Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,174 Members 51,664 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Zte v987 bricked, how to fix.

Tip us?
 
Ziko_Tamburash
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default [Q] Zte v987 bricked, how to fix.

First of all, hello.

Second, let me explain the problem:

I accidentally soft - bricked my ZTE V987.

That would not be a problem if I didn't also lose my ROM backup.

What I did so far while trying to fix it:

1. Tried to re - install Bruno's CWM recovery through SP flash tool - was unable to. SP flash tool enable dram fail error.
2. Found out I needed a preloader.bin, found one that worked (have found few preloader.bin files for v987 but all failed to flash except one) - flashed that.
3. Tried Cwm again - success.
4. Instaled Bruno's 3.0 mod rom through CWM, success, but lost Baseband, IMEI, Serial Number, BT and WIFI MAC Address.
5. Tried installing zte v987 china stock 1.0.1 rom through cwm - success, have baseband, but no IMEI, no Serial Number, BT and WIFI MAC Address.
6. Found about sn write tool, used it to restore IMEI and WIFI MAC address - success, BT & SN - fail: SN says it is written yet it is always displayed as 0123456789ABCDEF, but BT MAC sn write tool always fails with BT DB write fail error.

So, from what I managed to figure out, I need either a full ROM Dump from a working ZTE 987, and a way to insert all these numbers back in, or any other way to fix my phone.

To anyone willing to help, thanks in advance, and if this thread is in wrong subforum I am very sorry.
 
patrick83300
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default v987 bricke to

hello

I have the same probleme with no sim detection, I trie to restore with this tuto http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2461059 but I have no baseband no imei ... but wifi ok and BT ok

where have you find "zte v987 china stock 1.0.1 rom" ? i have find only update.

thank for your reply
and sorry for my english

Patrick
 
AMIT KARMAKAR
Old
#3  
AMIT KARMAKAR's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 51
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Alipurduar
Flash with stock firmware. It will 100% working.

Sent from Xda Premium 4
DON'T SAY THANKS JUST CLICK ON THANKS BUTTON
sigpic5829116_1
 
patrick83300
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
hello amit9734

i am sorry but i dont have stock firmware

Where I can find it ?

thanck
 
ChiPhoneUser
Old
(Last edited by ChiPhoneUser; 29th April 2014 at 12:24 AM.) Reason: Problem solved
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default V987 IMEI invalid

I have a very similar problem; V987 showing invalid IMEI numbers but WiFi, BT etc all working. SN shown as 123456789ABCDEF. Phone does not recognise the Engineering mode code or offer an option to enter it via Gravity box. I can't get the IMEI & SN Writer tool to recognise the phone.

I have another V987 with stock ROM - does anybody know how to dump the ROM so I can copy it to my other phone?
(The links to the stock ROM on Bruno's thread do not work)

Edit: Problem solved! I used MTK tools to make a NVRAM dump of the stock ROM then the Flash tool to copy the ROM to my old phone. The strange thing is that the phone remembered the correct IMEI and SN numbers. I now have two fully working V987's!
 
patrick83300
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiPhoneUser View Post
I have a very similar problem; V987 showing invalid IMEI numbers but WiFi, BT etc all working. SN shown as 123456789ABCDEF. Phone does not recognise the Engineering mode code or offer an option to enter it via Gravity box. I can't get the IMEI & SN Writer tool to recognise the phone.

I have another V987 with stock ROM - does anybody know how to dump the ROM so I can copy it to my other phone?
(The links to the stock ROM on Bruno's thread do not work)

Edit: Problem solved! I used MTK tools to make a NVRAM dump of the stock ROM then the Flash tool to copy the ROM to my old phone. The strange thing is that the phone remembered the correct IMEI and SN numbers. I now have two fully working V987's!

ok thank I just have to find another V987
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Droid X Receives KitKat Port, Upcoming Google Glass Firmware Improvements – XDA Developer TV

Android 4.4.3 lands on the European HTC … more

Calc+ is a Smart and Beautiful Android Calculator

As we’ve said inthe past, there are quite a few calculators available on Android. … more

Get Better Debug Data with Crash Report SDK

Developing an application is a hard and often times ungratifying task. It also requires quite a … more

Navigate to Your Favorite Places with LocationDetector

If you’re enjoying an active way of life, you probablytravel a lot, go fishing, … more