, 04:42 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Motorola don't plan to add Czech language even in Kit kat update
Have anyone followed the guide? I guess phone need to be rooted to follow this guide, right?
2nd December 2013, 06:27 PM   |  #3  
_ghiottone's Avatar
Senior Member
Miskolc
Thanks Meter: 93
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JanHavlicek

Hi,
I'm currently waiting for my Moto G, it should come in next few days. So I want to ask you - is it possible to enable the other languages, which is normally available on the other Android devices? I mean european languages like Czech, Slovak, Bulgarian and so on...

I've found some general guide for that there, but I'm not sure, if that will work - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2281254

Could you please try it or tell me the options? The fastest solution is usually to flash some other ROM with full language support by default, but this device is so new, that the custom ROMs currently don't exist.

Thank you for your help

The simplest way is the morelocale2 app - with this you can see that which language is "installed".

The hardest way - translate the apps. - Previously I translated the Motorola Atrix 2 ICS & JB's factory rom and the MIUI V5 to Hungarian Language. I'm sorry to read that in Hungarian wont officially planned the distribution of MOTO G - therefore I start the Hungarian translation on Friday.

This is the method:

You need java jdk(after install you need integrate the place of the java file to the enviroment value - path) and the latest android sdk (just copied the adt-bundle-windows_x86-64 to the C:\Program Files) installed on your computer. Then you need the latest apktool.1.5.2, and the install package fromhere - coiped the unziped archives to C:\Windows

I use TotalCommander - i put the apktool.jar and the app which is need to be translateted (and the framework files) in one folder, then "cmd" comand and install the framework files first:

apktool if framework-res.apk

Then decompile the apps (67 apps has language files, for some reason the DeskClock.apk not working):

outwards:

apktool d-s xy.apk

In the decomplied folder there is a res folder in this, you need to create a new folder - values-cz (czech) or values-sl (slovak). You need to see what in the original values-zh-rCN (China is the folder I'm writing it because it was already a good starting point on the Atrix 2) or in the values-zh-rTW and you must create the same files in the values-cz folder (arrays.xml, strings.xml and plurals.xml). If there are raw-zh-rCN folder in the res folder, you need to create a raw-cz folder, and make the same files in it.

I think I will use the some quad-core Qualcom telephone 4.3 apps starting point.

If you complete one .apk, you most recompile the folder

inward:

apktool b xy (only the folder name does not have the .apk's end)

then locate the folder [dist] subfolder in there you need to delete xy.apk (this is new. APK, but it is good for nothing, because they incorrectly signed)

Now there is a folder [build] folder, which contains the [apk] subfolder, now have to TotalCommander and one side - say the left - is the original apk that smooth TC in megnyitol and in there [META-INF] + AndroidManifest.xml is copied to - its sub-pages [apk], overwriting the files that are in there - it's just right.

Now and back again:

apktool b xy

and [dist] folder now has the right to use.

if the cmd drop an error log, you need to find the errors, which is displayed on the command line.
The Following User Says Thank You to _ghiottone For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th December 2013, 06:56 AM   |  #4  
Member
Mountain View, CA
Thanks Meter: 62
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
I have just received the global GSM version of the the Moto G sold in the US (system version 14.14.16.falcon_umts.Retail.en.US), which only comes with 4 languages:
- English
- Spanish
- Portuguese
- French

This paucity of languages is just absurd.

Since it is a gift for a relative in China, I needed the phone in Chinese. Luckily, the UK ROM does include Chinese as a system language (which I discovered at http://blog.clove.co.uk/2013/11/22/m...o-g-languages/), so I flashed the UK ROM following the instructions at http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2542219 .
14th December 2013, 03:46 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Xiamen
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jichuan89

I have just received the global GSM version of the the Moto G sold in the US (system version 14.14.16.falcon_umts.Retail.en.US), which only comes with 4 languages:
- English
- Spanish
- Portuguese
- French

This paucity of languages is just absurd.

Since it is a gift for a relative in China, I needed the phone in Chinese. Luckily, the UK ROM does include Chinese as a system language (which I discovered at http://blog.clove.co.uk/2013/11/22/m...o-g-languages/), so I flashed the UK ROM following the instructions at http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2542219 .

Thank you very much! just orderd my Moto G on Amazon for my mom. This one helps me a lot to get the Chinese language back.
20th December 2013, 12:45 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Tallinn
Thanks Meter: 24
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...relocale&hl=en will help You.
20th December 2013, 05:31 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Question
any one know if the 4.2.2 update added any new languages?

thanks!
24th December 2013, 05:56 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mocsharp

any one know if the 4.2.2 update added any new languages?

thanks!


Yes, new languages included, Chinese both simplified and traditional, plus other European languages, spanish, italian, dutch, polish, portguese,
24th December 2013, 07:03 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag An Giang
Thanks Meter: 24
 
130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dongdong

Yes, new languages included, Chinese both simplified and traditional, plus other European languages, spanish, italian, dutch, polish, portguese,

But don't have vietnamese i need it .
24th December 2013, 01:21 PM   |  #10  
Ja_som's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Banská Bystrica, Slovakia
Thanks Meter: 285
 
800 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Donate to Me
More
I'm also waiting for this phone. I ordered it from amazon.de, now i know that my language will not be there, nevermind, English is also good. And i think, when/if will be CM or OMNI out for Moto G, more language will be there.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
czech, language, moto g, pack, slovak
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto G Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank