Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,814,481 Members 54,108 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] AT&T LG G2 Tethering Help

Tip us?

Pogee
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Default [Q] AT&T LG G2 Tethering Help

Hello,

I just purchased a AT&T LG G2 and None of the WiFi or USB Tethering Apps that I have tried from the Google Play store work on the phone.
Is this a problem with this AT&T LG G2 phone or is there a way to get tethering to work. I am not technically inclined, just a phone user.

I would gladly pay someone to help me get WiFi or USB tethering to work on my phone.

In OC, CA

Casey060492
Old
Thanks Meter 2
Have you rooted your device yet? If not, then I don't know of any way to get it working.

If you are rooted, I was able to change a sql database value to unlock tethering (as I am unlocked on T-Mobile on a D800).

Sent from my LG-D800 using Tapatalk

coalsi
Old
Thanks Meter 0
Hey Casey, I have the same device, looking to unlock tethering on T-Mobile as well, can you explain what you did?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey060492 View Post
Have you rooted your device yet? If not, then I don't know of any way to get it working.

If you are rooted, I was able to change a sql database value to unlock tethering (as I am unlocked on T-Mobile on a D800).

Sent from my LG-D800 using Tapatalk

kimtyson
Old
Thanks Meter 538
OP-
If you haven't rooted or done anything to the phone then take it to the ATT store and have them look into it. It may just be a bad phone. Warranty return it.
If you have rooted (and your wifi worked before) then do what I did. Install AEON v3 in the ATT Dev thread. The tether works perfectly, just like the entire ROM. I take another step though. I use ibVPN so they don't know what my data is. I don't really think you even need a VPN because the ROM is not based on the ATT base, so it isn't even looking for your tether.
Please use search before posting your question.