FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Media server app eating battery

168 posts
Thanks Meter: 25
 
By michaelopolis, Senior Member on 15th December 2013, 12:57 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
17th December 2013, 01:11 AM |#11  
Psychoferno's Avatar
Member
Flag Porto Alegre
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
I'll try next time. Thanks.
 
 
17th December 2013, 09:39 AM |#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by youresocool

I have the same problem. I have just cleaned the data of Media Storage app, hope it works.

How did u clean the data?

Inviato dal mio XT1032 con Tapatalk 2
17th December 2013, 10:42 AM |#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
qcamera2factory might be the culprit
Hi guys,

as mentioned in this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2545970

a program called qcamera2factory might be causing this. It shows up as media server in the battery settings (maybe because it calls the media server all the time). This would also explain why snapchat is causing the battery drain, as it is a camera app.

Using Better Battery Stats, it shows that qcamera2factory is clearly keeping my phone from going to deep sleep.

Ideas, anyone?

Screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/ToySJ0v.png
Last edited by thekrstn; 17th December 2013 at 11:18 AM. Reason: Screenshot added
The Following User Says Thank You to thekrstn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th December 2013, 02:24 PM |#14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
This happened to me too at least two times.. in both cases I was using the camera before.
17th December 2013, 02:27 PM |#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I just tried uninstalling different camera/video apps, and Skype was the one causing it. Fixed after a reboot, phone is going to deep sleep again!
17th December 2013, 03:07 PM |#16  
Psychoferno's Avatar
Member
Flag Porto Alegre
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by youresocool

I have the same problem. I have just cleaned the data of Media Storage app, hope it works.

Today the problem happened again and I had to just wipe the data from the Media Storage app. To find you need to go to settings, applications, and slide to the All tab.
17th December 2013, 03:31 PM |#17  
shaftenberg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 726
 
More
I had the same problem from time to time. I freezed Moto Cam and Gallery, used Snap Camera instead, until now no more wakelocks. But I don't know if this is really the cause, will see.
17th December 2013, 05:19 PM |#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Have this problem also. So annoying and frustrating. How are ordinary users supposed to deal with this is? Or even diagnosis it as it seems to be caused by any app vaguely related to the camera. Come on Motorola! How do we report this to them?
17th December 2013, 06:39 PM |#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Inform Motorola
I have told motorola via their live chat about the problem and I was told the customer service representative will be informing the engineers. But to speed up the process it would help if more people reported the problem to Motorola.
17th December 2013, 07:59 PM |#20  
shaftenberg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 726
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by akeres1

But to speed up the process it would help if more people reported the problem to Motorola.

As this isn't a Motorola problem, I doubt this will help Read here:
https://code.google.com/p/android/is...etail?id=37298
18th December 2013, 12:10 AM |#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Mediaserver
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaftenberg

As this isn't a Motorola problem, I doubt this will help Read here:

I'm not sure, this problem seems different to those highlighted in the link you've posted. This seems to be due to a process called qcamera2factory that is causing mediaserver to run continuously.

Though as you say Motorola might not be the cause of the problem, highlighting the issue to them is both easy and potentially may result in a fix.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes