5,603,981 Members 44,914 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to update sim unlocked AT&T HTC One

Tip us?
 
ricklhswood
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default How to update sim unlocked AT&T HTC One

Hello everyone, I'm a bit of a noob so bare with me. Thanks for taking the time to hear me out.

I have a sim unlocked AT&T HTC One (M7) that I am using on T-mobiles network. I switched over last year and I don't have my AT&T account anymore. The phone is stock, not rooted at all, just sim unlocked.

I have not updated the HTC one at all since I've bought it, and I would like to update to 4.2.2 KitKat but I noticed I cannot update via T-Mobiles network. Help!!!!

P.S. Is there a way for me to update my phone manually without having to find someone with an AT&T sim card?
 
mb_guy
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 313
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricklhswood View Post
Hello everyone, I'm a bit of a noob so bare with me. Thanks for taking the time to hear me out.

I have a sim unlocked AT&T HTC One (M7) that I am using on T-mobiles network. I switched over last year and I don't have my AT&T account anymore. The phone is stock, not rooted at all, just sim unlocked.

I have not updated the HTC one at all since I've bought it, and I would like to update to 4.2.2 KitKat but I noticed I cannot update via T-Mobiles network. Help!!!!

P.S. Is there a way for me to update my phone manually without having to find someone with an AT&T sim card?
Updates are usually done over wifi rather than the current network, being on T-Mobile should have no effect on the updates. What happens when you check for updates.
Phone: HTC One- Rogers unlocked
Rom: 4.4.2 Stock
Stock Kernel

Old Phone: HTC Sensation, HD2, Tilt
Rom: ARHD
kernel: stock
 
dumitresc
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 34
Join Date: Sep 2007
Im in Mexico and I have the same problem..

HTC unlocked.. no update via OTA.. looks like ATT punished all the unlocked phones with no-sending the update.

I can't update the phone,

no via OTA
no via ROM
no via adb push rom.zip (access denied)

no nothing..
 
ricklhswood
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mb_guy View Post
Updates are usually done over wifi rather than the current network, being on T-Mobile should have no effect on the updates. What happens when you check for updates.

Hey mb_guy, thanks for the reply.

When I am connected to wifi or 4G-LTE and try to update via settings-->about-->software updates nothing happens. It doesn't even try to search for new updates. Another interesting thing is that when I try to search for updates on the phone, I see AT&T even though I have switched over to T-Mobile and am using the T-Mobile Sim Card.

P.S. I did pay for a sim unlock code from a website, could that be the reason why I am unable to update my phone?
 
clsA
Old
#5  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 674
Posts: 2,554
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumitresc View Post
Im in Mexico and I have the same problem..

HTC unlocked.. no update via OTA.. looks like ATT punished all the unlocked phones with no-sending the update.

I can't update the phone,

no via OTA
no via ROM
no via adb push rom.zip (access denied)

no nothing..
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricklhswood View Post
Hey mb_guy, thanks for the reply.

When I am connected to wifi or 4G-LTE and try to update via settings-->about-->software updates nothing happens. It doesn't even try to search for new updates. Another interesting thing is that when I try to search for updates on the phone, I see AT&T even though I have switched over to T-Mobile and am using the T-Mobile Sim Card.

P.S. I did pay for a sim unlock code from a website, could that be the reason why I am unable to update my phone?
You can update it yourself with this RUU and a locked bootloader
http://www.androidruu.com/getdownloa...5_signed_2.exe
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate
 
Casual Adventurer
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
You can update it yourself with this RUU and a locked bootloader
Hello. Another newbie here. Could you post directions on how to use the above file? Do I need a PC, or is there some way copy the the directly onto my HTC One.

I have the same problem as the OP. I have a SIM unlocked AT&T HTC One that is stock with a locked boot loader. I have a prepaid AT&T SIM. But I cannot get the OTA update. I've tried several times to get the KitKat update, but each time it says no update available.
 
clsA
Old
#7  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 674
Posts: 2,554
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casual Adventurer View Post
Hello. Another newbie here. Could you post directions on how to use the above file? Do I need a PC, or is there some way copy the the directly onto my HTC One.

I have the same problem as the OP. I have a SIM unlocked AT&T HTC One that is stock with a locked boot loader. I have a prepaid AT&T SIM. But I cannot get the OTA update. I've tried several times to get the KitKat update, but each time it says no update available.
the RUU is a windows EXE file just click it and follow the instructions
Back up your phone ! a RUU totally wipes everything from the phone
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate
 
dumitresc
Old
(Last edited by dumitresc; 12th April 2014 at 10:34 PM.)
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 34
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
You can update it yourself with this RUU and a locked bootloader
http://www.androidruu.com/getdownloa...5_signed_2.exe
Actually when I try to update via ruu, I got an error.. fastboot.exe in windows.. and the installer shows in the messages in: checking header 1/5….

If I disconnect the cellphone.. There is an error with invalid copy or something like that..

A few days ago I tried with adb push rom.zip and I got an error with: permission denied (when I was trying to copy the rom to media/0/ etc..

Im starting to think that the problem is the "memory or storage" because I guess all the problems or the methods stuck trying to copy the files or something like that..

I stuck with all the methods basically :S
 
Casual Adventurer
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
the RUU is a windows EXE file just click it and follow the instructions
Back up your phone ! a RUU totally wipes everything from the phone
OK I've tried running the RUU from two different computers. One computer was running Windows XP and the other was running Windows 7. Each time I get to the point where the set-up wizard asks me to accept the license agreement. When I click on the "I accept" radial button and then click on next, the set-up wizard just shuts down.

I've tried it three times on the computer running Windows XP. On the third attempt I had the Task Manager running and the process just stops and disappears.

Can anyone offer any help.

I read on another forum that replacing the SIM card can help. So I went to my locate AT&T corporate store and got a new SIM card. No luck with that either.

I purchased this phone used It is in great shape. It looks new. It is running Build Number 3.17.502.3 CL246232 release-keys.

Because I bought a used phone, I just downloaded Connectbot and verified that the phone was not rooted.
 
clsA
Old
#10  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 674
Posts: 2,554
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casual Adventurer View Post
OK I've tried running the RUU from two different computers. One computer was running Windows XP and the other was running Windows 7. Each time I get to the point where the set-up wizard asks me to accept the license agreement. When I click on the "I accept" radial button and then click on next, the set-up wizard just shuts down.

I've tried it three times on the computer running Windows XP. On the third attempt I had the Task Manager running and the process just stops and disappears.

Can anyone offer any help.

I read on another forum that replacing the SIM card can help. So I went to my locate AT&T corporate store and got a new SIM card. No luck with that either.

I purchased this phone used It is in great shape. It looks new. It is running Build Number 3.17.502.3 CL246232 release-keys.

Because I bought a used phone, I just downloaded Connectbot and verified that the phone was not rooted.
the RUU works fine ..did you md5 check your downloaded file ?
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

WinDroid HTC Toolkit Lets You Root, Unlock, and Flash ROMs on Various HTC Devices

Plenty of users nowadays have more than one mobile device. … more

When Using GitHub, Don’t Skimp on Commit History

GitHub has become the epicenter of most open source development work that is posted … more

Verizon Droid DNA to Receive 4.4.2 KitKat + Sense 5.5 OTA This Thursday

The HTC Droid DNAis Verizon’s close cousin to the JapaneseHTC … more

Lucid Browser is Small, Lightweight, and Open Source

If there is one application category that certainly isn’t lacking in Android,and … more