Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,147 Members 48,574 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Proximity Sensor

Tip us?
 
Crossoverdoc
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 176
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default Proximity Sensor

It seems as if my sensor had broken. There's no way to wake the screen during phone calls, and when they end I have to pull the battery because other wise the screen just stays black. I'd just like to disable it altogether, any help?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
mateopase
Old
#2  
mateopase's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 64
Join Date: Jan 2011
This seems to be a common problem. I had this. I fixed it the first time by re calibrating the sensor and doing all of these stupid things with the terminal. The second time I figured out that all that has to be done is blow some compressed air into the earpiece for 10-30 seconds. Then it's fixed.
 
Crossoverdoc
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 176
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mateopase View Post
This seems to be a common problem. I had this. I fixed it the first time by re calibrating the sensor and doing all of these stupid things with the terminal. The second time I figured out that all that has to be done is blow some compressed air into the earpiece for 10-30 seconds. Then it's fixed.
Seems to me that I'm the only one that compressed air doesn't work for

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
fivejuantwo
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default Compressed air worked for me

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crossoverdoc View Post
Seems to me that I'm the only one that compressed air doesn't work for

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Compressed air worked for me as well.
 
Mistertac
Old
#5  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,559
Posts: 3,369
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Springfield, Ma

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crossoverdoc View Post
Seems to me that I'm the only one that compressed air doesn't work for

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Do you have a case on your phone? Mine was doing the same thing and the air wasn't the cure it was the case. It didn't actually cover it or touch the sensor but it was close enough to it that it screws it up. Just an idea.. Take the case off...

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more

Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more