5,596,568 Members 40,578 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Converted F180L to E975. GPRS ONLY

Tip us?
 
critical_erro
Old
(Last edited by critical_erro; 23rd November 2013 at 07:52 PM.)
#1  
critical_erro's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Sep 2013
Default Converted F180L to E975. GPRS ONLY

Hello,
I recently converted my f180L to e975 by
1. Backup Modem
2. Flash International KDZ( INDIA)
3. Root
4. Restore modem.

Everything is fine but for a few niggles
1. I cant get EDGE . Only GPRS. Edge is working on my old n95 8gb and my iphone 4 but not the optimus.
2 . If i go out of coverage area , and return, i have no signals until a reboot. Searching for networks again works but takes some time so i reboot.

Can any one help me with these issues?
P.S i searched the forum but most of the discussions are focussed on modem restoration and no signal issues..


Sent from my LG-E975
 
atifsh
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 347
Posts: 2,233
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Karachi
Edge not supported in Korean version

Sent from my LG-E975 using Tapatalk
 
critical_erro
Old
#3  
critical_erro's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by atifsh View Post
Edge not supported in Korean version

Sent from my LG-E975 using Tapatalk
Ok then i guess i m stuck with gprs.

Sent from my LG-E975
 
Kur@
Old
#4  
Kur@'s Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 48
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lviv
Quote:
Originally Posted by critical_erro View Post
Hello,
I recently converted my f180L to e975 by
1. Backup Modem
2. Flash International KDZ( INDIA)
3. Root
4. Restore modem.

Everything is fibe but for a few niggles
1. I cant get EDGE . Only GPRS. Edge is working on my old n95 8gb and my iphone 4 but not the optimus.
2 . If i go out of coverage area , and return, i have no signals until a reboot. Searching for networks again works but takes some time so i reboot.

Can any one help me with these issues?
P.S i searched the forum but most of the discussions are focussed on modem restoration and no signal issues..


Sent from my LG-E975
Same issue on f180k but here pdadb.net/index.php?m=specs&id=4127&c=lg_f180k_optimus_g_4g_ lte_lg_gee it is written that it support edge...
 
critical_erro
Old
#5  
critical_erro's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kur@ View Post
Same issue on f180k but here http://pdadb.net/index.php?m=specs&i..._4g_lte_lg_gee it is written that it support edge...
Yeah i know. Everywhere specs indicate EDGE support. I read somewhere ( forgot where) that changing nvram values may enable edge support.. dont know how true that is. Dont even know how to accomplish this. Messing with NVRAM itslef is dangerous. Anybody with any pointers in the right direction?

Sent from my LG-E975
 
atifsh
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 347
Posts: 2,233
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Karachi
Basebands have been blocked by carriers, these are carrier phones. Only way is to hex edit.

Sent from my LG-E975 using Tapatalk
 
Kur@
Old
#7  
Kur@'s Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 48
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lviv
Quote:
Originally Posted by atifsh View Post
Basebands have been blocked by carriers, these are carrier phones. Only way is to hex edit.

Sent from my LG-E975 using Tapatalk
and here only one question left: where and what to edit?

---------- Post added at 11:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:52 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by critical_erro View Post
Yeah i know. Everywhere specs indicate EDGE support. I read somewhere ( forgot where) that changing nvram values may enable edge support.. dont know how true that is. Dont even know how to accomplish this. Messing with NVRAM itslef is dangerous. Anybody with any pointers in the right direction?

Sent from my LG-E975
I don`t think that changing EFS could kill my phone, only modem, but I can recover EFS anytime, or I`m wrong?
 
critical_erro
Old
#8  
critical_erro's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Sep 2013
Yes if you ve made a backup that should work. If you ve backed up using a recovery that would be even better.
This is all i could find on the net
Use QXDM(AVAILABLE ON XDA SOMEWHERE) to edit
NV 02508 ( EDGE ENABLED) to True

I havent tried it and dont know what it does so be careful and have everything backed up.


Sent from my LG-E975
 
atifsh
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 347
Posts: 2,233
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Karachi
Qxdm well not work, baseband is locked, secured, crippled by the carrier.

Sent from my LG-E975 using Tapatalk
 
critical_erro
Old
#10  
critical_erro's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Sep 2013
How does this guy do it then?
http://multan.olx.com.pk/get-your-op...-iid-557410996

Thats what i like to know.

Sent from my LG-E975

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes