XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] google experience launcher - grid size

Tip us?

mik_Schreiber
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Default [Q] google experience launcher - grid size

Hi, since 12.12.13 there is a new update of google search in playstore.
If i install this update, the google experience launcher changes the grid size (now i have less icons) and some widgets disappear or are resized.
Is there a possibility to change the grid size of the experience launcher desktop with a hack?

rabbitvcactus
Old
Thanks Meter 7
I would also like to know what has happened to the grid, as now I cannot have my homescreen as it used to be.
I wonder if this is anything to do with the new 'tablet mode' in the launcher. (install on an N7, then turn horizontally)
Funny, that the launcher is not officially supported on tablets!

For the time being, I have just reverted to GSearch 3.1.8. (or whatever it is!)

I am a developer, but I cannot find any reference to grid size in either the Launcher or Search APKs.

If you know, please reply

rabbitvcactus

mik_Schreiber
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbitvcactus View Post
I wonder if this is anything to do with the new 'tablet mode' in the launcher. (install on an N7, then turn horizontally)
There are there modes phone, phabet and tablet. With Android 4.4, tablet mode is not available anymore. To switch between different modes use this tool

I think that it does not depend on the tablet oder phone mode. Other user have the same problem on different devices. (home button not in the middle, widgets deleted and and ...)

crazy talk
Old
Thanks Meter 74
Hate to post in an older thread, but this is one of the first results when you start looking for ways to adjust the grid size.

GravityBox[KK] can change the grid size on the GEL launcher, but it's not perfect.

some widgets don't take to kindly to being squished down. like BeautifulWidgets.