FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

Official kitkat for N9005

1,377 posts
Thanks Meter: 623
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
25th January 2014, 04:35 PM |#1041  
carols's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LOulOo

we all use Odin PC v3.09


Phone Bootloader Update: YES
for the rest, it does not matter

bootloader NO
The Following User Says Thank You to carols For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
25th January 2014, 04:45 PM |#1042  
ascanio1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tokyo
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Question
@ LOulOo
Thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by LOulOo

we all use Odin PC v3.09

When you say "Odin PC v3.09" does "PC" refer to the CP button? Or to the PC as in computer?
I should use the AP button, right?

I found 2 files:
1.
N9005XXUENA6_N9005VFGENA4_OMN.zip from sammobile.com
(OMN; PDAN9005XXUENA6; CSCN9005VFGENA4; MODEMN9005XXUENA2)

2.
OMN-N9005XXUENA6-20140124174337.zip from samsung-updates.com/device/?id=SM-N9005
(N9005XXUENA6; CSCN9005VFGENA4; MODEM?)

Since it takes 5 plus hours to download I want to download the right one. To me they seem the same one... They are both labelled as Italy Vodafone 4.4.2 - can you help me to understand what's the difference, please? Just a different name for the same file?

-----------------
@ Carlos,
1.
Could you please teach me what a bootloader is and does and what are the pros/cons of updating it? I read the whole thread (4 plus hours) and there are contrasting opinions about this point.
2.
Similarly there are a few guys who chose F. Reset Time: YES and some NO. Again, what is this setting?
3.
Everyone seems to concur Auto Reboot: YES

-----------------
OT:
BTW, super bike you have! I rode one: UNBELIEVABLE!
It litterally rips your arms off the handlebars!!!
Last edited by ascanio1; 25th January 2014 at 04:57 PM.
25th January 2014, 04:50 PM |#1043  
funb0b's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Folkestone
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Not sure you will be able to use the carrier branded versions.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to funb0b For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th January 2014, 05:02 PM |#1044  
ascanio1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tokyo
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by funb0b

Not sure you will be able to use the carrier branded versions.

Thanks for the head's up! In that case do you know which are the non branded versions with the same bands (1, 3, 8 and 20)?
25th January 2014, 05:13 PM |#1045  
funb0b's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Folkestone
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
The xeo or baltic are unbraded versions and the same as far as I can tell.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to funb0b For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th January 2014, 05:16 PM |#1046  
ascanio1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tokyo
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by funb0b

The xeo or baltic are unbraded versions and the same as far as I can tell.

I have now the XEO and it doesn't connect to the Vodafone Italy LTE network. That's why I wanted to try the carrier's own version...

Perhaps there is a way to flash only the modem?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
25th January 2014, 05:34 PM |#1047  
funb0b's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Folkestone
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
The modems are the same in both xeo and Italy. More likley you need to edit the mobile network settings for your carrier which can usually be found on your carriers help pages.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
25th January 2014, 05:42 PM |#1048  
ascanio1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tokyo
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by funb0b

The modems are the same in both xeo and Italy. More likley you need to edit the mobile network settings for your carrier which can usually be found on your carriers help pages

You mean the APN, right?
25th January 2014, 05:44 PM |#1049  
funb0b's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Folkestone
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Look in settings/connections/more networks/mobile networks/access point names. Is the apn correct?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to funb0b For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th January 2014, 06:00 PM |#1050  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
I get uodate for my note 3 n9005 32gb for kit kat 4,4,2. Download update with wi fi and postponed update for 3 hours. Do I install update or wait. Because I read something that cm 11 can not be installed over stock 4.4.2. Any sugestion please? Thnx
25th January 2014, 06:02 PM |#1051  
funb0b's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Folkestone
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaskof1

I get uodate for my note 3 n9005 32gb for kit kat 4,4,2. Download update with wi fi and postponed update for 3 hours. Do I install update or wait. Because I read something that cm 11 can not be installed over stock 4.4.2. Any sugestion please? Thnx

Where are you located? Out of interest.

No idea about cm11 sorry

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes