5,599,135 Members 33,951 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Kindle Fire 7" Root

Tip us?
 
jetfire158
Old
(Last edited by jetfire158; 9th December 2013 at 08:20 PM.)
#1  
jetfire158's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default [Q] Kindle Fire 7" Root

Hi all,

I'm new here, and I've been trying for the past few hours to root my Kindle Fire HD 7" so I can install a CM10.1 ROM and turn it into a google tablet. I've been searching the web for information, and I kept getting directed here so I decided I might as well join.

Anyway it seems the one method that works is the Bin4ry one, and I started following the instructions given on this site and others. However when I installed the driver, it said the installation was successful but when I clicked "Finish" a window popped up and told me the driver didn't install properly. Then I tried to execute the "Run Me" file, but it gave me this:

"Please connect device with enabled USB-debugging to your computer.
the system cannot find the path specified
doing a backup first, please confirm this on your device
the system cannot find the path specified
Done!"

Nothing happens on the Kindle Fire. But I checked the Device Manager, after I downloaded and installed a driver linked in a thread on this forum, it said the Kindle was USB-enabled interface. Anyone have any idea what the problem is, here? Thanks
 
stunts513
Old
#2  
stunts513's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 500
Posts: 1,777
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Braunfels, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Ok did you enable usb-debugging in the kindle's security settings? If you have try opening a command prompt and CD into the directory of the adb command in binary's root tool, run adb devices and see if the kindle is listed.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD running CM10.1 Tablet UI using xda-developers app
My Wallpaper Fix for KF2, KFHD 7", and KFHD 8.9" is HERE
Please Read the instructions and use the debugger if you run into errors.
My own modified adb drivers for just about all kindles (includes old twrp and cm versions) HERE
Tablet UI Patch for latest CM10.1 build HERE!

Please send complaints to /dev/null
 
jetfire158
Old
(Last edited by jetfire158; 10th December 2013 at 01:24 AM.)
#3  
jetfire158's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by stunts513 View Post
Ok did you enable usb-debugging in the kindle's security settings? If you have try opening a command prompt and CD into the directory of the adb command in binary's root tool, run adb devices and see if the kindle is listed.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD running CM10.1 Tablet UI using xda-developers app
Yep, USB-debugging is enabled. It's the same thing as enabling ADB, right? This is what I've done thus far. I'm running Windows 8, so I've disabled driver signature enforcement, and also installed the drivers. I've checked Device Manager---the system has recognized the Kindle as a Google Android ADB interface, and if I check adb devices in cmd prompt, the serial number of my Kindle is listed. Also created an adb_usb.ini file according to these instructions:

"open adb_usb.ini with notepad
(add on one line each!)
0x1949
0x006
save file."

The problem now is not that nothing happens on the Kindle when I run the root tool, I do get the option to restore data but it prompts me to enter a data encryption password. I researched this and a techleopard article said to enter my Amazon password, which I did but nothing happens. The data restore options (Restore or Do Not Restore) just grey out and the root tool just says "Running" for ever and ever. Tried some other root tools such as Quemp and Kindle Fire Utility, but neither worked and besides the more recent information I've seen have Bin4ry's as the only one that works on 7.4.6 which is the OS I am using.

EDIT: Okay, tried it again and for some reason this time the root tool ran successfully. I did a power reset, and ran a RootChecker, and it says it's rooted but I can't find the SuperUser app (the checker also could not find it). Was the root still successful?
 
stunts513
Old
#4  
stunts513's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 500
Posts: 1,777
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Braunfels, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Probably though I am throwing a guess that only the such binary is installed, look in the /system/xbin folder and see if the such binary is there, if you want to to retry the process just delete that file. I was going to mention the encryption password is whatever your lock screen code is set to.

BTW don't ever use kfu to try to root your kindle, it will hard brick it. Its designed only for kf1's.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD running CM10.1 Tablet UI using xda-developers app
My Wallpaper Fix for KF2, KFHD 7", and KFHD 8.9" is HERE
Please Read the instructions and use the debugger if you run into errors.
My own modified adb drivers for just about all kindles (includes old twrp and cm versions) HERE
Tablet UI Patch for latest CM10.1 build HERE!

Please send complaints to /dev/null
 
jetfire158
Old
(Last edited by jetfire158; 10th December 2013 at 06:43 AM.)
#5  
jetfire158's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by stunts513 View Post
Probably though I am throwing a guess that only the such binary is installed, look in the /system/xbin folder and see if the such binary is there, if you want to to retry the process just delete that file. I was going to mention the encryption password is whatever your lock screen code is set to.

BTW don't ever use kfu to try to root your kindle, it will hard brick it. Its designed only for kf1's.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD running CM10.1 Tablet UI using xda-developers app
Heh, actually after a LOT of messing around, and perusing several articles across the web and on xda, I've got it working. KFU didn't brick anything, just didn't work. My only regret is that I now can't access the HD quality movies I'd bought from Amazon because Amazon only allows downloading to the Kindle and the Kindle only, and my internet isn't fast enough to stream HD.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes