5,596,431 Members 39,980 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Weird problem; hoping I don't have to use warranty

Tip us?
 
AZDJedi
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto
Default [Q] Weird problem; hoping I don't have to use warranty

Hey all,

So after flashing a bunch of custom ROMs I reverted back to stock. Once I had stock I ignorantly upgraded OTA...I now have that damn Knox crap. Fine. But all of a sudden I can't hear any sound, anywhere, I can't play any video (YouTube or browser embedded), my camera video recorder doesn't function at all, my phone doesn't work, and who knows what else.

I've flashed back to stock multiple times with Odin, as well as tried my custom ROM of choice (SlimBean) and it's always the same. I have no idea what could have caused this and don't know how to get back to a functioning phone.

With my warranty now void I don't know what to do. TriangleAway said it worked but it didn't, it remains 18...I tried twice. I'm thinking I might just have to say to Telus that after I upgraded with their OTA it got messed so I tried flashing back to stock 18 times lol

Ideas?
 
AZDJedi
Old
(Last edited by AZDJedi; 10th December 2013 at 09:41 PM.) Reason: Update
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto
I just found out about the Best Buy Samsung centres. I'm going to go to them and see what happens!

UPDATE:
So the Samsung guy played with my phone for a bit and agreed it needed a flash, blah blah blah. He was about to do it and then asked if I rooted. I decided not to lie. He then went on to tell me it was against the integrity of his company to flash it for me. I tried a few different logical angles but he just kept saying no. Pretty lame since him helping wouldn't do anything except give me my phone back. If they don't want people flashing a phone that had previously been flashable then there should be some sort of front-facing warning for customers. If I had known that I would not be able to freely flash my phone I may have reconsidered Samsung.
 
AZDJedi
Old
(Last edited by AZDJedi; 11th December 2013 at 07:57 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto
I downloaded the new "stock" 4.3 and flashed that with Odin. Everything works again. Should I never flash a custom ROM again?!

EDIT:
The file I used was I337MVLUEMK6_I337MOYAEMK6_I337MVLUEMK6_HOME
 
rbedell
Old
#4  
rbedell's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 141
Posts: 373
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZDJedi View Post
I downloaded the new "stock" 4.3 and flashed that with Odin. Everything works again. Should I never flash a custom ROM again?!
Yeah don't, you now have a locked bootloader.
 
hnldriver77
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 45
Join Date: Jan 2012
Lightbulb possible sound fix ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZDJedi View Post
Hey all,

So after flashing a bunch of custom ROMs I reverted back to stock. Once I had stock I ignorantly upgraded OTA...I now have that damn Knox crap. Fine. But all of a sudden I can't hear any sound, anywhere, I can't play any video (YouTube or browser embedded), my camera video recorder doesn't function at all, my phone doesn't work, and who knows what else.

I've flashed back to stock multiple times with Odin, as well as tried my custom ROM of choice (SlimBean) and it's always the same. I have no idea what could have caused this and don't know how to get back to a functioning phone.

With my warranty now void I don't know what to do. TriangleAway said it worked but it didn't, it remains 18...I tried twice. I'm thinking I might just have to say to Telus that after I upgraded with their OTA it got messed so I tried flashing back to stock 18 times lol

Ideas?


i had the same issue, but i had no sound, no mic, no wifi, and no signal...

only way i got it back was to use the CDR-I337MUMUAMI1-20131121212713 mexican 4.3 update in odin,

then reflash the RWC-I337MVLUEMK6-20131125124040 canadian 4.3 rogers stock.

everything now works *but* its triggered the 0x1 knox BS..

Fyi... my counter is at 30 for trying everything under the sun i saw to get my phone back to "normal"

hope this helps...
 
AZDJedi
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto
I think the issue with the Knox security crap is the ROM version. Once I flashed 4.3 stock (the one Telus released last week) everything worked fine; if I flashed 4.2.2 (the one that came with the phone) it didn't. After putting 4.3 on, and learning that by using that ROM I could always return to normal, I decided to try SlimKat again. It worked!

I'm happy to have my custom ROM back...it's way better .

I'm waiting until the hackers figure out how to get rid of Knox. It's only a matter of time IMO.
 
TRusselo
Old
#7  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2719
Posts: 4,668
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZDJedi View Post
I think the issue with the Knox security crap is the ROM version. Once I flashed 4.3 stock (the one Telus released last week) everything worked fine; if I flashed 4.2.2 (the one that came with the phone) it didn't. After putting 4.3 on, and learning that by using that ROM I could always return to normal, I decided to try SlimKat again. It worked!

I'm happy to have my custom ROM back...it's way better .

I'm waiting until the hackers figure out how to get rid of Knox. It's only a matter of time IMO.
yup.. if you mentioned you were canadian, could have helped you sooner. we have had the 4.3 odin files for a couple weeks now. ( add your location to your profile )

screw knox. its built into the bootloader. and its not stopping us from flashing, it is not a priority at all for anyone to hack. Bootloaders are a pain to hack, and there is no benifit to hacking this UNLOCKED knox bootloader.


my trigger is tripped, i dont care. i have the extended smartphone care plan from bell. if i crack the screen, loose the phone or drop it in water, i get a new phone (or upgrade) for 160$. kinda hard to tell if a phone is tripped its flash counter if you cant read the screen....
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TRusselo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
AZDJedi
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRusselo View Post
yup.. if you mentioned you were canadian, could have helped you sooner. we have had the 4.3 odin files for a couple weeks now. ( add your location to your profile )...
I figured having "Telus" as my provider would be enough info. I've added Toronto though, thanks for the pointer

Ya, I don't really care about the Knox flag either. I have the red and yellow warning when my phone boots, but who cares...as long as my custom ROM works, I'm happy!

You pay $5 a month for the priviledge of paying $160 to replace your phone, right?
 
TRusselo
Old
#9  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2719
Posts: 4,668
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton

 
DONATE TO ME
missed the telus part.. lol

8 bucks but ya. already came in handy. broke my s3 screen after 8 months or so, got my s4 as a replacement for 160$ fee. a new screen off ebay for the s3 was 160$ plus risk of install to keep an s3.... ill upgrade.
 
AZDJedi
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRusselo View Post
missed the telus part.. lol

8 bucks but ya. already came in handy. broke my s3 screen after 8 months or so, got my s4 as a replacement for 160$ fee. a new screen off ebay for the s3 was 160$ plus risk of install to keep an s3.... ill upgrade.
That's 160 + (8*8+HST) = $232. Not bad I suppose.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes