Post Reply

[Guide] How to add banner in "About Phone" | Noob friendly

OP abo hani

13th December 2013, 04:08 PM   |  #1  
abo hani's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Latakia
Thanks Meter: 1,810
 
1,033 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Hello folks .... I’ve backed to xda after a looong time because exams
My new TUT for adding logo in "About Phone" .

Inspired by this THREAD

Credits :

@gravtec for inspiring big thanks for you bro .

What you need ? :
  • Latest APKTOOL package .
  • A brain .
  • PC .
  • Knowledge in decompiling and recompiling .

Lets start the GUIDE !

Resources
  • APKTOOL here .
  • Image Resolution : 700*215 .

Guide


First Part


  • Decompile Settings
  • Go to res/Layout folder
  • Download this file
  • paste it in Layout folder

Second Part


  • Copy the image to res/drawable folder
  • Rename it to logo and it must be "PNG" !
    Quote:

    EX: logo.png



Third Part


  • Go to res/xml
  • open device_info_settings.xml
  • Add this
    Quote:

    <PreferenceScreen android:layout="@layout/logo" android:key="od_logo" />

    after this line
    Quote:

    xmlns:settings="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/com.android.settings">

    EX :

    Quote:

    xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
    xmlns:settings="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/com.android.settings">
    <PreferenceScreen android:layout="@layout/logo" android:key="od_logo" />



SAMPLE


IF you see this Guide useful ... Hit thanks
The Following 48 Users Say Thank You to abo hani For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2013, 04:09 PM   |  #2  
abo hani's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Latakia
Thanks Meter: 1,810
 
1,033 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Reserved for future

More things will add for this feature
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to abo hani For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th December 2013, 04:51 PM   |  #3  
laura almeida's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Benicarló
Thanks Meter: 83
 
268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Does this works only in Sony Devices ?
The Following User Says Thank You to laura almeida For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th December 2013, 06:11 PM   |  #4  
safariking's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lelystad
Thanks Meter: 4,670
 
4,349 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by laura almeida

Does this works only in Sony Devices ?

I am wondering about that to
17th December 2013, 06:12 PM   |  #5  
herna's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 4,039
 
1,606 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by laura almeida

Does this works only in Sony Devices ?

No, it can works perfectly on another devices as well. That thread was created on Sony forum, but can be usable on you Galaxy s3. Cheers!
The Following User Says Thank You to herna For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th December 2013, 06:50 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 361
 
636 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by laura almeida

Does this works only in Sony Devices ?

Is supposed to work in all devices just becouse it is android CODE for all phone
The Following User Says Thank You to werty100 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th December 2013, 07:30 PM   |  #7  
Zerousen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Wow, this seems surprisingly simple enough. Can't wait to try this.
17th December 2013, 09:59 PM   |  #8  
Marília de Oliveira's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag City of God / City of Sun *-*
Thanks Meter: 442
 
621 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Help
Friend did not understand the tutorial ... can add some images!
17th December 2013, 11:00 PM   |  #9  
Childofthehorn's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag DFW, Texaaas
Thanks Meter: 164
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Umm... this is basically the same as making ANY layout change in any Android application .

You don't have to do this in just Settings! This can be done in ANY app.

However, this resolution will be different in different devices like XXHDPI, XHDPI, and the XXXHDPI on the uber resolution devices. You really should just look at the border sizes (typically 10-20px per edge, depending on the resolution of the device.).

Oh, and don't forget to RESIGN the apk. Some devices may not play nice with an Altered Settings application that isn't signed with system-level keys.

That is all.
The Following User Says Thank You to Childofthehorn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st December 2013, 08:17 AM   |  #10  
LeJolly's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 131
 
381 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
A problem: I don't have the red line in my settings
Quote:

xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
xmlns:settings="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/com.android.settings">

Help?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Sony Cross-Device Development General by ThreadRank