Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,583 Members 38,318 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ v1.4 ] BuilduntuVM - Compile Android ROMs with Windows or Mac OSX

Tip us?
 
sylentprofet
Old
(Last edited by sylentprofet; 2nd September 2014 at 10:12 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,327
Posts: 203
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento

 
DONATE TO ME
Database [ v1.4 ] BuilduntuVM - Compile Android ROMs with Windows or Mac OSX


Builduntu is a custom branch of the Ubuntu operating system, based on my guide here for preparing Ubuntu to compile Android ROMs from source. It includes everything you need to sync with the repo of your choice (Cyanogenmod, AOKP, AOSP, etc) and start building.

Features:
- Xubuntu 14.04 base
- Installed all necessary software for compiling (list available in the guide link above)
- Unnecessary programs removed (media players, games etc.)
- Geany for editing code
- Repo located in ~/bin and added to PATH

All you have to do is download the source!

The only requirement is that your host machine supports a 64 bit OS. 32 bit systems will not work!

Instructions:

1. Download and install VirtualBox for your host system from here.
2. Download the latest builduntu zip archive and extract builduntu.ova to your hard drive.
3. Start VB, click File > Import Appliance. Select "Open Appliance" and choose builduntu.ova, then click Next to import the virtual machine.
4. Highlight builduntu in VirtualBox Manager and open Settings. Under "System" you will want to give it more RAM and Processor Cores. The higher these values are, the faster you will compile ROMs.
5. Start the machine, pull up a terminal and initialize a git repo. Once the source is finished downloading, you're ready to go!

Download:

builduntu v1.4 via BitTorrent - PLEASE HELP SEED!

builduntu v1.4 via MediaFire

builduntu v1.4 via MEGA.co.nz

Username/Password: android/android

md5sum:

Feel free to buy me a Zico (donate) if you like my work. It would be greatly appreciated!

Please hit the "Thanks" button if this post helps you out!

Code:
Changelog:

v1 - Initial Release Dec 26, 2013

v1.0.1 - Released Jan 03, 2014
.. Added swap space
.. Increased dynamic drive max to 100 GB
.. Installed latest VirtualBox Guest Additions
.. Updated
.. Optimized

v1.1 - Jan 16, 2014
.. Updated and repackaged OVA file for VMWare

v1.2 - Feb 04, 2014
.. System updated
.. Packaged Manifest for data integrity verification
.. FINAL 13.10 edition (future releases will be based on 14.04)

v1.3 - Feb 08, 2014
.. Revised version numbering because I felt like it
.. Rebuilt with Ubuntu 14.04 base system
.. Increased swap space to 4 gb
.. Increased max disk size to 500 GB

v1.3.1 - Mar 02, 2014
.. Rebuilt from scratch using the latest Xubuntu 14.04 Beta 1 release
.. Testing semi-automated environment script
.. Began torrent distribution

v1.3.2 - Mar 20, 2014
.. Rebuilt from scratch again with new Builduntu Install Disc
.. It's just plain better

v1.4 - Apr 20, 2014
.. Rebuilt using Xubuntu 14.04 LTS Official Release base (via Builduntu Install Disc)
.. Added Guake drop-down terminal for more efficient command line, check it out!
.. HD space reduced to 250 GB dynamically allocated (was anyone ever getting close to 500 before?)
.. Shared folders should be working now (you can build in a directory on your host system, add the folder via Settings in VirtualBox)
e: sylentprofet (at) gmail
gh: github.com/sylentprofet/
b: nathanpfry.com
The Following 196 Users Say Thank You to sylentprofet For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jv.batista
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 754
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cuba, Portugal

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks, downloading it...
Smartphone: Google Nexus 5 16Gb
Rom: Purity 12/09
Kernel: Bricked Kernel

If I helped you, hit the thanks button...
 
HolyAngel
Old
#3  
HolyAngel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,014
Posts: 1,422
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Springfield

 
DONATE TO ME
Wow! Thank you very much! Will try soon!

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to HolyAngel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ni3po42
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Giving it a shot

Been oddly having trouble setting up my environment. Your previous post got me further then any other instructions. I'll give this a shot and see if it resolves my problem. Thanks in advance!
 
HolyAngel
Old
#5  
HolyAngel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,014
Posts: 1,422
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Springfield

 
DONATE TO ME
So far its working great! Thanks again!
The Following User Says Thank You to HolyAngel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
androidfr33k
Old
(Last edited by androidfr33k; 3rd January 2014 at 11:16 PM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 338
Join Date: Sep 2012
I am on vmware fusion on Mac OSX 10.9.1, can I install your pre configured ubuntu on it?

Edited:

Oracle seems better in this circumstance anyhow. I was able to optimize ram and cpu settings but how to increase virtual drive. Its a PCIe SSD 1TB. I wanted to increase the VM up to 150GB. I did not see any easy way of doing it?

EDITED:

Figured out with some googling and using the cloneHD and ModifyHD tools built into virtual box and using terminal commands. I was able to resize the VWMK. The real tricky part is once that is done you have to resize in Linux because its still 60GB again google search found an easy way using gparted and modifying the /etc/fstab!!

Edited again:

I think the swap file was really set too low. I made it 16GB which is recommend by the source.android site. I know this helped a lot because it was lagging until I changed it.
Nexus 7 Grouper and Nexus 7 Flo Tablets. Flo Rom by DJLamontagneIII and Slimkat Grouper Rom. If I helped then please click on the THANKS button.
 
Jaskaran498
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 118
Posts: 617
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ludhiana
Hi
Is it ok to export appliance using virtual box and import it from vmware?
Cos i use vmware workstation 10
 
HolyAngel
Old
#8  
HolyAngel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,014
Posts: 1,422
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Springfield

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaskaran498 View Post
Hi
Is it ok to export appliance using virtual box and import it from vmware?
Cos i use vmware workstation 10
You can load it up perfectly fine in vmware did that myself as I prefer vmware myself ^^

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to HolyAngel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
c4cyro
Old
#9  
c4cyro's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 530
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Delhi
not working for me.
that's what i get when i try to import in VMware.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (12).jpg
Views:	888
Size:	134.0 KB
ID:	2499030  
 
HolyAngel
Old
#10  
HolyAngel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,014
Posts: 1,422
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Springfield

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by c4cyro View Post
not working for me.
that's what i get when i try to import in VMware.
I imported the download into VMware workstation with no problems. I didn't try exporting from virtual box nor with VM player although the player should work the same as workstation.. Maybe try importing the original download without messing with virtual box?

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Tags
android, compile, how to, ubuntu, virtual
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes