Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,935 Members 52,985 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I need a fix for this please

Tip us?
 
ovidiugr
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 264
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default I need a fix for this please

when I connect my laptop to my TV through HDMI for the 1st time it automatically connects to a certain resolution. and that's fine because then I can select a different resolution if I don't like it. for example if my laptop connects automatically to 1080p@24Hz which is my TV maximum resolution then I can change it to... let's say 1080i@60Hz which is lower quality but is waaaay smoother 60 Hz is smoother than 24Hz.
ok, my question is... how can I change the output resolution of Note3's. I haven't seen a menu yet allowing you to do that. I'd rather have 1080i@60Hz or even 720p@60Hz instead of 1080p@24Hz which is so laggy. and don't tell me the Note3 can't connect to a different resolution than 1080p because it obviously can. I've connected it to another tv and on that one it connects at 720p@60Hz and also I can't change the resolution to that one.
is there a workaround that you can do to allow selecting other resolution than the default one?


.....
and it's funny because both Note 1 and 2 connect on my TV automatically at 1080i@60Hz and as a consequence they show no lagginess while my Note3 which was supposed to be an upgrade is in this case a downgrade...


Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
 
nex7er
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 439
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bergen
!!WARNING!! Not my fault if you need to reflash. You're doing this on your OWN ACCORD!

Use a third-party launcher as TouchWizHome likes to crash. Open terminal if it's rooted (will only be able to change resolution with root) and use these commands:

NOTE: Do not use quotation marks when typing in terminal.
Resolution: Type "su", grant root, type "wm size 1080x1920" if you want 1080p, or 720x1280 if you want 720p

4.3 and 4.4 use "wm". Earlier versions of android use "am". Tablets are reversed and should need "1920x1080" as opposed to phones which needs "1080x1920".

PROTIP!!! This may mess with your Note 3 and you might have to reflash. Samsungs framework is NOT dynamic like Googles framework is. This might result in corrupted apps. If you want to change DPI without an app (AppSettings with Xposed works fine and lets you do it to individual apps) just change "size" for "density" and "1080x1920" for "480". 480 is default, so lower it to see how small you want things to be. 360 is the sweet spot for me.
 
ovidiugr
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 264
Join Date: Mar 2011
ok... any other idea? I don't want to change the resolution of the launcher but the resolution of the output. I presume that method might change both and also requires root. I don't want to root it. any other suggestions?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using xda app-developers app
 
Towle
Old
#4  
Towle's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 1,850
Posts: 3,293
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minnesota
Please remember that questions and troubleshooting posts go in the Q&A/Troubleshooting section.

Thread moved.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
“If we could change ourselves, the tendencies in the world would also change. As a man changes his own nature, so does the attitude of the world change towards him. … We need not wait to see what others do.” -Gandhi
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Control Google Play Wake Locks – XDA Developer TV

Xposed Modules are usually pretty simple. There are a few … more

Make Text Entry More Efficient with Macro Text Expansion

One of the best things about the modern day smartphone is its ability to save us … more

Fix KitKat WiFi Drops on Your Own

Despite introducing many useful features and overall great performance and enhancements,Android 4.4 KitKat … more

Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more