5,600,292 Members 35,992 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Flashable USB OTG Modules THAT WORK! (Now Including Ethernet Support)

Tip us?
 
je2854
Old
(Last edited by je2854; 20th August 2013 at 03:15 PM.)
#1  
je2854's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 158
Posts: 545
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montgomery, TX (birthplace of the Tx Flag!)
Default Flashable USB OTG Modules THAT WORK! (Now Including Ethernet Support)

I am not responsible for your bricked phone/SD. If blame me I will laugh at you.
You should know by now the disclaimer and blah blahs!


I have looked EVERYWHERE (google and fastboot is your friend) for these and tested multiple times
different modules and found the ones that work. They only program -should- be needed as it is the only
one I use is a program that is free on the Google Play Store is Paragan NTFS&HFS+ Program. *Root of course*

I have tested this on my phone itself and I am using my external mouse,
keyboard and external drive as we speak!

My personal set-up is a Targus PAEPRO090 so called "docking station" that has
5 USB HiSpeed Ports
LAN Adapter
Printer Port
Serial Port
3.5 mm Audio Jack (although I have yet to get it to work)

What this does

INSTALLS:

FUSE driver (Full NTFS Read Write support for ARM devices)
isofs (To allow mounting ISO and image files)
nls_utf8 (for mounting a CIFS windows share and allows extra features)
NTFS modules (to allow android to mount NTFS)
and a module that allows for NTFS USB mounting


Version 2 has Ethernet Drivers AND my OTG drivers all in one.

If things do not start up (ethernet) go to the terminal and enter

Code:
su
usb_ethernet
Attached Files
File Type: zip ICS-USB-OTG-modules.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.52 MB, 972 views)
File Type: zip USB-OTG-modules-v2.zip - [Click for QR Code] (2.96 MB, 505 views)
If I have helped you in anyway, please hit the Thanks button (:

LG G2
Moment, OG EVO4G, OG DROID, D2G, D3, D4, Droid Charge, ThunderBolt, Rezound, DROID X, HTC DNA, DROID Razr


Want 20GB free cloud storage? Copy.com
The Following User Says Thank You to je2854 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
vyruz1986
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 69
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Heist op den Berg

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks for sharing this!
One question: Can you actually take a regular USB OTG cable (with micro USB on one side and a female 'regular' USB A connector on the other side) like this:


And use it to connect e.g. a USB flash drive to your phone?
Because AFAIK the Droid 4 USB port doesn't provide power output, I once tested it with mine with a special splitted USB cable that get's the power elsewhere, which worked, but not with a regular USB OTG cable.

Thanks
 
je2854
Old
#3  
je2854's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 158
Posts: 545
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montgomery, TX (birthplace of the Tx Flag!)
You need a cable that is split and provides power externally.

Sent from my DROID4 using xda premium
If I have helped you in anyway, please hit the Thanks button (:

LG G2
Moment, OG EVO4G, OG DROID, D2G, D3, D4, Droid Charge, ThunderBolt, Rezound, DROID X, HTC DNA, DROID Razr


Want 20GB free cloud storage? Copy.com
 
dbreezy187
Old
(Last edited by dbreezy187; 8th November 2012 at 05:23 PM.)
#4  
dbreezy187's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 265
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Somerset
I took the otg cable as shown striped a portion of the plastic back, took a standard charger (5.1v 850 mA) spliced in the red and black works fine with keyboard, mouse and flash drive(for me and my generic three). A powered USB hub works also just phone wont charge with the powered USB hub i have...
...would love to know how to get a dock type reaction when plugged into a powered otg cable without a third party app on a stock d4... ima take my dock apart see how they have it wired...

Sent from my DROID4 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to dbreezy187 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
je2854
Old
#5  
je2854's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 158
Posts: 545
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montgomery, TX (birthplace of the Tx Flag!)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbreezy187 View Post
I took the otg cable as shown striped a portion of the plastic back, took a standard charger (5.1v 850 mA) spliced in the red and black works fine with keyboard, mouse and flash drive(for me and my generic three). A powered USB hub works also just phone wont charge with the powered USB hub i have...
...would love to know how to get a dock type reaction when plugged into a powered otg cable without a third party app on a stock d4... ima take my dock apart see how they have it wired...

Sent from my DROID4 using xda app-developers app
I believe it uses the 5th (pin 4) USB wire that "normally" isnt't used. But when you make the OTG Cable that requires external power make sure you connect up the power to the part you hook your external device and not the side you hook up to your phone... Get what im trying to say? lol

NORMAL
Pin 1: VCC
Pin 2: data-
Pin 3: data+
Pin 4 Not connected/unused/sense
Pin 5: ground

OTG Cable
Pin 1: VCC
Pin 2: data-
Pin 3: data+
Pin 4 ground (Pin 5)
Pin 5: ground
If I have helped you in anyway, please hit the Thanks button (:

LG G2
Moment, OG EVO4G, OG DROID, D2G, D3, D4, Droid Charge, ThunderBolt, Rezound, DROID X, HTC DNA, DROID Razr


Want 20GB free cloud storage? Copy.com
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to je2854 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dbreezy187
Old
#6  
dbreezy187's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 265
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Somerset
Yes this i understand i have made several otg cables for friends with quick connect power supply for use with a hub.. but a few would like a dock made rather then pay the 90$ i figured i could make one. When plugged into either of the two docks your prompted with a choice for a dock type office, bedside, charge only.. this is what I wish to achieve without any app installed or root as some of my moto friends don't wish to root... I can put a dock together for about 25$ with USB hub, hdmi and audio jack just no reaction from phone when plugged in... would even settle for landscape on home screen when plugged in...thank you kindly for any info... haven't yet had the time to take my two apart...
Sent from my DROID4 using xda app-developers app
 
Rick#2
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 123
Posts: 172
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Victoria
I'm pretty sure the dock is detected by those 4 pins on the bottom right of the battery on the phone; a magnet is placed inside the dock in a spot that would line up with the phone's sensors.

II've never tried to do this but I'm sure it wouldn't be very difficult.



Sent from my XT894 using xda premium
 
dbreezy187
Old
#8  
dbreezy187's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 265
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Somerset
Ok... so i took a look at the inside of the standard HD dock (no USB hub) it appears that a resistor on pin 4 prior to the ground triggers the dock mode... I was interrupted during the "examination" of the guts so the size of the resistance is not know yet and it appears pins 2, 3, and 5 are split off into the audio jack more details yet to come...

Sent from my DROID4 using xda app-developers app
 
Peeet
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick#2 View Post
I'm pretty sure the dock is detected by those 4 pins on the bottom right of the battery on the phone; a magnet is placed inside the dock in a spot that would line up with the phone's sensors.

II've never tried to do this but I'm sure it wouldn't be very difficult.



Sent from my XT894 using xda premium
Actually I think those 4 pins are for the inductive charging battery cover option.
 
zeroktal
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 106
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default Cable needed

Can anyone point me to an exact place I can buy a cable? I'd prefer one that I can plug into a usb charger on one end, then my phone/usb otg device on the others. I'd appreciate it. I see so many places that say use this cable, then someone says no it doesn't work.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes