Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Modem] Hybrid Radios For E970 [2-25-2014]

OP Ace42

26th December 2013, 05:56 AM   |  #1  
Ace42's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1,195
 
9,313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Since I couldn't find the links I took it upon myself to convert the n4's radios by morrislee . I do not know if these work (well) on other carriers besides T-Mobile, use at your own risk.

Disclaimer:
I am not responsible for anything that happens to your device, if you brick it you assume full responsibility.

Credit:
morrislee
efant
haze_nme
cg_87

Original Thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2412052

Modified:
84/27/84
98/27
97/27/97
97/33/97

I have tested these on my new E970 att on PSK rom(in-call vol woks T-Mobile). LTE doesn't work on ANY radio on T-Mobile for some reason.
Link:
https://drive.google.com/folderview?...EE&usp=sharing

Bugs:
98/27: Sensors don't work
97/27/97: No Rotation
97/33/97: No Rotation
84/27: None
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-25-23-58-26.jpg
Views:	3192
Size:	57.5 KB
ID:	2474990  
Last edited by Ace42; 25th February 2014 at 09:30 PM.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Ace42 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th January 2014, 05:38 AM   |  #2  
DraginMagik's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 146
 
1,121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Anyone tested these on AT&T?

Sent from my LG Optimus G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
6th January 2014, 05:47 AM   |  #3  
Ace42's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1,195
 
9,313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraginMagik

Anyone tested these on AT&T?

Sent from my LG Optimus G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

You can always try it, then switch. It will not brick your phone just cause you're on att. You see I cannot confirm whether there would be service issues(no in call volume) because I don't have access to an att account.

Sent from my LG Optimus G
6th January 2014, 09:56 PM   |  #4  
OMGMatrix's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 116
 
524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraginMagik

Anyone tested these on AT&T?

Sent from my LG Optimus G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I've been using the ATT JB/Mako hybrid radio on AT&T since it was first posted in like July or whenever, and it has been perfect for me.
7th January 2014, 06:10 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
getting a delay to boot animation. 30+ sec. with this radio, Flashed the .33 radio found in other place "[Nexus 4 Radios] Flash in Recovery [LTE and HSPA+]" no delay faster boot.
7th January 2014, 07:08 PM   |  #6  
Ace42's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1,195
 
9,313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepper454

getting a delay to boot animation. 30+ sec. with this radio, Flashed the .33 radio found in other place "[Nexus 4 Radios] Flash in Recovery [LTE and HSPA+]" no delay faster boot.

A delay of 30sec, is that with the 98 radio? I haven't experienced that myself, can anyone else confirm?

Edit: could you time how long it takes your OG to boot, then I'll time mine from a cold boot too.
Sent from my LG Optimus G
7th January 2014, 08:00 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace42

A delay of 30sec, is that with the 98 radio? I haven't experienced that myself, can anyone else confirm?

Edit: could you time how long it takes your OG to boot, then I'll time mine from a cold boot too.
Sent from my LG Optimus G

22 sec with the 33 lg to lock screen, flash 27_98, 1:11 LG to boot animation 1:26 to lock, flash back to .33 , 22 sec again.
7th January 2014, 08:07 PM   |  #8  
Ace42's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1,195
 
9,313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepper454

22 sec with the 33 lg to lock screen, flash 27_98, 1:11 LG to boot animation 1:26 to lock, flash back to .33 , 22 sec again.

Okay that one is buggy(sensors are also dead), but I'll leave it in case anyone wants it anyway. I'm using 27/84 now, took 27.97 sec from when it 1st vibrates after holding power key.
7th January 2014, 08:44 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace42

Okay that one is buggy(sensors are also dead), but I'll leave it in case anyone wants it anyway. I'm using 27/84 now, took 27.97 sec from when it 1st vibrates after holding power key.

just flashed 27 84, 22 sec to lock screen. what benefit is this modem on tmobile?
7th January 2014, 08:51 PM   |  #10  
Ace42's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1,195
 
9,313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepper454

just flashed 27 84, 22 sec to lock screen. what benefit is this modem on tmobile?

It uses 27 for cell and 84 for wifi and other according to Morrislee. 27 is supposedly better battery/signal and has fewer dropped calls, which is what I've read in the N4's modem thread and is based on my experience. 97 & 98 are both troublesome radios for some odd reason.

It would give LTE, but something is preventing LTE from turning on with the e970. The phone seems to default to the 1900mhz rearmed towers and not the 1700mhz band needed for T-mo's LTE. I asked a dev if they could look into adding the band menu so we can switch bands.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes