Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini SPH-L520 HELP!

OP Samuraiblade

18th December 2013, 06:10 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I made an incredibly stupid mistake and didn't notice what the actual model number for my S4 Mini was. I used a guide to root it as if it were a GT-I9195 and now I've completely screwed it up. When it booted I couldn't connect to any type of network and the soft keys didn't work at all. I tried to install what I thought was the original firmware to the phone, but again didn't know I had the wrong model number. How do I restore my phone to its original state? I no longer care if it is rooted or not, I would just like to have a working cell phone again.
18th December 2013, 06:45 AM   |  #2  
kc6wke's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag So, Cal
Thanks Meter: 378
 
571 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuraiblade

I made an incredibly stupid mistake and didn't notice what the actual model number for my S4 Mini was. I used a guide to root it as if it were a GT-I9195 and now I've completely screwed it up. When it booted I couldn't connect to any type of network and the soft keys didn't work at all. I tried to install what I thought was the original firmware to the phone, but again didn't know I had the wrong model number. How do I restore my phone to its original state? I no longer care if it is rooted or not, I would just like to have a working cell phone again.

You can flash the stock firmware
http://live.samsung-updates.com/inde...evice=SPH-L520
Then root with kingo

Dont feel too bad, I bricked mine
Last edited by kc6wke; 18th December 2013 at 07:00 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kc6wke For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th December 2013, 09:08 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc6wke

You can flash the stock firmware

Then root with kingo

Dont feel too bad, I bricked mine

I tried to flash the stock firmware and it is now stuck at the Sprint Spark screen.
Last edited by Samuraiblade; 19th December 2013 at 01:57 AM.
19th December 2013, 10:33 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 8
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
It Happens
Did you wipe data/cache? try to reflash it again i did this to my phone the first day i got it lol....Im now running stock rooted. Waiting for a ROM to be developed for us SPH-L520 Users.
The Following User Says Thank You to dominique.j.lopez For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th December 2013, 11:11 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominique.j.lopez

Did you wipe data/cache? try to reflash it again i did this to my phone the first day i got it lol....Im now running stock rooted. Waiting for a ROM to be developed for us SPH-L520 Users.

One day I will learn how to use a Samsung device. This has brought me closer to that day. The phone is now booted and downloading all it's Sprint crap. Thank you for the final piece to this puzzle.
28th December 2013, 02:13 AM   |  #6  
kemikill's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
I am not able to download the stock firmware for the SPH-L520. Can someone re-up the file and post the link ASAP. Thanks.
9th February 2014, 05:53 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemikill

I am not able to download the stock firmware for the SPH-L520. Can someone re-up the file and post the link ASAP. Thanks.

ill be posting a new link pretty soon i gotta upload it

here it is as promissed.... mediafire.com/download/ittpe38u843mdm0/SPR-L520VPUAMK2-20131115204826.zip
Last edited by daddygame; 9th February 2014 at 05:10 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to daddygame For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2014, 04:21 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I did the same thing but now I have no baseband and no imei number. can anyone please help me? I would be forever grateful. I have the same phone (SPH-L520) on a sprint network. I have no network or wifi. =( Silly me didn't look to make sure had the right model when rooting. =(
Thanks in advance!!

---------- Post added at 09:21 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:47 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joanzin

I did the same thing but now I have no baseband and no imei number. can anyone please help me? I would be forever grateful. I have the same phone (SPH-L520) on a sprint network. I have no network or wifi. =( Silly me didn't look to make sure had the right model when rooting. =(
Thanks in advance!!

Never mind. I got it worked out and finally got it to work.
16th February 2014, 09:07 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
how do put the firmware on my phone to restore it..i downloaded the software now I don't know what to do with it..some1 help plz
17th March 2014, 05:22 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by xisrab

how do put the firmware on my phone to restore it..i downloaded the software now I don't know what to do with it..some1 help plz

Did you find a solution? I am in the same boat as you...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes