FORUMS

Droid Turbo Lollipop OTA, 2015 Moto G Leaked – XDA TV

Android Lollipop for the Droid Turbo has been released. That and much more … more

EVLeaks Shows Off Possible BlackBerry Android Phone

It wasn’t too long ago that we received reports of BlackBerry planning to use … more

Mysterious GG1 Google Device Stops by FCC. Glass v2?

As the year progresses, we draw further away from Google’s annual I/O … more

Material and Material Dark Hit Samsung’s Theme Store

The latest version of Touchwiz, launched alongside the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge, … more

[Q] Zte v987 bricked, how to fix.

1 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Ziko_Tamburash, Junior Member on 24th December 2013, 09:39 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
First of all, hello.

Second, let me explain the problem:

I accidentally soft - bricked my ZTE V987.

That would not be a problem if I didn't also lose my ROM backup.

What I did so far while trying to fix it:

1. Tried to re - install Bruno's CWM recovery through SP flash tool - was unable to. SP flash tool enable dram fail error.
2. Found out I needed a preloader.bin, found one that worked (have found few preloader.bin files for v987 but all failed to flash except one) - flashed that.
3. Tried Cwm again - success.
4. Instaled Bruno's 3.0 mod rom through CWM, success, but lost Baseband, IMEI, Serial Number, BT and WIFI MAC Address.
5. Tried installing zte v987 china stock 1.0.1 rom through cwm - success, have baseband, but no IMEI, no Serial Number, BT and WIFI MAC Address.
6. Found about sn write tool, used it to restore IMEI and WIFI MAC address - success, BT & SN - fail: SN says it is written yet it is always displayed as 0123456789ABCDEF, but BT MAC sn write tool always fails with BT DB write fail error.

So, from what I managed to figure out, I need either a full ROM Dump from a working ZTE 987, and a way to insert all these numbers back in, or any other way to fix my phone.

To anyone willing to help, thanks in advance, and if this thread is in wrong subforum I am very sorry.
 
 
27th April 2014, 06:13 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
v987 bricke to
hello

I have the same probleme with no sim detection, I trie to restore with this tuto http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2461059 but I have no baseband no imei ... but wifi ok and BT ok

where have you find "zte v987 china stock 1.0.1 rom" ? i have find only update.

thank for your reply
and sorry for my english

Patrick
27th April 2014, 09:10 PM |#3  
AMIT KARMAKAR's Avatar
Member
Flag Alipurduar
Thanks Meter: 74
 
More
Flash with stock firmware. It will 100% working.

Sent from Xda Premium 4
28th April 2014, 02:51 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
hello amit9734

i am sorry but i dont have stock firmware

Where I can find it ?

thanck
28th April 2014, 10:42 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
V987 IMEI invalid
I have a very similar problem; V987 showing invalid IMEI numbers but WiFi, BT etc all working. SN shown as 123456789ABCDEF. Phone does not recognise the Engineering mode code or offer an option to enter it via Gravity box. I can't get the IMEI & SN Writer tool to recognise the phone.

I have another V987 with stock ROM - does anybody know how to dump the ROM so I can copy it to my other phone?
(The links to the stock ROM on Bruno's thread do not work)

Edit: Problem solved! I used MTK tools to make a NVRAM dump of the stock ROM then the Flash tool to copy the ROM to my old phone. The strange thing is that the phone remembered the correct IMEI and SN numbers. I now have two fully working V987's!
Last edited by ChiPhoneUser; 29th April 2014 at 12:24 AM. Reason: Problem solved
29th April 2014, 02:47 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiPhoneUser

I have a very similar problem; V987 showing invalid IMEI numbers but WiFi, BT etc all working. SN shown as 123456789ABCDEF. Phone does not recognise the Engineering mode code or offer an option to enter it via Gravity box. I can't get the IMEI & SN Writer tool to recognise the phone.

I have another V987 with stock ROM - does anybody know how to dump the ROM so I can copy it to my other phone?
(The links to the stock ROM on Bruno's thread do not work)

Edit: Problem solved! I used MTK tools to make a NVRAM dump of the stock ROM then the Flash tool to copy the ROM to my old phone. The strange thing is that the phone remembered the correct IMEI and SN numbers. I now have two fully working V987's!


ok thank I just have to find another V987
6th June 2015, 07:09 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziko_Tamburash

First of all, hello.

Second, let me explain the problem:

I accidentally soft - bricked my ZTE V987.

That would not be a problem if I didn't also lose my ROM backup.

What I did so far while trying to fix it:

1. Tried to re - install Bruno's CWM recovery through SP flash tool - was unable to. SP flash tool enable dram fail error.
2. Found out I needed a preloader.bin, found one that worked (have found few preloader.bin files for v987 but all failed to flash except one) - flashed that.
3. Tried Cwm again - success.
4. Instaled Bruno's 3.0 mod rom through CWM, success, but lost Baseband, IMEI, Serial Number, BT and WIFI MAC Address.
5. Tried installing zte v987 china stock 1.0.1 rom through cwm - success, have baseband, but no IMEI, no Serial Number, BT and WIFI MAC Address.
6. Found about sn write tool, used it to restore IMEI and WIFI MAC address - success, BT & SN - fail: SN says it is written yet it is always displayed as 0123456789ABCDEF, but BT MAC sn write tool always fails with BT DB write fail error.

So, from what I managed to figure out, I need either a full ROM Dump from a working ZTE 987, and a way to insert all these numbers back in, or any other way to fix my phone.

To anyone willing to help, thanks in advance, and if this thread is in wrong subforum I am very sorry.

Hello! I have a question! How did you complete step 2? I still have my V987 bricked and I can't seem to find an appropriate preloader.bin to wake it up again. I know I'm not exactly helping you, but I would be so grateful if you can help me out with that! I have less than 5 hours with this new ZTE and I already messed it up
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes