Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,457 Members 51,577 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FIX] Note 3 GPS Issues

Tip us?
 
Agent
Old
(Last edited by Agent; 13th March 2014 at 05:11 AM.)
#1  
Agent's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 351
Posts: 1,147
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 127.0.0.1

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [FIX] Note 3 GPS Issues

If this helps you I would appreciate it if you hit the "Thanks" button on this post.

I can finally 100% confirm that the GPS signal lost issues we have is software related.

The best workaround I have found for this is to:

Root your phone using Kingo or whatever root method you prefer
install KNOXRAID

@drakeymcmb made this ROM, so you know it's going to work.



***WARNING TO ALL USERS***
This thread is not a "Best ROM" thread and will NOT be treated like one! Possibly any ROM that's "rigged" will fix the GPS issues, but this is currently the only one I have found that works right every time.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk



UPDATE: I wanted to add that if you have a AT&T ROM installed (may work on other ROMs, but definitely ask drakeymcmb before trying anything with a different ROM), Drakeymcmb has a fix here I'm quoting.

Quote:
I already posted a fix for this issue a few days ago. Here is some feedback that I got. And here is the dl link.

http://www.mediafire.com/?j9tq965psemg9nv

Quote:
Originally Posted by superbfox View Post
I would like to appreciate drakeymcmb for the fix.

I have two AT&T Galaxy Note 3 and I had exact same problems on both Note 3. (GPS was turned off when power was plugged in or out and the connection switched between 4G and 4G LTE)

First, I did factory reset to my one of Note 3 and installed only GPS Test APP on the stock with rooted to test GPS. It seemed to work well when power is plugged in or out and then I installed Apps that I need and checked if GPS worked well whenever an App was installed. It looked like the factory reset fixed the problems but the problem happened again after about 12 hours. (I did this last night and GPS worked well before I went to bed but this morning, it happened again)

Frankly, I hesitated to apply this fix because I did not have enough information and did not know how to apply this fix but I thought it was worth trying this fix.

Here is how I applied this fix. (I think this is not the best way but this is what I can do with confidence. Please be careful and do this with your own risk)

1. Backup the following files
/system/lib/hw/gps.default.so
/system/lib/hw/gps.goldfish.so
/system/lib/libloc_adapter.so
/system/lib/libloc_api_v02.so
/system/lib/libloc_eng.so
/system/etc/gps.conf

2. Unzip Gpsfix.zip
3. Copy the files in the zip to the corresponding location.
4. Change the permission of the files to rw-r--r--
5. Make sure if the owner of the files is root
6, Reboot

After that, I tested GPS with my two Note 3 (one has the fix and the other does not).
The one with the fix works great when power is plugged in or out or the connection is switched between 4G and 4G LTE while the other one has still same problem. (after several testing, I applied the fix to the other Note 3 so my two Note 3 are working well now)

So far so good. I will update if I have any changes.

Drakeymcmb
Thank you very much. You are the best.
Sent from my SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to Agent For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pham818
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 183
Posts: 1,038
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent View Post
I can finally 100% confirm that the GPS signal lost issues we have is software related.

The only workaround I have found for this is to

root your phone
install safestrap
install X Note

from the Android Development section. It's a ported international ROM which means it has all the GPS files from the International version.



***WARNING TO ALL USERS***
This thread is not a "Best ROM" thread and will NOT be treated like one! Possibly any ROM that's ported will fix the GPS issues, but this is currently the only one I have found that works. If you find another ROM that works please post here!

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
good ****. got lost a few times because of the gps.
Current
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 -
Asus Nexus 7 32GB (2013) - scrosler's CleanROM

Past
Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB - Sold
Samsung Galaxy S2 16GB - Given Away
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 16GB - SOLD

Free 500 MB of storage on Dropbox: http://db.tt/d6SOJt2W

Please press thanks if I helped in any way!
 
MonkeyThumper
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 49
Join Date: Feb 2012
I will 2nd this "fix"...

I actually rooted/SS/ROMed my phone a few days ago because I saw that it did possibly fix the GPS problem.

I was having the issue where GPS would disconnect when changing cell towers, or if I plugged/unplugged the power from the phone. I could reproduce it very easily.

So, I installed X-Note, and did some testing yesterday, and did not have a single GPS drop in over two hours of testing. I was also able to plug/unplug the power without losing GPS signal. On the way back to work this morning, I switched back to my stock ROM slot in SS, and the issue was back.

I do NOT know if the issue is fixed with any other ROMs. I have only tried X-Note at this point.

Would be great to know what is actually causing the issue with the stock software. Samsung still plays dumb about the problem, acting like they have never heard about it from anyone. I was very close to getting a replacement from AT&T under warranty, but just hadn't gotten around to it yet. May still do that if I get the urge/time to put everything back to stock. I just don't want to end up getting a "refurb" from them. I've gotten one on a past phone, and it was a piece of crap that had more problems than the one I turned in. I'm not sure how much testing they actually do on a refurb phone before thinking it is ok to give out to someone else.
 
wiser212
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 268
Join Date: Jun 2007
I exchanged my phone 4 times with AT&T before I accepted a replacement. I complained each time about their lack of testing. The 4th one they sent was brand new. If you get a chappy phone, keep requesting replacements.

Sent from my SM-N900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to wiser212 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MonkeyThumper
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 49
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiser212 View Post
I exchanged my phone 4 times with AT&T before I accepted a replacement. I complained each time about their lack of testing. The 4th one they sent was brand new. If you get a chappy phone, keep requesting replacements.

Sent from my SM-N900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Your use of "chappy" reminded me of this:

The Following User Says Thank You to MonkeyThumper For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gold3ndrag0n
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 58
Join Date: Sep 2010
I too can confirm it's some sort of a software/app conflict problem. This is what I posted on AT&T's forum:


Like you guys I have been doing the same thing. After wipe it seems to work fine, and I do suspect it's a software issue. I was actually in the process of writing an update here last night, as I was writing I decided to check it one more time to be absolutely sure I'd gotten rid of the problem when it happened again.

At the time I suspected the Flipboard widget that's preinstalled on our homescreen as that was the last app I started up before it happened. So then I wiped my phone a second time last night to test out Flipboard, but to my dismay the GPS continued to work perfectly even after I had signed in to the widget. Then I suspected GSam as that was the app I set up prior to Flipboard. So I left GSam uninstalled since the wipe last night, everything was still working until a few hours ago. I was going to drop by here and give an update when I thought, okay one last test... then boom we're back to square one.

It has to be some sort of software issue as all 3 of us have noticed, a factory wipe without installing apps/backup restore works but after we install our apps and use it for a day or so it bugs out again. But I can't think of what might be causing it, what app could affect the GPS chip like that? Plugging/unplugging normally has NOTHING to do with the GPS, so why is it causing it to shutdown. And the 4G LE to 4G switch too, it's on a separate radio, so how does it affect GPS? This is beyond annoying but at least we've been able to confirm with a 80-90% probability that it's not a hardware problem.


To add to that, once the problem has been triggered, even if you boot into Safe Mode it still exists. So it might even be something in the firmware itself. The only way to get rid of it is a factory reset or flash a different ROM like others have done here. Sometimes I do really HATE AT&T. Seems their ROMs are the buggiest and most untested out of the 4 major carriers and on top of that they lock our bootloader too.

Link to the thread on AT&T forum:

http://forums.att.com/t5/Android-Dis...3824953/page/2

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
 
dakleenupman
Old
#7  
dakleenupman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 142
Posts: 684
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago
If it's software related, how do those who exchange their phones get it corrected? My assumption is they set their replacement phone up the same way they had it prior to having the GPS issues?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
SM-N900A
Galaxy Note Tre'
AT&T Bone Stock

SM-V700
Galaxy Gear
Bone Stock
 
gold3ndrag0n
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 58
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakleenupman View Post
If it's software related, how do those who exchange their phones get it corrected? My assumption is they set their replacement phone up the same way they had it prior to having the GPS issues?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Being that it's software, we don't know what the trigger is. It could be any combination of things. For instance, it could need things to be done in a certain way to set it off, like say setting up the My Magazine then hitting My Story then going into Flipboard. And if it's not done in that order it won't set it off. When you reset your phone and set it back up, do you always do it in the exact same order each time? This app first then that app? This setting first then that? No, it's always in a different order.

Deduction tells us that it's software. Can't be hardware if it works right? Hardware either passes or fails, there isn't an in between. So if all of us that do a factory reset and it works until we start personalizing it, then obviously the hardware works right? And those guys that posted above about going to X-Note ROM and their GPS works correctly shows that it's not hardware right? Hardware can't choose to work with certain software and be faulty with others, that's the software's doing. The guys above aren't the only ones to have it work perfectly on X-Note either, a few others on other Note 3 GPS threads and a few on the AT&T forums have said the exact same thing, going to X-Note solves their problem.

One last thing to consider, GPS and wireless radios on our phones are different, AT&T may not have been able to test each model extensively on their ROM and Samsung may have. Take off your back cover and look at the top right corner, judging from the Note 2 that should be your GPS chip, see that number? That identifies the model of your chip, I've seen people say they have 1-4 or 1-3 or 4-4 or 2-2 and so on. Each batch with the different chips Samsung could have tested extensively to ensure their ROM works with all those chips. AT&T probably does not as they probably don't pay attention to those components because they're not the manufacturer.

Everything in this world is based on deductive reasoning, you use it whether you're a car mechanic or refrigerator repairman or computer technician or help desk or even doctors. What do you think House does? That's what most doctors do, they make an educated guess based on symptoms and if they're wrong, they've eliminated one possibility and gone on to the next until they find a cure. Deductive reasoning at work, and so is this thread.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
 
xfaega
Old
(Last edited by xfaega; 17th January 2014 at 11:02 PM.)
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 79
Join Date: Jan 2007
This is my thought after reading about simular problems with other brand Android phones and also some iphones. There's a technology used by some but not all phones called aGPS. What this is a gps that relies on cell tower assistance for better gps tracking. From all the simular complaints this theory is a match. Another reason I come to this conclusion is that the gps - cell - wifi - and Bluetooth are all independent components. But if you put your phone in airplane mode and try to use the gps it won't be able to lock onto your location. But other Android phones are able to do this in airplane mode. Then I tested the theory and when I enable the wifi the gps locked dead on my location. Then I turned off airplane mode and let the cell sign connect and I hit locate and it did the same thing as wifi. So some how the gps is linked to aGPS.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
 
Walter.White
Old
#10  
Walter.White's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1022
Posts: 788
Join Date: Nov 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Alright so @drakeymcmb uploaded the fix http://www.mediafire.com/?j9tq965psemg9nv

Flash it through SS and report back.

The Following User Says Thank You to Walter.White For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes