Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,888 Members 53,307 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] ISIS on Gophone prepaid service with T999 S3

Tip us?
 
otizzy
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default [Q] ISIS on Gophone prepaid service with T999 S3

I have a SGH-T999, unlocked, stock, with OTA 4.3. I really want ISIS to take advantage of the 20% cashback bonus offer w/ Serve. There's no T-mobile corporate stores anywhere nearby to get the enhanced sim card, so I got an AT&T enhanced sim card instead, and activated one month of the $40 gophone service. After many hours of try to activate it and waiting on hold with AT&T support, even trying it on a AT&T branded compatible phone, the retards at AT&T finally told me that there's no way to get ISIS to work on prepaid service, only postpaid.

Is that true? Any workaround? As bad as I want it, there's no way I'm gonna pay those ba$tards at ATT the ripoff postpaid prices+activation fees for a service I only want for the mobile wallet.
 
Perseus71
Old
#2  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3364
Posts: 5,674
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by otizzy View Post
I have a SGH-T999, unlocked, stock, with OTA 4.3. I really want ISIS to take advantage of the 20% cashback bonus offer w/ Serve. There's no T-mobile corporate stores anywhere nearby to get the enhanced sim card, so I got an AT&T enhanced sim card instead, and activated one month of the $40 gophone service. After many hours of try to activate it and waiting on hold with AT&T support, even trying it on a AT&T branded compatible phone, the retards at AT&T finally told me that there's no way to get ISIS to work on prepaid service, only postpaid.

Is that true? Any workaround? As bad as I want it, there's no way I'm gonna pay those ba$tards at ATT the ripoff postpaid prices+activation fees for a service I only want for the mobile wallet.
Well are you even getting a regular signal with that sim? If signal wise its all ok on ATT service then I think the ISIS Wallet will work unless it looks at your ATT account and sees prepaid. What I'd do is check your APNs (Access Point Network) and see if

a. You get Data Signal.
b. The APN is a Post Paid APN not Prepaid
 
otizzy
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71 View Post
Well are you even getting a regular signal with that sim? If signal wise its all ok on ATT service then I think the ISIS Wallet will work unless it looks at your ATT account and sees prepaid. What I'd do is check your APNs (Access Point Network) and see if

a. You get Data Signal.
b. The APN is a Post Paid APN not Prepaid

A) I do get data signal. I get regular 4G on my unlocked T999 GS3, and 4G LTE on the AT&T Galaxy Rugby Pro I purchased just to try to get ISIS working.

B) I was trying it using the default APN, and also the APN post paid APN. Both times activation of ISIS failed with the same error message, error code 7008.
 
Perseus71
Old
#4  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3364
Posts: 5,674
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
Sounds like the App checks your account status before it will let you do it. Sounds lame.

If you are on AOSP 4.3, you could modify the permission it requests and then deny access to sim.
 
sucsss
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 118
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by otizzy View Post
A) I do get data signal. I get regular 4G on my unlocked T999 GS3, and 4G LTE on the AT&T Galaxy Rugby Pro I purchased just to try to get ISIS working.

B) I was trying it using the default APN, and also the APN post paid APN. Both times activation of ISIS failed with the same error message, error code 7008.
I think you're downloading the T-Mobile version of the ISIS app.

You need a T-Mobile sim for the T-Mobile app, and the AT&T sim for the AT&T app.
 
otizzy
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by sucsss View Post
I think you're downloading the T-Mobile version of the ISIS app.

You need a T-Mobile sim for the T-Mobile app, and the AT&T sim for the AT&T app.
I was using the AT&T version, I've tried the T-Mobile app too, neither worked.
 
jeremyds45
Old
#7  
jeremyds45's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 56
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by otizzy View Post
I was using the AT&T version, I've tried the T-Mobile app too, neither worked.
Old thread but I contacted att about using Isis on GoPhone prepaid and they said Isis does not work with gophone.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cell Phone SIM Unlock Bill Just Steps Away from President’s Desk

For all those who believe that Cinderella stories don’t actually … more

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more