Should You Get Wear? Wearer’s Practical Observations

Wear is said to not offer enough for mass adoption, even though its been in … more

SlimRoms: Updates on the Horizon

SlimRoms’ website has been experiencing technical difficulties for the last month or so, but … more

Your Favorite Wireless Charger?

Wireless charging is becoming more and more common as many OEMs are now starting to include this feature … more

ASUS US Invites Developers at XDA to Special Event

ASUS has built a solid name over the years for their computer components, but in the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

WiFI not scanning?

22nd January 2014, 10:20 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
The phone: HTC vivid, s-on, stock ICS rom unlocked, rooted, faux kernal

The problem: WiFi doesn't seem to scan. It will turn on, get past the "turning on..." phase, but then just flashes between "Scanning" and "disconnected" and doesn't find any networks.

The first mod to the phone a long time ago was to root on the stock ICS rom. Everything worked fine. Eventually I decided to flash Jellybean, then decided to go back to the stock rom because of the call volume issue. Since I've gone back to stock rom, I've been having this wifi issue.

I saw another thread recommend to flash faux kernal. I did that, and had the "turning wifi on..." sticky issue. Fixed that, and now i'm back to the scanning issue.

I also saw a recommendation to flash boot.img but haven't tried that yet because I'm not sure if there is a special one I have to flash to match the kernal, rom, or...?

If someone can tell me which boot.img to flash, or any other suggestions let me know please! Thank you!
22nd January 2014, 11:01 PM   |  #2  
cmerlyn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rohnert Park
Thanks Meter: 42
 
254 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickFu400

The phone: HTC vivid, s-on, stock ICS rom unlocked, rooted, faux kernal

The problem: WiFi doesn't seem to scan. It will turn on, get past the "turning on..." phase, but then just flashes between "Scanning" and "disconnected" and doesn't find any networks.

The first mod to the phone a long time ago was to root on the stock ICS rom. Everything worked fine. Eventually I decided to flash Jellybean, then decided to go back to the stock rom because of the call volume issue. Since I've gone back to stock rom, I've been having this wifi issue.

I saw another thread recommend to flash faux kernal. I did that, and had the "turning wifi on..." sticky issue. Fixed that, and now i'm back to the scanning issue.

I also saw a recommendation to flash boot.img but haven't tried that yet because I'm not sure if there is a special one I have to flash to match the kernal, rom, or...?

If someone can tell me which boot.img to flash, or any other suggestions let me know please! Thank you!

You might think about trying Albinoman's KitKat nightlies. Many people (including myself) are getting very good in call volume, and the rom is really good.
My two cents...
22nd January 2014, 11:06 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmerlyn

You might think about trying Albinoman's KitKat nightlies. Many people (including myself) are getting very good in call volume, and the rom is really good.
My two cents...

Good to know, I'll check it out. Thanks
23rd January 2014, 02:47 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Is there not a boot.img for the stock ICS? This is the guide I've been using.
26th January 2014, 09:31 PM   |  #5  
Wink Wifi scan problem fix
What you need to do, if your phone is S-Off, is to flash the boot.img in the .rar file of the ROM you flashed

1.place the boot.img in root of your SD card or internal
2. reboot to flashboot
3. plugin usb (should say flashboot usb mode)
4. run adb from adbtools (google this if you don't have it) and type in the following commands to CMD
-NOTE: Run CMD on the same folder as the adb files

Command:

flashboot flash boot boot.img

5. restart phone
6. Voila! Fixed Wifi, and other problems u may have
27th January 2014, 03:19 PM   |  #6  
projectisaac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
214 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
I'm pretty sure you only need to flash the boot.IMG for of you're s-on. S-off will automatically flash it from the zip file.

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app
27th January 2014, 06:02 PM   |  #7  
rignfool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 840
 
2,522 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by projectisaac

I'm pretty sure you only need to flash the boot.IMG for of you're s-on. S-off will automatically flash it from the zip file.

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app

When troubleshooting... Start taking out variables...

Sent from my Vivid 4G using Tapatalk
30th January 2014, 07:35 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I am S-on.

I'm stock ICS rooted, used the RUU directly from HTC..this could be the noob in me, but I don't think I flashed a rom that came with a boot.img?

Again, this is the thread I followed:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1416836


Thanks for the help, I would really like to get this working.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes