5,597,449 Members 30,723 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Corrupted Bootloader?

Tip us?
 
ckelly33
Old
#1  
ckelly33's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 848
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MartinTN
Default Corrupted Bootloader?

I've been having issues with my phone stopping at the Samsung screen when I do a gattery pull. It has gotten to be more and more often. I've wiped and formatted everything but the story is the same: when I install a ROM it works the first boot. After that it gets hung on the Samsung Screen.

What can I do?
 
decaturbob
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 1,402
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Need more info. What base are you on for starters.

powered by hashcode safestrap hyperdrive 10.2
S4 powered by hashcode 3.71 safestrap HYPERDRIVE 15 by Sbreen94
 
ckelly33
Old
#3  
ckelly33's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 848
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MartinTN
MDK I think. Whatever doesn't need safe strap.
 
decaturbob
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 1,402
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckelly33 View Post
MDK I think. Whatever doesn't need safe strap.

mdk is the only other base you can run a custom recovery. So you must be loki'd on it. Have you tried reinstalling a clean mdk image thru odin and resetting up from scratch??
S4 powered by hashcode 3.71 safestrap HYPERDRIVE 15 by Sbreen94
 
ckelly33
Old
#5  
ckelly33's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 848
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MartinTN
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob View Post
mdk is the only other base you can run a custom recovery. So you must be loki'd on it. Have you tried reinstalling a clean mdk image thru odin and resetting up from scratch??
No. Do have a link for steps to do that? Once I am done, reroot?
 
decaturbob
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 1,402
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckelly33 View Post
No. Do have a link for steps to do that? Once I am done, reroot?
I don't have the steps...there are a couple threads here that talk about it

powered by hashcode safestrap hyperdrive 10.2
S4 powered by hashcode 3.71 safestrap HYPERDRIVE 15 by Sbreen94
 
ckelly33
Old
#7  
ckelly33's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 848
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MartinTN
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob View Post
I don't have the steps...there are a couple threads here that talk about it

powered by hashcode safestrap hyperdrive 10.2
Can I download the MDK .tar and put it in ODIN? I cannot find any information on doing this and don't want to make anything worse (if that's possible).
 
decaturbob
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 1,402
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckelly33 View Post
Can I download the MDK .tar and put it in ODIN? I cannot find any information on doing this and don't want to make anything worse (if that's possible).
I would think so if that is the base of the phone and I'm sure a mdk tar is somewhere in this forum to be DL
S4 powered by hashcode 3.71 safestrap HYPERDRIVE 15 by Sbreen94
 
tsadev
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 28
Join Date: Dec 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Provided your bootloader is MDK, I would attempt to find a no-wipe MDK odin tar and flash that. That way you won't lose data. If that works you are in the clear. Search around the forums and you should find a no-wipe here.

The Following User Says Thank You to tsadev For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more