Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] AT&T LG G2 Tethering Help

OP Pogee

5th December 2013, 11:35 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Hello,

I just purchased a AT&T LG G2 and None of the WiFi or USB Tethering Apps that I have tried from the Google Play store work on the phone.
Is this a problem with this AT&T LG G2 phone or is there a way to get tethering to work. I am not technically inclined, just a phone user.

I would gladly pay someone to help me get WiFi or USB tethering to work on my phone.

In OC, CA
6th December 2013, 09:15 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Have you rooted your device yet? If not, then I don't know of any way to get it working.

If you are rooted, I was able to change a sql database value to unlock tethering (as I am unlocked on T-Mobile on a D800).

Sent from my LG-D800 using Tapatalk
11th December 2013, 03:38 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Hey Casey, I have the same device, looking to unlock tethering on T-Mobile as well, can you explain what you did?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey060492

Have you rooted your device yet? If not, then I don't know of any way to get it working.

If you are rooted, I was able to change a sql database value to unlock tethering (as I am unlocked on T-Mobile on a D800).

Sent from my LG-D800 using Tapatalk

11th December 2013, 04:09 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag York, Pa
Thanks Meter: 541
 
1,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
OP-
If you haven't rooted or done anything to the phone then take it to the ATT store and have them look into it. It may just be a bad phone. Warranty return it.
If you have rooted (and your wifi worked before) then do what I did. Install AEON v3 in the ATT Dev thread. The tether works perfectly, just like the entire ROM. I take another step though. I use ibVPN so they don't know what my data is. I don't really think you even need a VPN because the ROM is not based on the ATT base, so it isn't even looking for your tether.
The Following User Says Thank You to kimtyson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th December 2013, 06:12 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by coalsi

Hey Casey, I have the same device, looking to unlock tethering on T-Mobile as well, can you explain what you did?

I used SQLite to modify the file: /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db

In the system database there is an entry with ID: 2771, named tether_entitlement_check_state. Originally the value was set to 5 but I changed it to 0. I then rebooted and tethering was working great for me.
The Following User Says Thank You to Casey060492 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th December 2013, 07:59 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey060492

I used SQLite to modify the file: /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db

In the system database there is an entry with ID: 2771, named tether_entitlement_check_state. Originally the value was set to 5 but I changed it to 0. I then rebooted and tethering was working great for me.

I just checked on my Sprint G2 and, unfortunately, there's so such setting in that DB. I looked at the other tables in the settings.db and only "tether_dun_required" (set to 1) in global and "tethering_time" (set to 600000) in system.
11th December 2013, 08:06 PM   |  #7  
raikol's Avatar
Member
Flag Duluth
Thanks Meter: 31
 
93 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pogee

Hello,

I just purchased a AT&T LG G2 and None of the WiFi or USB Tethering Apps that I have tried from the Google Play store work on the phone.
Is this a problem with this AT&T LG G2 phone or is there a way to get tethering to work. I am not technically inclined, just a phone user.

I would gladly pay someone to help me get WiFi or USB tethering to work on my phone.

In OC, CA

You will either have to pay AT&T for tethering or root your phone and install a custom rom. They have a tether entitlement check on their phones.

Sent from my LG D-800 with Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to raikol For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th December 2013, 08:52 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Buffalo
Thanks Meter: 47
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by James7Bond007

I just checked on my Sprint G2 and, unfortunately, there's so such setting in that DB. I looked at the other tables in the settings.db and only "tether_dun_required" (set to 1) in global and "tethering_time" (set to 600000) in system.

Any chance setting tether dun required to "0" might help? Id.check myself but im still waiting on zv8 update before I root.
12th December 2013, 01:01 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigpappa

Any chance setting tether dun required to "0" might help? Id.check myself but im still waiting on zv8 update before I root.

I'm guessing this wouldn't do the trick, as dun is "dial up networking" I believe. I'd test it, but I'm actually unsure of how to *change* the database. It turns out sqlite generally doesn't come on production (non-dev) builds of Android, so it wasn't on the G2. I tried pushing some sqlite3 binaries I found online to the phone, but none would run. I then tried pulling the settings.db from the phone and reading it with sqlite3 for Windows. This would also let me change the setting, but I'm not sure if I could just push the settings.db file back onto the phone since there were other files in the same directory (settings.db.[some other extensions]) ... and I wanted to avoid corrupting the db to the extent that I bricked my phone (as unlikely as that may have been).

If anyone knows of a sqlite3 binary that will run on the G2, I'd be happy to give the dun setting a try (but again, I'm not optimistic this will do the trick for us Sprint users).

Also, I just got the zv8 update this morning, so you should be getting it any day now. I didn't root my phone 100%; I just copied over the g2_security file from the ioroot 1.1 zip so that adb would give me a root shell. Apparently installing the su binary and superuser.apk trips some sort of flag on the G2 that voids your warranty and may or may not be resettable.
Last edited by James7Bond007; 12th December 2013 at 01:15 AM. Reason: more info
13th December 2013, 05:52 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
AT&T LG G2 Tether Mod Works!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey060492

I used SQLite to modify the file: /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db

In the system database there is an entry with ID: 2771, named tether_entitlement_check_state. Originally the value was set to 5 but I changed it to 0. I then rebooted and tethering was working great for me.

This worked perfectly for me,however, it wasn't ID 2771 for my phone. I used search term "tether" in the system database and found the field under ID 854. I changed the value to 0 and it works great using the stock Tether application that comes with the phone. You may need to reboot the phone after making the change..

I could never get either wifi tether or wifi tether TrevE Mod to work for me.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes