Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more
Post Reply

WiFI not scanning?

OP NickFu400

22nd January 2014, 10:20 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
The phone: HTC vivid, s-on, stock ICS rom unlocked, rooted, faux kernal

The problem: WiFi doesn't seem to scan. It will turn on, get past the "turning on..." phase, but then just flashes between "Scanning" and "disconnected" and doesn't find any networks.

The first mod to the phone a long time ago was to root on the stock ICS rom. Everything worked fine. Eventually I decided to flash Jellybean, then decided to go back to the stock rom because of the call volume issue. Since I've gone back to stock rom, I've been having this wifi issue.

I saw another thread recommend to flash faux kernal. I did that, and had the "turning wifi on..." sticky issue. Fixed that, and now i'm back to the scanning issue.

I also saw a recommendation to flash boot.img but haven't tried that yet because I'm not sure if there is a special one I have to flash to match the kernal, rom, or...?

If someone can tell me which boot.img to flash, or any other suggestions let me know please! Thank you!
22nd January 2014, 11:01 PM   |  #2  
cmerlyn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rohnert Park
Thanks Meter: 35
 
225 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickFu400

The phone: HTC vivid, s-on, stock ICS rom unlocked, rooted, faux kernal

The problem: WiFi doesn't seem to scan. It will turn on, get past the "turning on..." phase, but then just flashes between "Scanning" and "disconnected" and doesn't find any networks.

The first mod to the phone a long time ago was to root on the stock ICS rom. Everything worked fine. Eventually I decided to flash Jellybean, then decided to go back to the stock rom because of the call volume issue. Since I've gone back to stock rom, I've been having this wifi issue.

I saw another thread recommend to flash faux kernal. I did that, and had the "turning wifi on..." sticky issue. Fixed that, and now i'm back to the scanning issue.

I also saw a recommendation to flash boot.img but haven't tried that yet because I'm not sure if there is a special one I have to flash to match the kernal, rom, or...?

If someone can tell me which boot.img to flash, or any other suggestions let me know please! Thank you!

You might think about trying Albinoman's KitKat nightlies. Many people (including myself) are getting very good in call volume, and the rom is really good.
My two cents...
22nd January 2014, 11:06 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmerlyn

You might think about trying Albinoman's KitKat nightlies. Many people (including myself) are getting very good in call volume, and the rom is really good.
My two cents...

Good to know, I'll check it out. Thanks
23rd January 2014, 02:47 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Is there not a boot.img for the stock ICS? This is the guide I've been using.
26th January 2014, 09:31 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Somewhere in CA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Wink Wifi scan problem fix
What you need to do, if your phone is S-Off, is to flash the boot.img in the .rar file of the ROM you flashed

1.place the boot.img in root of your SD card or internal
2. reboot to flashboot
3. plugin usb (should say flashboot usb mode)
4. run adb from adbtools (google this if you don't have it) and type in the following commands to CMD
-NOTE: Run CMD on the same folder as the adb files

Command:

flashboot flash boot boot.img

5. restart phone
6. Voila! Fixed Wifi, and other problems u may have
27th January 2014, 03:19 PM   |  #6  
projectisaac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
168 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
I'm pretty sure you only need to flash the boot.IMG for of you're s-on. S-off will automatically flash it from the zip file.

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app
27th January 2014, 06:02 PM   |  #7  
rignfool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 599
 
2,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by projectisaac

I'm pretty sure you only need to flash the boot.IMG for of you're s-on. S-off will automatically flash it from the zip file.

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app

When troubleshooting... Start taking out variables...

Sent from my Vivid 4G using Tapatalk
30th January 2014, 07:35 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I am S-on.

I'm stock ICS rooted, used the RUU directly from HTC..this could be the noob in me, but I don't think I flashed a rom that came with a boot.img?

Again, this is the thread I followed:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1416836


Thanks for the help, I would really like to get this working.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes