FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[TUTORIAL] [4.1+] [UPDATE :- 20.01.2014] Make 5 Button Navigation Bar Mod

10,528 posts
Thanks Meter: 15,932
 
By Rajeev, Senior Member on 3rd December 2013, 09:36 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Friends

Here is a Little Tutorial for making a 5 Button Navigation Bar mod. This tutorial should work in all sony devices that running Android version 4.1 and above. Tested in 4.4.4 too. Works well.


Quote:

Lets Begin

U all know that the Default Navigation Bar comes with only 3 Buttons. Back , Home and Recent Apps. So this little tutorial will help u to add extra two buttons (Very useful at some times) to the Navigation bar. One is Power Button and Next is Menu Button.

Quote:

Things Needed:-

  • One PC
  • Little Knowledge of Decompiling, Editing XML Files and Signing Apks
  • Notepad ++
  • Some Brains


Note :- U can get the Notepad++ and Apktool for De compiling from here. Also there is a nice tutorial too..
.

(1) Decompile ur SystemUI.apk and go to res/drawable-xxhdpi folder.Then download ,extract and move the " TWO " attached pngs to that folder. It will ask for replace. Click yes. Do the same in “drawable-xhdpi“ folder too. Not necessary. But just do.

For Device With XHDPI Add the Pngs to XHDPI Folder

For Device With HDPI Add the Pngs to HDPI Folder

(2) Then go to res/values folder and find ids.xml file. Open it with Notepad++ ( Right Click and then Edit With Notepad++ ) . Then add this line at the end

Quote:

false
false



Save it and close it.

(3) Now go to res/values/strings.xml and add this line at the end

Quote:

Lock



save the xml file and close it..

(4) Then go to res/layout and find navigation-bar.xml and open it with Notepad++. U can find this



Just delete the marked lines and paste these lines to there

Click Here

Then save it and scroll down and u will see this



Just delete the marked lines and paste these lines there

Click Here

Save it and close the xml file

(5) Recompile and sign the SystemUI.apk and use it.. U will get 5 Button Navigation Bar…


Credit :

@sandy7 for Basic Tips

DOWNLOADS

(1) Power_Button_XXHDPI.zip

(2) Power Button for XHDPI Devices. http://d-h.st/tkg Thanks to My Brother @DaRk-L0rD
Last edited by Rajeev; 5th January 2015 at 01:30 AM.
The Following 82 Users Say Thank You to Rajeev For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
3rd December 2013, 10:17 AM |#2  
dipesh1502's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag MUMbai
Thanks Meter: 3,810
 
Donate to Me
More
The much needed guide bro.
Thanx to u for posting it
The Following User Says Thank You to dipesh1502 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd December 2013, 10:35 AM |#3  
Rajeev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chennai , I N D I A
Thanks Meter: 15,932
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dipesh1502

The much needed guide bro.
Thanx to u for posting it

U are welcome my bro
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Rajeev For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd December 2013, 02:19 PM |#4  
Rajeev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chennai , I N D I A
Thanks Meter: 15,932
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamkani

Is it working on Stock rom??

From Xperia Z LTE (C6603) by Kaniboy

Yes it will. But u need a deodexed stock rom for that.. Because this mod needs deodexed apks
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to Rajeev For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd December 2013, 03:50 PM |#5  
Rajeev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chennai , I N D I A
Thanks Meter: 15,932
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamkani

Okay... im on it. but u hv to help me...

From Xperia Z LTE (C6603) by Kaniboy

Sure no problem.. Always happy to help
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Rajeev For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th December 2013, 01:39 AM |#6  
Rajeev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chennai , I N D I A
Thanks Meter: 15,932
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamkani

Ill upload u my system ui.. Will u do that for meee

From Xperia Z LTE (C6603) by Kaniboy

Yes sure
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Rajeev For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th December 2013, 04:38 AM |#7  
mnzel's Avatar
Member
Flag Kathmandu
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
hello razeev bro,

Does this work with Pac rom ?
4th December 2013, 04:47 AM |#8  
Rajeev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chennai , I N D I A
Thanks Meter: 15,932
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnzel

hello razeev bro,

Does this work with Pac rom ?

Nope it will not....

But u can try...
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Rajeev For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th December 2013, 09:58 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
change buttons
How you can change the order of the buttons?
4th December 2013, 10:26 AM |#10  
Rajeev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chennai , I N D I A
Thanks Meter: 15,932
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohoram

How you can change the order of the buttons?

Changes the lines navigation-bar.xml that i provided...
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Rajeev For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th December 2013, 01:45 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rajeev

Changes the lines navigation-bar.xml that i provided...

You mean the order of the text?

each button are two lines of program, right?
Last edited by mohoram; 4th December 2013 at 01:46 PM. Reason: ampliacion

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes