FORUMS

[Q] How do I overclock my phone?

6 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By AbdulTheInsane, Junior Member on 23rd November 2013, 01:05 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello people! I just succeded with rooting my LG Optimus 4X HD And the reason I did that was to increase the performance on my phone, but I couldn't find any good apps for that. I want suggestions about apps that can overclock EVERY CORE and not just a single one, please respond as soon as possible
 
 
23rd November 2013, 05:17 AM |#2  
kessaras's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbdulTheInsane

Hello people! I just succeded with rooting my LG Optimus 4X HD And the reason I did that was to increase the performance on my phone, but I couldn't find any good apps for that. I want suggestions about apps that can overclock EVERY CORE and not just a single one, please respond as soon as possible

have u done any overclocking in your whole life ? ...
you cant overclock from settings only one core. to overclock only one core u have to do a surgery to the cpu chip........
u cant overlock if the kernel does not support it. stock rom limit is 1500
The Following User Says Thank You to kessaras For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd November 2013, 04:30 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kessaras

have u done any overclocking in your whole life ? ...
you cant overclock from settings only one core. to overclock only one core u have to do a surgery to the cpu chip........
u cant overlock if the kernel does not support it. stock rom limit is 1500

Dude I just rooted my phone like 2 days ago so don't excpect me to be a pro at these stuff xD (I am a noob) But you didn't really answer my question tho :s
23rd November 2013, 04:36 PM |#4  
black@pirate's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 200
 
More
First,You need to install a kernel that supports overclocking, and after that you can use app like trickstermod or tegra overclock. But i would strongly suggest you to read more about rom,kernel,recovery etc. before asking such questions.

Sent from my Optimus 4X HD using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
23rd November 2013, 04:38 PM |#5  
kessaras's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbdulTheInsane

Dude I just rooted my phone like 2 days ago so don't excpect me to be a pro at these stuff xD (I am a noob) But you didn't really answer my question tho :s

the phone doesnt have to do anything with the procedure u can overclock anything. from just a coffee machine to a kitchen , from a pc to a phone !! if a cpu has more than one core, u cant just overclock only one of them. I answered i told u the limit of the stock rom and kernel is 1500. u cant overclock. u must have a custom kernel that can support overclocking.
that means u need to unlock bootloader and flash at least a custom kernel if not a whole rom.

<<EDIT>> and just for the knowledge ! take for example samsung s3. it has a lower cpu frequency but the phone is little faster than our optimus. overclocking isnt only about rising the frequency. u can also overclock by slightly giving more voltage and faster correspondence. u have to read a lot to understand how it works. for example a mistake can make u have a slow 1700 cpu but a fast 1200 cpu. read read read read
Last edited by kessaras; 23rd November 2013 at 04:44 PM.
23rd November 2013, 05:35 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kessaras

the phone doesnt have to do anything with the procedure u can overclock anything. from just a coffee machine to a kitchen , from a pc to a phone !! if a cpu has more than one core, u cant just overclock only one of them. I answered i told u the limit of the stock rom and kernel is 1500. u cant overclock. u must have a custom kernel that can support overclocking.
that means u need to unlock bootloader and flash at least a custom kernel if not a whole rom.

<<EDIT>> and just for the knowledge ! take for example samsung s3. it has a lower cpu frequency but the phone is little faster than our optimus. overclocking isnt only about rising the frequency. u can also overclock by slightly giving more voltage and faster correspondence. u have to read a lot to understand how it works. for example a mistake can make u have a slow 1700 cpu but a fast 1200 cpu. read read read read

I get it now, but I think I asked the question in a wrong way so let me tell you again how I was ACTUALLY thinking. What I want is to enable EVERY single core and make them have 1.5 GHz speed. How can I do that?
23rd November 2013, 05:45 PM |#7  
black@pirate's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 200
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbdulTheInsane

I get it now, but I think I asked the question in a wrong way so let me tell you again how I was ACTUALLY thinking. What I want is to enable EVERY single core and make them have 1.5 GHz speed. How can I do that?

Buy tegra overclock from playstore.

Sent from my Optimus 4X HD using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
23rd November 2013, 05:50 PM |#8  
Flying_Bear's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 795
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbdulTheInsane

I get it now, but I think I asked the question in a wrong way so let me tell you again how I was ACTUALLY thinking. What I want is to enable EVERY single core and make them have 1.5 GHz speed. How can I do that?

set governor to performance, set cpuquiet to userspace. you need trickstermod app & custom kernel in order to tune this.
23rd November 2013, 05:53 PM |#9  
SimonTS's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bristol
Thanks Meter: 1,587
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbdulTheInsane

I get it now, but I think I asked the question in a wrong way so let me tell you again how I was ACTUALLY thinking. What I want is to enable EVERY single core and make them have 1.5 GHz speed. How can I do that?

And watch your battery drain in under an hour.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to SimonTS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd November 2013, 06:52 PM |#10  
Ben36's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,674
 
More
What have you been doing to actually have a point that you have thought a quad core 1.5ghz phone needs overclocking?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Ben36 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th November 2013, 10:20 AM |#11  
kessaras's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbdulTheInsane

I get it now, but I think I asked the question in a wrong way so let me tell you again how I was ACTUALLY thinking. What I want is to enable EVERY single core and make them have 1.5 GHz speed. How can I do that?

your cores are already at 1500. to set a perfomance governor to make them run permanently at 1500 will cause u a huge battery drain and cpu overheat. when u will go play a game the heat will enable automatically the cpu to rest so u will have actually around 1000 mhz speed. the cpu HAS to rest. the phones dont have many big fans inside to cool the board and the cpu. thats why people prefer ondemand governor usually. the cpu rests until the 1st core go to 90% usage or more and then the other cores are enabled too. when the cpu usage go below 90% one core is working again and when there isnt any need for cpu usage , the core goes down to 102 mhz.
The Following User Says Thank You to kessaras For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes