5,600,234 Members 36,800 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Use galaxy s4 with head unit designed for ios

Tip us?
 
bugeyeblue
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Use galaxy s4 with head unit designed for ios

Is there any way to get a car head unit to work with the s4? Whenever I plug in my phone to my head unit using the use cable, it just charges and doesn't play music through the head unit. Anyone know of a way to get this to work?
 
Jacob2kD
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 69
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bugeyeblue View Post
Is there any way to get a car head unit to work with the s4? Whenever I plug in my phone to my head unit using the use cable, it just charges and doesn't play music through the head unit. Anyone know of a way to get this to work?
use a AUX cable?
 
bugeyeblue
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jan 2013
I want to use the usb cable since it charges the phone while playing music at the same time.
 
hotleadsingerguy
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 840
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bugeyeblue View Post
I want to use the usb cable since it charges the phone while playing music at the same time.
If the headunit was designed to be used with an iPhone...then no. It depends on a specific format and directory structure in that case.

The other possibility is using it as a USB device, but the phone can't do it stock because of the 'Media' nonsense. What you need is for it to work as a USB mass storage when it's plugged in (which probably requires root).
 
bugeyeblue
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotleadsingerguy View Post
If the headunit was designed to be used with an iPhone...then no. It depends on a specific format and directory structure in that case.

The other possibility is using it as a USB device, but the phone can't do it stock because of the 'Media' nonsense. What you need is for it to work as a USB mass storage when it's plugged in (which probably requires root).
Thanks, that clears it up. If anyone knows of it can be done by rooting, let me know.
 
kvswim
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 527
Posts: 2,174
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fort Worth, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
It depends on the head unit - I know for my Kenwood system there's an app that allows for playback from local storage.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda premium
If I helped you, don't just tell me, hit that thanks button!
All Noobs: Your all in one guide to everything, ever, on any device, can be found here!
http://bit.ly/jlS4oS
 
KennyG123
Old
#7  
KennyG123's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator / Spider-Mod
Thanks Meter 23821
Posts: 26,445
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Right behind you!

 
DONATE TO ME
Please read forum rules before posting
Questions and help issues go in Q&A and help sections
Thread moved
Thank you for your cooperation
Friendly Neighborhood Moderator

Moderator Directory - - - FORUM RULES - - - Support Autism Awareness here
 
wbbjason
Old
#8  
wbbjason's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 28
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: MD
Quote:
Originally Posted by kvswim View Post
It depends on the head unit - I know for my Kenwood system there's an app that allows for playback from local storage.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda premium
will the kenwood let you play pandora through the unit? or just stored music. i ask cause i dont store music on my phone.
 
kvswim
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 527
Posts: 2,174
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fort Worth, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbbjason View Post
will the kenwood let you play pandora through the unit? or just stored music. i ask cause i dont store music on my phone.
I couldn't get Pandora to work. Local music only. It's pretty stupid, so I just use an AUX cable and use the USB port to charge. I had an idea that someone could rip apart the Kenwood app, and make some sort of hack that plays all audio through the USB port. But I'm not experienced enough to do that and there's probably not enough interest for someone else to get it done.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda premium
If I helped you, don't just tell me, hit that thanks button!
All Noobs: Your all in one guide to everything, ever, on any device, can be found here!
http://bit.ly/jlS4oS
 
persom55
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 55
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bugeyeblue View Post
Thanks, that clears it up. If anyone knows of it can be done by rooting, let me know.
There is indeed a way to use USB mass storage on our phones. It was an app that was posted to the xda front page shortly after our phones came out

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more

A More Competitive Spin on the Addictive 2048 Puzzle

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we talked about a rather interesting take on … more