Post Reply

AOSP Keyboard with 5 Rows (Number Row on top)

OP BlueJack22

30th December 2013, 01:00 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 157
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
As a lot of people were asking and because it was what I missed in Cyanogenmod here it finally is:

AOSP Keyboard taken from Kitkat 4.4.2 with a Number Row on top! It took me some hours to get all working. Insted of the the old number row there are new symbols, more are coming.

The keyboard works on Android 4.3 and 4.4 (both tested) and on all ROMs (AOSP, AOPK, CM, TW...)

Install instructions:
1. copy it to /system/app/ (or just tap on it and install it and go to 3.)
2. tap on it and install it or just reboot
3. go to settings and activate it
4. when using the keyboard the next time pull down the notification drawer and change the keyboard
5. Hit "thank you" button if I works and I helped!

Now v1.1:
I resized it completly. So now it's like it always had a number row :P
Download: http://d-h.st/pR7

Old:
v1.0:
Huge keyboard, needed resizing
Download: http://d-h.st/9R5

Credit: @cforlife for some ideas to do it, taken from his old mod

Quote:

SUPPORT

Do you like my work? Why not buying me a beer :P

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-30-13-26-38.png
Views:	6432
Size:	91.9 KB
ID:	2483345   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-30-13-26-46.png
Views:	5314
Size:	89.1 KB
ID:	2483346  
Last edited by BlueJack22; 1st January 2014 at 03:33 PM. Reason: Completing and adding new download link
The Following 70 Users Say Thank You to BlueJack22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th December 2013, 02:22 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Hi, Thanks for the great work.
may i know why is the font is too big?
can we make it smaller?
30th December 2013, 07:03 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 157
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by vipstyler

Hi, Thanks for the great work.
may i know why is the font is too big?
can we make it smaller?

Yes we can!

Well I actually compiled it for Kitkat. There the font is smaller. I just had a look and saw that there were some changes. I'll give it a try later
The Following User Says Thank You to BlueJack22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th December 2013, 07:17 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Awesome work!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
31st December 2013, 10:41 AM   |  #5  
futchy4u's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Egypt - Cairo
Thanks Meter: 66
 
484 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Not working here
--------------------------------------
Edit : working but the characters are too big, and Arabic language doesn't have the number key, also the arabic characters are bigger than the button itself ...
Last edited by futchy4u; 31st December 2013 at 10:45 AM.
31st December 2013, 12:40 PM   |  #6  
jam90's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
405 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by futchy4u

Not working here
--------------------------------------
Edit : working but the characters are too big, and Arabic language doesn't have the number key, also the arabic characters are bigger than the button itself ...

yeah, it takes half of the screen! it's what i was looking for since months, but could you resize it? thank you anyway, and happy new year to all!
31st December 2013, 03:53 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 157
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
Yes I'm going to resize it. Has anyone an idea which xml file contains the sizes? So I don't have to search long
31st December 2013, 10:36 PM   |  #8  
sadeshmagic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ragama
Thanks Meter: 52
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
The font is slightly bigger than usual...but I can live with that I did try to edit the DPI using the xposed app settings..but no luck there..anyway.....great app ...thumbs up
1st January 2014, 03:21 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
For some reason gesture typing just makes the keyboard disappear

Sent from my LG-D801 using xda app-developers app
1st January 2014, 08:06 PM   |  #10  
force70's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,912
 
3,289 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Working great, thanks!

Sent from my LG-D803 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
5 row, aosp keyboard, cyanogenmod, keyboard, number row
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Software Development by ThreadRank