CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more

Nexus Player 5.1 LMY47D Rooted

We recently featured the Nexus Player, Google’s second attempt at a digital media … more

Should You Get Wear? Wearer’s Practical Observations

Wear is said to not offer enough for mass adoption, even though its been in … more

SlimRoms: Updates on the Horizon

SlimRoms’ website has been experiencing technical difficulties for the last month or so, but … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

have a question about updating friends gs3

27th January 2014, 08:15 PM   |  #1  
P.Mobile's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag RhOdE IsLAnD... 401
Thanks Meter: 936
 
4,348 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
hey guys! im pretty good with samsung phones i had the sprint gs3 and gs4 in the past.. well i have a friend that has the verizon gs3.. i rooted it a while back flashed a rom and he has been running it for like 6 momths or more with no problems.. its a 4.2.2 rom.. so how do i go about updating to the new base?? 4.3?? can someone link me to the process.. is there like a firmware/modem i need to flash.. then flash a 4.3 rom>? yes he has twrp recovery and a custom rom now.. can i just flash the new modem the flash a new 4.3 rom? or do i need to do something else..?
Last edited by P.Mobile; 27th January 2014 at 08:30 PM.
27th January 2014, 08:48 PM   |  #2  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,635
 
5,460 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by P.Mobile

hey guys! im pretty good with samsung phones i had the sprint gs3 and gs4 in the past.. well i have a friend that has the verizon gs3.. i rooted it a while back flashed a rom and he has been running it for like 6 momths or more with no problems.. its a 4.2.2 rom.. so how do i go about updating to the new base?? 4.3?? can someone link me to the process.. is there like a firmware/modem i need to flash.. then flash a 4.3 rom>? yes he has twrp recovery and a custom rom now.. can i just flash the new modem the flash a new 4.3 rom? or do i need to do something else..?

Well, if he doesn't have issue with signal, then you shouldn't have to flash the new ML1 modem. If you want to flash it anyway then here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1788313
There are a bunch of custom rom, either TouchWiz custom rom or just custom rom you can choose from here http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...on/development
If you want to stay away from bugs, pick the one that close to stock rom as much as possible.
27th January 2014, 08:54 PM   |  #3  
P.Mobile's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag RhOdE IsLAnD... 401
Thanks Meter: 936
 
4,348 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr

Well, if he doesn't have issue with signal, then you shouldn't have to flash the new ML1 modem. If you want to flash it anyway then here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1788313
There are a bunch of custom rom, either TouchWiz custom rom or just custom rom you can choose from here http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...on/development
If you want to stay away from bugs, pick the one that close to stock rom as much as possible.

so all i have to do is flash a ML1 rom thats it?
27th January 2014, 09:21 PM   |  #4  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,635
 
5,460 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by P.Mobile

so all i have to do is flash a ML1 rom thats it?

What is your baseband? If your is already MF1 (I think you are), then just download the ML1 zip and flash it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes