Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,401 Members 44,962 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

WiFI not scanning?

Tip us?
 
NickFu400
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default WiFI not scanning?

The phone: HTC vivid, s-on, stock ICS rom unlocked, rooted, faux kernal

The problem: WiFi doesn't seem to scan. It will turn on, get past the "turning on..." phase, but then just flashes between "Scanning" and "disconnected" and doesn't find any networks.

The first mod to the phone a long time ago was to root on the stock ICS rom. Everything worked fine. Eventually I decided to flash Jellybean, then decided to go back to the stock rom because of the call volume issue. Since I've gone back to stock rom, I've been having this wifi issue.

I saw another thread recommend to flash faux kernal. I did that, and had the "turning wifi on..." sticky issue. Fixed that, and now i'm back to the scanning issue.

I also saw a recommendation to flash boot.img but haven't tried that yet because I'm not sure if there is a special one I have to flash to match the kernal, rom, or...?

If someone can tell me which boot.img to flash, or any other suggestions let me know please! Thank you!
 
cmerlyn
Old
#2  
cmerlyn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 203
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rohnert Park
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickFu400 View Post
The phone: HTC vivid, s-on, stock ICS rom unlocked, rooted, faux kernal

The problem: WiFi doesn't seem to scan. It will turn on, get past the "turning on..." phase, but then just flashes between "Scanning" and "disconnected" and doesn't find any networks.

The first mod to the phone a long time ago was to root on the stock ICS rom. Everything worked fine. Eventually I decided to flash Jellybean, then decided to go back to the stock rom because of the call volume issue. Since I've gone back to stock rom, I've been having this wifi issue.

I saw another thread recommend to flash faux kernal. I did that, and had the "turning wifi on..." sticky issue. Fixed that, and now i'm back to the scanning issue.

I also saw a recommendation to flash boot.img but haven't tried that yet because I'm not sure if there is a special one I have to flash to match the kernal, rom, or...?

If someone can tell me which boot.img to flash, or any other suggestions let me know please! Thank you!
You might think about trying Albinoman's KitKat nightlies. Many people (including myself) are getting very good in call volume, and the rom is really good.
My two cents...

AT&T Samsung Galaxy S5, rooted, Dynamic Kat
AT&T HTC Vivid - S-Off, rooted, unlocked, KitKat 4.4
LG Optimus V - ICS, now retired as an alarm clock
 
NickFu400
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmerlyn View Post
You might think about trying Albinoman's KitKat nightlies. Many people (including myself) are getting very good in call volume, and the rom is really good.
My two cents...
Good to know, I'll check it out. Thanks
 
NickFu400
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2012
Is there not a boot.img for the stock ICS? This is the guide I've been using.
 
ernestriderxx
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 33
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Somewhere in CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Wink Wifi scan problem fix

What you need to do, if your phone is S-Off, is to flash the boot.img in the .rar file of the ROM you flashed

1.place the boot.img in root of your SD card or internal
2. reboot to flashboot
3. plugin usb (should say flashboot usb mode)
4. run adb from adbtools (google this if you don't have it) and type in the following commands to CMD
-NOTE: Run CMD on the same folder as the adb files

Command:

flashboot flash boot boot.img

5. restart phone
6. Voila! Fixed Wifi, and other problems u may have
 
projectisaac
Old
#6  
projectisaac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 157
Join Date: Jan 2014
I'm pretty sure you only need to flash the boot.IMG for of you're s-on. S-off will automatically flash it from the zip file.

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app
 
rignfool
Old
#7  
rignfool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 512
Posts: 1,919
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by projectisaac View Post
I'm pretty sure you only need to flash the boot.IMG for of you're s-on. S-off will automatically flash it from the zip file.

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app
When troubleshooting... Start taking out variables...

Sent from my Vivid 4G using Tapatalk
 
NickFu400
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2012
I am S-on.

I'm stock ICS rooted, used the RUU directly from HTC..this could be the noob in me, but I don't think I flashed a rom that came with a boot.img?

Again, this is the thread I followed:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1416836


Thanks for the help, I would really like to get this working.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MultiROM Ported to the Moto E

Few categoriesof Android development are as intrinsically interestingas the ability to boot into multiple … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Control Google Play Wake Locks – XDA Developer TV

Xposed Modules are usually pretty simple. There are a few … more

Make Text Entry More Efficient with Macro Text Expansion

One of the best things about the modern day smartphone is its ability to save us … more

Fix KitKat WiFi Drops on Your Own

Despite introducing many useful features and overall great performance and enhancements,Android 4.4 KitKat … more