FORUMS

How Strong Is Your Connection? – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Everyone is always talking about their bars. How many bars of WiFi do they … more

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

Give a Folder under 'Programs' a Icon, like 'Games'

260 posts
Thanks Meter: 8
 
By jpiek, Senior Member on 3rd February 2006, 11:10 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Yes, you can give a folder an icon, IE if you make a subfolder under 'programs' , but file explorers also show them :

create a textfile 'icon.lnk' and enter in it :

1#ceshell.dll,-162

save it and make it hidden....

It looks like the -162 is a code for the icon entry, some files take only '0',
(1#repllog.exe,0) ceshell.dll for example allows -142 -144, -147 and -148

Now on to linking other icons to links (program's, mortscripts !), read someting about it here
 
 
3rd February 2006, 11:13 PM |#2  
vijay555's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Witch Space
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Johan: I've posted on this elsewhere. The number is an icon offset within the dll/exe. You need an icon viewer/scanner too find the icon offset you need.

V
4th February 2006, 12:01 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Hmm, nice, but how do i find these offsets ?
4th February 2006, 12:12 AM |#4  
vijay555's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Witch Space
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Because I love you

Be careful, sometimes it goes off hunting for half an hour. It's best to count downwards then upwards. You'll get the hang of it! PHM Tools has a very useful dll full of icons.

BTW, don't forget the first numbers before the # are the length of the shortcut string, ie everything after the #. I don't think it ever makes any difference, but it'd make for an interesting buffer overflow exploit I guess.

30#"\Windows\PHMShell32.dll,-173"

http://forum.xda-developers.com/view...=222846#222846

Phew
Since we're on the subject, I might as well throw this one in for completeness.
You can use an icon NOT from the executable (ie not the default one) by using this kind of syntax:

65#ctlpnl.exe cplmain.cpl,4?\Storage Card\!Install\ftxPBrowser.exe,0

65=length of shortcut string
ctlpnl bit is an example of how to access control panel features (change the 4. You can access tabs where appropriate thus: 4,1 = 1st tab)
Everything after the ? is used to identify the target icon offset in ANOTHER dll/exe.
Change the 0 to specify an offset.
So in this example you're showing the memory control panel, using ftx's default icon.

Enough already! VJOkButt beckons...

V
Attached Files
File Type: exe icon_viewer.exe - [Click for QR Code] (12.5 KB, 3845 views)
4th February 2006, 10:19 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vijay555

Because I love you /


:shock: ops: :roll: :lol:


Quote:

PHM Tools has a very useful dll full of icons.

Got it yesterday !

Quote:

BTW, don't forget the first numbers before the # are the length of the shortcut string, ie everything after the #. I don't think it ever makes any difference, but it'd make for an interesting buffer overflow exploit I guess.

I think it's used for shortcuts that point at "MSCALENDER"IE, not to an executable, to decide what's commandline, and what not...


Quote:

Phew
Since we're on the subject, I might as well throw this one in for completeness.
You can use an icon NOT from the executable (ie not the default one) by using this kind of syntax:

65#ctlpnl.exe cplmain.cpl,4?\Storage Card\!Install\ftxPBrowser.exe,0

YES ! that's what i was looking for ! I created some mortscripts, and if i put them in a Todaylauncher, they all have te same icon, now i can add individual icons !
4th February 2006, 04:09 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Works like a charm...

The PHM tools i d/l didn't have the dll with all the icons...
Seems i've misplaced the old one

On to a Icon hunt....

Btw, can you use a .bmp as icon, with offset 0 ?
4th February 2006, 04:13 PM |#7  
vijay555's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Witch Space
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Don't think so. Use something like Microangelo librarian and import your own bmps into a dll and use that. That's how I use claunch.
V
4th March 2006, 09:45 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
10
More
vijay.. your app's not finding any icons in ceshell.dll on my device - I'd imagine it's supposed to? :>
Tried shell32.exe as well.

It did find the icon for DeviceInformation.exe , though.

Oddly enough, a freeware desktop app has the same thing.. can't find anything in ceshell.dll / shell32.exe, but does find the DeviceInformation.exe icon (resource -103). Weird?
4th March 2006, 11:12 PM |#9  
vijay555's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Witch Space
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Hmm, never really tried it. Just tried Microangelo on rom dumps of the same files, and same findings. Will look into it on a real device I suppose... Any particular icons you're after?

V
5th March 2006, 12:12 AM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Wierd, here's my 'Harvest"



Internal Icons



From PHM Plus tools


[Edited: Created imges instead of links !]
5th March 2006, 08:08 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
10
More
vijay: naw, I was just checking to see if there would be an appropriate "Task Manager"-ish icon in there for a TaskMan shortcut for another thread Figured I'd use your utility to have it have a go at it, but went through -65535 with no luck

jpiek: yeah, I know there's tons of icon packs out there, but then the user would have had to download those first

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes