5,598,779 Members 35,921 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unable to mount data & cache

Tip us?
 
dean11
Old
#1  
dean11's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Singapore
Default Unable to mount data & cache

Hi all, got my kindle fire brick. I think my partition is messed up. I bought a factory cable which able me to install twrp and i succefully(i guess) flashed energy ICS. But it prompt me "e:unable to mount '/data" e:unable to mount '/cache". I were to boot to normal boot it will just boot endlessly but i still can access to fff and twrp.i did some research on repartitioning for kindle fire but i need some guidance. Help is much appreciated
Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda app-developers app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1345769754664.jpg
Views:	440
Size:	95.9 KB
ID:	1278776  
 
Thepooch
Old
#2  
Thepooch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 883
Posts: 2,189
Join Date: Mar 2012
Usually this is a fairly bad indication but do this go to the mount section in twrp and make sure there are no checks in the boxes of data and system if so uncheck them, I know you said data and cache but this should have a check in the box then try a reboot also were you previously using cwmr? If so you may have been bitten by the bug a very unsightly one that generally means the death of your kindle unless you know how to repartition around a broken emmc. What did you do prior to this that caused this to happen?
Also energy is not the best for good mounting just saying...
 
dean11
Old
(Last edited by dean11; 24th August 2012 at 09:55 AM.)
#3  
dean11's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Singapore
I was using fireparted to backup my partition when my pc suddenly shut down. Thats when everything screws up. Also my data and cache are not able to check or uncheck. I hope theres a kind soul to guide me through this process

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda app-developers app
 
Thepooch
Old
#4  
Thepooch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 883
Posts: 2,189
Join Date: Mar 2012
If you ask me I would say its toast but maybe someone knows a way to restore factory partitions I know many are looking for a solution for thier parts only kindle....
 
soupmagnet
Old
(Last edited by soupmagnet; 24th August 2012 at 06:11 PM.)
#5  
soupmagnet's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 2263
Posts: 4,020
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Austin, TX
From what I understand...
Code:
fastboot oem format
...will rewrite your partition table to stock. And as long as you haven't messed with the partition sizes, your data will stay intact.

Enter:
Code:
 shell cat /proc/partitions
To get a list of your current partitions and sizes to check to see if they even exist to begin with. And if so, it's likely just a case of broken or missing mountpoints.

Now, whether or not "fastboot oem format" will restore broken or missing mountpoints, I couldn't tell you for sure; I've never had to try it. But in your situation, it probably couldn't hurt to try.

You can also recreate mountpoints manually if needed.

[Edit:] It has just been explained to me that "fastboot oem format" won't do anything about mountpoints.
 
kinfauns
Old
#6  
kinfauns's Avatar
Developer Committee / Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 2881
Posts: 1,644
Join Date: Jan 2012
Assuming you can get into TWRP and run adb shell, execute the following command...

Code:
adb shell parted /dev/block/mmcblk0 unit b print
Note: version 2.2.0 is missing the parted binary, so you'll need to use 2.1.1

This will give you a detailed layout of your storage device and the filesystems for each partition. I'm running from memory here, but the right column should show the filesystem types it sees for that particular partition. For userdata (which is mounted as data) and cache, those should be ext4. If you don't see that, you need to remake those partitions.

Code:
adb shell mke2fs -T ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p10
adb shell mke2fs -T ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p11
Then you can repeat the parted command above and see if the commands worked. If the commands were successful, you can use the mount command or it's probably easier to just reboot into TWRP and it should do it automatically.
 
dean11
Old
#7  
dean11's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinfauns View Post
Assuming you can get into TWRP and run adb shell, execute the following command...

Code:
adb shell parted /dev/block/mmcblk0 unit b print
Note: version 2.2.0 is missing the parted binary, so you'll need to use 2.1.1

This will give you a detailed layout of your storage device and the filesystems for each partition. I'm running from memory here, but the right column should show the filesystem types it sees for that particular partition. For userdata (which is mounted as data) and cache, those should be ext4. If you don't see that, you need to remake those partitions.

Code:
adb shell mke2fs -T ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p10
adb shell mke2fs -T ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p11
Then you can repeat the parted command above and see if the commands worked. If the commands were successful, you can use the mount command or it's probably easier to just reboot into TWRP and it should do it automatically.

Pardon me for my Noob-ness, are the code to be execute on pc or on TWRP?
 
kinfauns
Old
#8  
kinfauns's Avatar
Developer Committee / Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 2881
Posts: 1,644
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dean11 View Post
Pardon me for my Noob-ness, are the code to be execute on pc or on TWRP?
Step back a bit and figure out how all of these things work together by reading the first 3 posts here...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1552547

It will be a lot easier for you to understand what you are doing and why you are doing them. It will also explain how and where to run the commands.
 
dean11
Old
#9  
dean11's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinfauns View Post
Step back a bit and figure out how all of these things work together by reading the first 3 posts here...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1552547

It will be a lot easier for you to understand what you are doing and why you are doing them. It will also explain how and where to run the commands.
OH MY GOOOOD!!!! MY KINDLE IS ALIVE!!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH @kinfauns!
 
june12
Old
(Last edited by june12; 12th October 2012 at 09:33 PM.) Reason: add more information
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinfauns View Post
Assuming you can get into TWRP and run adb shell, execute the following command...

Code:
adb shell parted /dev/block/mmcblk0 unit b print
Note: version 2.2.0 is missing the parted binary, so you'll need to use 2.1.1

This will give you a detailed layout of your storage device and the filesystems for each partition. I'm running from memory here, but the right column should show the filesystem types it sees for that particular partition. For userdata (which is mounted as data) and cache, those should be ext4. If you don't see that, you need to remake those partitions.

Code:
adb shell mke2fs -T ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p10
adb shell mke2fs -T ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p11
Then you can repeat the parted command above and see if the commands worked. If the commands were successful, you can use the mount command or it's probably easier to just reboot into TWRP and it should do it automatically.
I have the similar situation.
And when I use "parted" to check my kidle partition, there is no cache, and the userdata is ext2.

Number Start End Size File system Name Flags
1 131072B 262143B 131072B xloader
2 262144B 524287B 262144B bootloader
3 524288B 11010047B 10485760B dkernel
4 11010048B 212336639B 201326592B ext4 dfs
5 212336640B 229113855B 16777216B recovery
6 229113856B 296222719B 67108864B ext4 backup
7 296222720B 306708479B 10485760B boot
8 306708480B 311951359B 5242880B ext4 splash
9 311951360B 848822271B 536870912B ext4 system
10 848822272B 849000447B 178176B ext2 userdata
12 2448000000B 7748000255B 5300000256B fat32 media msftres


When I use the mke2fs to change the file system type, it returns this error
Not enough space to build proposed filesystem while setting up superblock.

Please help!

Thank you in advance!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes