Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Mother of All AD-BLOCKING mod is not working

OP promohammad

10th January 2014, 08:02 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Hello,
I've flashed the mod (07 January 2014) . The "hosts" file became larger (more than 12) but ads are still there. Can anyone help me and find a solution ?

My Device: Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
My rom: PAC-ROM 4.2.2
My recovery: Philz Touch 6

thank you in advance
Last edited by promohammad; 10th January 2014 at 08:07 PM.
10th January 2014, 11:16 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Flagstaff
Thanks Meter: 23
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Have you disabled the wi-fi proxy? As suggested in his op?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
10th January 2014, 11:20 PM   |  #3  
hnkotnis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sangli, Maharashtra, India, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Local Galaxy Group,Universe
Thanks Meter: 470
 
1,029 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by promohammad

Hello,
I've flashed the mod (07 January 2014) . The "hosts" file became larger (more than 12) but ads are still there. Can anyone help me and find a solution ?

My Device: Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
My rom: PAC-ROM 4.2.2
My recovery: Philz Touch 6

thank you in advance

Also check in that threads comments(1st page), conversation of OP with mai77 who was having problem like you. His problem was solved after changing Host file's ownership settings.

Also if you are using proxy then ad blocking will not work.

Sent from my GT-S5360 Gadget of Mass Destruction using xda-app
Using CWM........Busybox Commands........No I use my hands
Last edited by hnkotnis; 10th January 2014 at 11:22 PM.
11th January 2014, 03:33 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hnkotnis

Also check in that threads comments(1st page), conversation of OP with mai77 who was having problem like you. His problem was solved after changing Host file's ownership settings.

Also if you are using proxy then ad blocking will not work.

Sent from my GT-S5360 Gadget of Mass Destruction using xda-app
Using CWM........Busybox Commands........No I use my hands

I checked that proxy is disabled, changed the owner and group to system and rechanged them to root but nothing happened
11th January 2014, 03:39 PM   |  #5  
hnkotnis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sangli, Maharashtra, India, Asia, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Local Galaxy Group,Universe
Thanks Meter: 470
 
1,029 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by promohammad

I checked that proxy is disabled, changed the owner and group to system and rechanged them to root but nothing happened

Then use software like AdFree/ AdAway. I personally recommend AdAway. I have been using it for months and find it useful.
Press thanks if helped.
11th January 2014, 03:49 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hnkotnis

Then use software like AdFree/ AdAway. I personally recommend AdAway. I have been using it for months and find it useful.
Press thanks if helped.

Thank you.I will try to find solution myself
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes